[SCR] No notoriety loss from hitting jumpgates

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

[SCR] No notoriety loss from hitting jumpgates

Post by Gazz » Sun, 29. Mar 09, 13:45

English / Deutsch


Damaging a jumpgate in any way is no longer an illicit action. The things are indestructible after all...

It can never cause loss of notoriety and local stations or ships do not mind.

As a side effect, the "Attack my Target" turret script does no longer shoot at jumpgates, either.
Although you have to admit that it was funny, watching your multi-million credit high-tech destroyer attack an indestructible jumpgate! Again, and again, and...

This is an AL Plugin so it can be turned off if desired.

Image Download: ZIP




Installation:
Copy the contents of the ZIP into the TC main folder.

Deinstallation:
Delete TC\scripts\al.plugin.gz.gate.no.reploss.xml
Last edited by Gazz on Tue, 26. May 09, 12:06, edited 1 time in total.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

natha
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed, 9. Jan 08, 09:04
x4

Post by natha » Thu, 9. Apr 09, 13:15

Excellent! How did i miss this one? its ridiculous to watch 16 Ion cannons firing at an .... inoccent :roll: gate ...
Save the gates, they're not ours, we have borrowed them from our children :D

...i know the're indestructible either way ...
Image

sgtwalt
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon, 6. Apr 09, 22:20
x3tc

Post by sgtwalt » Mon, 20. Apr 09, 01:23

Ths mod could be causing me some issues in game. Please see my post here.
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php? ... 68#2854068

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Mon, 20. Apr 09, 12:11

No, this only changes the owner race of the gates. It does not turn off collisions.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

sgtwalt
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon, 6. Apr 09, 22:20
x3tc

Post by sgtwalt » Mon, 20. Apr 09, 23:15

Thanks Gazz for the reply. :D
I can confirm its not your mod, so I hope I did not upset you.
Not sure what is doing it but it is certainly annoying. :evil:

User avatar
Threesixtyci
Posts: 1377
Joined: Fri, 24. Oct 08, 02:57
x3tc

Post by Threesixtyci » Thu, 7. May 09, 01:22

Umm... The link seems broken. It goes to: http://www.egosoft.com/img/button_download.gif

Signature link works... I'll just use that.

User avatar
Sesk
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri, 17. Nov 06, 22:09
x4

Post by Sesk » Tue, 26. May 09, 00:11

I have the mod set to "Yes" in the AL panel and I just got a notoriety hit from hitting a gate? Is this compatible with RRF ? Since the sector ownerships change, maybe it's masking out a notoriety hit for the wrong race ? Just guessing...

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Tue, 26. May 09, 11:59

Sesk wrote:I have the mod set to "Yes" in the AL panel and I just got a notoriety hit from hitting a gate? Is this compatible with RRF ? Since the sector ownerships change, maybe it's masking out a notoriety hit for the wrong race ? Just guessing...
Did the ownership change while you were in the sector?

Of course the script doesn't check this continously since that would be quite an odd event.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Wed, 10. Feb 10, 18:10

New version released: Altered searching for gates.

Previously only the first 21 gates in each sector would be found.
If you were using some creatively done galaxy map or script, some gates may have been ignored.
Personally I haven't been able to reproduce such a case but *shrug*...
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

lamoyja
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed, 9. Dec 09, 05:53
x3tc

Post by lamoyja » Wed, 10. Feb 10, 18:14

I thought gates were hard coded to 4 per sector. That is some creative script :D

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Wed, 10. Feb 10, 18:37

Back in Reunion they did indeed all have IDs from 0 to 5 or so.
In TC the TOA use higher IDs to begin with and gates can also be placed by scripts.
And since a gate ID can be any integer, who knows where they all end up.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20601
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 10. Feb 10, 18:52

it depends which gate id your talking about, as gates actually have 3 ids, one refers to the type, and is based on the TGates file, this gives the higher ids for TOA and Hub gates.

however, the gates also have a sector id, which id the gate is in within the sector, this is between 0 and 5.

the other is the linking id.

this does limit the number of fully functional gates per sector to 6. you can however have more gates, but any more than 6 and the rest are only 1 way, you can only link to 6 gates from outside, so only the first 6 gates can have ships jumping in through them, but all extra gates can be used to jump out of the sector

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Wed, 10. Feb 10, 19:35

Cycrow wrote:however, the gates also have a sector id, which id the gate is in within the sector, this is between 0 and 5.
Used to be. =)

If a gate is a TOA then it has a sector gate ID > 10 or so.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Dakota-
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun, 25. Dec 11, 07:14
x4

Post by Dakota- » Wed, 28. Dec 11, 12:44

Is this compatible with AP?

pepperg
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun, 7. Dec 03, 22:13
x3tc

Post by pepperg » Wed, 26. Jun 13, 06:41

If installing your mods for AP, should I install them into the Addon folder within the main Terran Conflict folder?
SeagateBarracuda320GB 7200 SATA
LIANLI PC-7B plus II MidTower
EVGA GeForce8800GTX 768MB
Intel Core2Duo E6600Conroe 2.4GHz
CORSAIR 2GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
WDRaptor 150GB 10,000 RPM
EVGAnforce SLI 680imobo

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”