EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
:X3: Online Complex Calculator version 2.5.5
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 12. Jan 08, 22:45    Post subject: :X3: Online Complex Calculator version 2.5.5 Reply with quote Print

Nov. 17, 2009 Update - Major update! I've added drop-down boxes for selecting races, sectors, and the choices influence the values for the SPP and Mine Yields!

Wow, this community is amazing. We now have a German version of the calculator, with much thanks to rohrbecka and his team (X-Trem, Bown, Han Zulu, zazie, Chrissi82) for translating. You can find the page at http://www.altanetworks.com/x3/x3tcoccg.html. The support page for the German version is available at http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=2716376.

I know DEADBEEF. put a lot of work into converting my original X3 Online Complex Calculator into one that was updated for Terran Conflict, and he implemented something I had wanted to do for a long time - saving and retrieving the factory list - so many thanks to him.

Without further ado:
X3:TC Online Complex Calculator, English version 2.5.7 @ altanetworks.com
X3:TC Online Complex Calculator, German version 1.7.7 @ altanetworks.com
X3:TC Online Complex Calculator, English version 1.7.0 @ grangegame.co.uk
X3:TC Online Complex Calculator, English version 2.1 @ wolfsburg.de
X3:TC Online Complex Calculator, German version 2.1 @ wolfsburg.de

Also, still available:
X3 Online Complex Calculator
X3 Online Complex Calculator, French version
X2 Factory Loop Calculator

Enjoy!

Instructions
Starting at the top, is the 'Clear All' button, which clears all the selected factories. To the right is a drop-down select box to choose the race of the sector you plan on building in, and another drop-down select box that has the filtered list of that race's sectors, with sun output percentages.

Then, in each row of the table, there is a drop-down select box for 'Factory', 'Race', and 'Size'. Select the Factory, then the Race, then the Size. The wares that the station produces and requires is automatically shown at the bottom of the page, along with the profit and loss, total complex cost, Ancillary Cost field, a breakeven time, and the total station count. More on those later.

As you add additional factories, you'll notice that the Wares Produced and Used will change, showing you if you have a surplus of wares (in green), or a shortage (in red). The profit from selling the surplus is automatically shown in the 'Gross Profit' field, and the loss from buying resources is shown in 'Gross Loss'. Then, gross profit - gross loss is shown in 'Net Profit/Loss'

Changing the 'Buy' and 'Sell' prices will also change the profit and loss, but it will not let you set a price above maximum, or below minimum. And, if you want to see those min/avg/max prices, just move your mouse over the name of the ware.

'Leak' is probably something that you won't use much, but when checked, will include the profit from selling all of that ware produced at the 'Sell' price, and buying the needed quantity at the 'Buy' price.

Next, is the 'Ancillary Cost' field, which allows you to include extra cost items, like initial startup capital, ships, etc. The cost is included in the 'Total Complex Cost'. 'Breakeven' will show you how long the complex will take to pay itself off. Shorter is better!

And finally, the 'End Product' section. Certain wares, like weapons, shields, and missiles, can be sold to the NPC Equipment Docks, but also are used in the player's ships. By selecting one of the displayed end products, you are shown how the cost of the complex compares to just buying the product outright from NPC factories, at the 'Buy' price you have entered.

Anything I didn't cover, or didn't explain clearly enough? Feel free to tell me!

UPDATE HISTORY
--------------------
2.5.7 - Added 'a sunny place' sector and support for 450% sun sector
2.5.6 - Tweaked the behavior of the buy/sell prices for wares
2.5.5 - Added Terran Water Purification Plant, fixed Pirate PBG Forge, added Anarkis Crystal Free SPP, added Terran SPP back in
2.5.4 - fixed a rounding error in the Ore mine production calculation
2.5.1 - Adjusted the cycle times, production, and consumption of the SPPs
2.5.0 - New select boxes for races, sectors, sun yield, mine yield, made changes to loading and creating permanent links
1.8.1 - Implemented 'Grouped' factory select lists, split wares and factories into separate JS files
1.7.9 - made a few JS improvements, added L-sized Crystal Fabs
1.7.7 - tweaked end product calculations
1.7.6 - Minor grammatical changes
1.7.5 - changed Soja Husk requirement of Boron QTF, added menu for other pages
1.7.4 - sped up the loading of large saved complexes
1.7.3 - added links for common loops, US number formatting for Station and Total costs
1.7.2 - fixed the prices for the Cluster Flak and Flak Artillery Array wares.



Last edited by em3e3 on Thu, 19. Jan 12, 09:55; edited 30 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16412 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 12. Jan 08, 23:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Seems to work (I'm too tired to click-click anything real right now) with Firefox, but not in IE. Without IE is fine, but you might want to check the other browsers.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 00:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

jlehtone wrote:
Seems to work (I'm too tired to click-click anything real right now) with Firefox, but not in IE. Without IE is fine, but you might want to check the other browsers.


Fixed. I needed to add 'type="text/javascript"' to the <script> tag. Maybe it will work in Vista now?

Edit: confirmed that IE doesn't like 'getElementsByName' if there is more than one element with the same name. I will find a workaround.


_________________
8^)

Online Complex Calculators - X3:TC • X3:R • X2
Online Ship Compurator - X3:TC


Last edited by em3e3 on Sun, 13. Jan 08, 00:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandalpocalypse





Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 3733 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 00:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

nope. gives an error every time. the line and character vary, but it always says "error: 'document.getElementsbyName(...)[...]' is null or not an object

i tried some trickiness like trusted sites and run as administrator but *shrug*

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Merroc



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 3179 on topic
Location: Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 01:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Naturally (well i hope for some) i was interested when i read the title. A shame it doesnt really do much in opera. All i can do is enter station, then i cant find a button or anything to calculate. And if its done automatically, it doesnt do so Smile. Clicking on that "Endproduct: None" radiobutton made it freeze for a sec or 10. Pressing enter when entering a quantity of a station made it reload the page with a nice address link, but a clean page.
Also i cant enter a yield for mines Smile.

On the plus side, i dont get any random errors and i am using Vista (so sue me).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 01:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yeah, still working on the IE bugs. I got rid of the errors, but I still need to find a workaround for setting the 'yieldfield'.

And yes, the javascript should do the calculations automatically. Keep the feedback coming!

Edit: Okay, working in both Firefox 1.5 and IE6 on Windows 2000, will test FF2 and IE7 on XP next.


_________________
8^)

Online Complex Calculators - X3:TC • X3:R • X2
Online Ship Compurator - X3:TC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandalpocalypse





Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 3733 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 02:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It actually works now (Vista, IE7). It displays some code at the bottom of the page though, just in a textbox:

true, <input type="text" size="4" value="0" name="yield" onChange="update();" disabled>

although the yield box works even so, orgasmic.

criticism: when playing with yields energy cell consumption can stretch out too many decimal points, it moves the boxes around and looks weird. two decimal points would be good...

i assume the 'leak' box lets the complex sell off excess resources in a category, but it seems to have no effect.

the text which says "the cost of this loop will always be more" etc etc. screws up if theres more than one product. I entered a 125mj shield/lasertower loop and whichever product i selected it would say the cost was always more than buying available otherproduct.

'this page was generated in' doesnt work

finally, there should be a 'clear all' button.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 03:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Okay, I went ahead and removed the debug box, used it to fix the IE7 stuff.
Strange that the e-cells consumption shows so many digits, even though I am using the Math.round function...

Then there's 'leak': The idea is, if this box is checked, that you actually want to sell the particular intermediate product that you are producing, and then buy from the NPC stations at a lower price. You'll notice that if you have it checked, and compare the gross profit & loss per minute fields to when it is unchecked, they will change. If you leave it unchecked, the script assumes that you will buy (or sell) the shortage (excess) at the listed prices.

Not sure about the loop cost calculator, as the assumption is you will only be choosing one end product. I'm open to suggestions...

Yeah, shoulda had a reset button from the start. It's there now!


_________________
8^)

Online Complex Calculators - X3:TC • X3:R • X2
Online Ship Compurator - X3:TC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exogenesis



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 1041 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 04:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

First impressions - very neat & clear interface + looks to be easy to use,
good job.

Slight rounding problem with some wares , but probably accurate enough.
Perhaps use 'per hour' rather than 'per minute' for more accuracy?

eg with multiplying 0.42/min bIRE by 4676 selling price = profit 1964 / min,
should be 0.4166 x 4676 = profit 1948 / min

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 05:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

exogenesis wrote:
First impressions - very neat & clear interface + looks to be easy to use,
good job.

Slight rounding problem with some wares , but probably accurate enough.
Perhaps use 'per hour' rather than 'per minute' for more accuracy?

eg with multiplying 0.42/min bIRE by 4676 selling price = profit 1964 / min,
should be 0.4166 x 4676 = profit 1948 / min


Very good idea. I don't know why I liked to see the per minute numbers, but I prefer accuracy. I've updated it, as well as fixing the 'clear all' button.


_________________
8^)

Online Complex Calculators - X3:TC • X3:R • X2
Online Ship Compurator - X3:TC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fiksal





Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 3175 on topic
Location: GA, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 09:18    Post subject: Re: :X3: Online Complex Calculator ready for testing Reply with quote Print

em3e3 wrote:

It's ready for testing, and I encourage feedback, advice, and debugging.


seem to run on Firefox 2.0.0.11, W XP


so far I got a usage comment.

I've been using an Excel complex calculator, and it's been fairly convenient, mostly because I can copy, save my factories and data in notepad(or even another excel doc) and paste them back into the program.

IE/Firefox however doesnt have the ability to copy Input fields as text.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
em3e3



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2101 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 19:16    Post subject: Re: :X3: Online Complex Calculator ready for testing Reply with quote Print

fiksal wrote:

I've been using an Excel complex calculator, and it's been fairly convenient, mostly because I can copy, save my factories and data in notepad(or even another excel doc) and paste them back into the program.

IE/Firefox however doesnt have the ability to copy Input fields as text.


Yes, I can see why that would be handy. I can probably come up with an 'Export to tabbed text' feature. Thanks!


_________________
8^)

Online Complex Calculators - X3:TC • X3:R • X2
Online Ship Compurator - X3:TC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rapier



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 5726 on topic
Location: Colchester, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

exogenesis wrote:
First impressions - very neat & clear interface + looks to be easy to use,
good job.

Slight rounding problem with some wares , but probably accurate enough.
Perhaps use 'per hour' rather than 'per minute' for more accuracy?

I agree with both parts. The particular thing I've noticed is the figures for mines. These don't quite match my recollections of production rates, I suspect due to some rounding in your formulas. The relationship of yield to production is notoriously difficult to model mathematically; my preferred method is to create an actual table of yield and cycle time.


_________________
Rapier - The Orifice of all Knowledge

Godwin's Law is not one of the Forum Rules.
Search just the forum with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Skoll





Joined: 09 Jan 2008



PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Excellent, I've been looking for an online factory calculator. I also really like that it works with just 1 factory, not just complexes. One of the other spreadsheets I downloaded only seemed to give output if you had 2+ factories.

One thing I think it could use, mostly to help a noob like me, is a list the avg price of each good. Either on the page, or on a link to another page, or in a popup, or in a hover over any of the good names. The reason is that the form asks for the buying/selling price of goods and I always base those on the average. If I have my own ships buying goods automatically (buy @ best price) then they will be getting the goods at below average. If I am letting the AI stock my factory then I usually set my buy price at just over average.

To use your calculator I find that I have to go off and look up the average price for everything.

Or is it highly recommended that I use the prices you list because those are in some way better than what I'm doing? Actually where are you getting your Buy/Sell prices from?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16412 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Rapier wrote:
The relationship of yield to production is notoriously difficult to model mathematically

I don't think so. Yes, the equation does contain a round operation, but the function does not have to be continuous anyway, as you only need to evaluate it for integer yield values.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 21. Apr 14, 00:01

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2009
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.20389 seconds, sql queries = 74