EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[FAKE PATCH] 500km Comm Range Mod
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
argon_emperor



MEDAL

Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 1047 on topic
Location: Townsville, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 14. Feb 09, 06:34    Post subject: [FAKE PATCH] 500km Comm Range Mod Reply with quote Print

Hi all

Ever got sick of being just out of comm range of a station, looking longingly at the missions symbol above it, and just as you get in range and hit the comm button, it goes away?

Now you don't have to worry about that anymore, with improvements in sub-space communication, you can talk in real time to anyone, or anything for that matter (if it deigns to respond), within 500km of your ship. No more bothersome 25km range, now you have true freedom to talk.

Download available at:

500km Comm Range v2.1

Courtesy of RapidShare

500km Comm Range AP Compatible

Courtesy of MediaFire

Installation:

Extract files into your X3:TC directory for the first one, or to the addon directory for the AP one, then rename both the .cat and .dat files to the next highest number in the directory.

i.e. Your files go up to 11.cat/.dat, rename these two to 12.cat/.dat

Note: You do NOT need to start a new game for this to take effect, it will happily work with any existing game.

Further note: If you have changed anything in the Globals.txt file (which is what this changes) either through a fake patch or otherwise, this will overwrite those changes, as only the comm range has been changed.

Tested with TC 2.7, no issues found.[/url]



Last edited by argon_emperor on Sat, 7. Jan 12, 22:39; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
diddltoutmimi





Joined: 23 Nov 2005



PostPosted: Sat, 14. Feb 09, 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thank you very much for this !

Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arraamis





Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 172 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 14. Feb 09, 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Nice idea ..... Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-Villain-





Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 390 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tatakau



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 562 on topic
Location: Louisville, KY
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm not a scripting expert, but I don't think that would be possible. I think that the .cat and .dat files are meant to overwrite data in the other .cat and .dat files.

~ Tatakau


_________________
"Yeah, there's no 'U' either. So I guess if I'm not on the team, and you're not on the team, nobody's on the god-damn team. The team sucks!" - Grif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arraamis





Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 172 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

-Villain- wrote:
excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?


This is only a modification of the variable included in the Globals file.

What I've done is create a custom patch {i.e. arraamis.cat\.dat} in which I merge all the items {500km comm range mod & others} along with the newly created ships I've added into the game. That way I'm not adding another patch to the default X3 directory every time something new comes out.

Of course this only applies to items that don't require the mod manager.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
argon_emperor



MEDAL

Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 1047 on topic
Location: Townsville, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

-Villain- wrote:
excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?


No sorry, it specifically changes the Globals.txt file, which (to my knowledge) can't be done with scripts. So a fake patch is the only way it can be done. Or you could do it with the mod path, add both files to your 'mods' folder in the X3:TC directory, then at startup activate the mod. But in either case, it can't be done with a .spk file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
-Villain-





Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 390 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 09, 06:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

[quote="argon_emperor"]
-Villain- wrote:
it can't be done with a .spk file.


My brain bled a little until i read this. Coolness, thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThomasAH





Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 72 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 13. May 09, 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I installed this yesterday with X3-TC 2.0a and it seems to work fine.
Many thanks for this!

The download library has marked it as "Released before X3TC 2.0, so may not be compatible". As I wrote, the 500km comm range works fine, but are there other values included in the cat/dat files that could be reset to their pre-2.0 values?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20457 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 13. May 09, 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

argon_emperor wrote:
-Villain- wrote:
excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?


No sorry, it specifically changes the Globals.txt file, which (to my knowledge) can't be done with scripts. So a fake patch is the only way it can be done. Or you could do it with the mod path, add both files to your 'mods' folder in the X3:TC directory, then at startup activate the mod. But in either case, it can't be done with a .spk file.


thats not actually true, spk files can handle mods perfectly fine, infact, it can auto rename fake patchs that are added in spk files to fit correctly into the game dir.

ie, say you have 2 fake patchs, installing them manually, they will most likly both be the same number, and you will have to rename them. But if both were in spk files, the plugin manager would rename and adjust them automatically to work


spk files are not just for scripts, they can handle everything


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Jashashunter





Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: CA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 13. May 09, 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cycrow is the man. I am surprise so many modders dont use the .spk format. There seems to be some confusion about what it does. I think this is at least the 10th thread I read recently where Cycrow had to correct some one on the usage of the plugin manager. Sad

Anyway sorry for going off topic. I just wish everyone used the plugin manager.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Spikend





Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 58 on topic
Location: Norway
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 20. Jun 09, 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I tested it with the 2.1 version (on Windows 7 x64-bit), and it works perfectly Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schabernack





Joined: 18 Apr 2007

Location: Nürnberg

PostPosted: Mon, 10. Aug 09, 15:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

thx for this mod Smile

would it be possible to extend it further so communication with stations in other sectors where an advanced satelite is?


_________________
learn from the past, live the moment, dream of the future
tc-ap minimax
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fragile Ego





Joined: 18 Sep 2008



PostPosted: Sun, 16. Aug 09, 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! This is the kind of mod I will never be able to live without now that I've used it!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Orion1632





Joined: 14 Dec 2003
Posts: 1287 on topic
Location: Melbourne Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 14. Mar 10, 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks, I always thought it was silly that the super advance space ships that we all fly only have a com range of 25km.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 08:06

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.37255 seconds, sql queries = 29