[FAKE PATCH] 500km Comm Range Mod

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

argon_emperor
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon, 12. Dec 05, 08:41

[FAKE PATCH] 500km Comm Range Mod

Post by argon_emperor » Sat, 14. Feb 09, 06:34

Hi all

Ever got sick of being just out of comm range of a station, looking longingly at the missions symbol above it, and just as you get in range and hit the comm button, it goes away?

Now you don't have to worry about that anymore, with improvements in sub-space communication, you can talk in real time to anyone, or anything for that matter (if it deigns to respond), within 500km of your ship. No more bothersome 25km range, now you have true freedom to talk.

Download available at:

500km Comm Range v2.1

Courtesy of RapidShare

500km Comm Range AP Compatible

Courtesy of MediaFire

Installation:

Extract files into your X3:TC directory for the first one, or to the addon directory for the AP one, then rename both the .cat and .dat files to the next highest number in the directory.

i.e. Your files go up to 11.cat/.dat, rename these two to 12.cat/.dat

Note: You do NOT need to start a new game for this to take effect, it will happily work with any existing game.

Further note: If you have changed anything in the Globals.txt file (which is what this changes) either through a fake patch or otherwise, this will overwrite those changes, as only the comm range has been changed.

Tested with TC 2.7, no issues found.[/url]
Last edited by argon_emperor on Sat, 7. Jan 12, 22:39, edited 5 times in total.

diddltoutmimi
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 02:20

Post by diddltoutmimi » Sat, 14. Feb 09, 10:33

Thank you very much for this !

:)

Arraamis
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon, 18. Dec 06, 00:42

Post by Arraamis » Sat, 14. Feb 09, 18:55

Nice idea ..... Thanks.

-Villain-
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri, 14. Jan 05, 04:19

Post by -Villain- » Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:22

excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?

User avatar
tatakau
Posts: 704
Joined: Sat, 21. Oct 06, 08:09

Post by tatakau » Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:47

I'm not a scripting expert, but I don't think that would be possible. I think that the .cat and .dat files are meant to overwrite data in the other .cat and .dat files.

~ Tatakau

Arraamis
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon, 18. Dec 06, 00:42

Post by Arraamis » Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:52

-Villain- wrote:excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?
This is only a modification of the variable included in the Globals file.

What I've done is create a custom patch {i.e. arraamis.cat\.dat} in which I merge all the items {500km comm range mod & others} along with the newly created ships I've added into the game. That way I'm not adding another patch to the default X3 directory every time something new comes out.

Of course this only applies to items that don't require the mod manager.

argon_emperor
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon, 12. Dec 05, 08:41

Post by argon_emperor » Mon, 16. Feb 09, 05:54

-Villain- wrote:excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?
No sorry, it specifically changes the Globals.txt file, which (to my knowledge) can't be done with scripts. So a fake patch is the only way it can be done. Or you could do it with the mod path, add both files to your 'mods' folder in the X3:TC directory, then at startup activate the mod. But in either case, it can't be done with a .spk file.

-Villain-
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri, 14. Jan 05, 04:19

Post by -Villain- » Mon, 16. Feb 09, 06:22

argon_emperor wrote:
-Villain- wrote:it can't be done with a .spk file.
My brain bled a little until i read this. Coolness, thanks.

User avatar
ThomasAH
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed, 3. Sep 08, 10:46

Post by ThomasAH » Wed, 13. May 09, 16:04

I installed this yesterday with X3-TC 2.0a and it seems to work fine.
Many thanks for this!

The download library has marked it as "Released before X3TC 2.0, so may not be compatible". As I wrote, the 500km comm range works fine, but are there other values included in the cat/dat files that could be reset to their pre-2.0 values?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20543
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 13. May 09, 16:11

argon_emperor wrote:
-Villain- wrote:excellant! Just a question though from a guy who knows nothing about scripting....can this be made into a .SPK format?
No sorry, it specifically changes the Globals.txt file, which (to my knowledge) can't be done with scripts. So a fake patch is the only way it can be done. Or you could do it with the mod path, add both files to your 'mods' folder in the X3:TC directory, then at startup activate the mod. But in either case, it can't be done with a .spk file.
thats not actually true, spk files can handle mods perfectly fine, infact, it can auto rename fake patchs that are added in spk files to fit correctly into the game dir.

ie, say you have 2 fake patchs, installing them manually, they will most likly both be the same number, and you will have to rename them. But if both were in spk files, the plugin manager would rename and adjust them automatically to work


spk files are not just for scripts, they can handle everything

Jashashunter
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue, 31. Jan 06, 07:13

Post by Jashashunter » Wed, 13. May 09, 16:34

Cycrow is the man. I am surprise so many modders dont use the .spk format. There seems to be some confusion about what it does. I think this is at least the 10th thread I read recently where Cycrow had to correct some one on the usage of the plugin manager. :(

Anyway sorry for going off topic. I just wish everyone used the plugin manager.

Spikend
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue, 30. Dec 08, 15:16

Post by Spikend » Sat, 20. Jun 09, 16:09

I tested it with the 2.1 version (on Windows 7 x64-bit), and it works perfectly :)

Schabernack
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed, 18. Apr 07, 19:32

Post by Schabernack » Mon, 10. Aug 09, 15:56

thx for this mod :)

would it be possible to extend it further so communication with stations in other sectors where an advanced satelite is?
learn from the past, live the moment, dream of the future
tc-ap minimax

Fragile Ego
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu, 18. Sep 08, 04:15

Post by Fragile Ego » Sun, 16. Aug 09, 18:41

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! This is the kind of mod I will never be able to live without now that I've used it!

Orion1632
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 10:55

Post by Orion1632 » Sun, 14. Mar 10, 14:09

Thanks, I always thought it was silly that the super advance space ships that we all fly only have a com range of 25km.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”