[SCRIPT] Convert Trans-Orbital Accelerators to Jump Gates [V2.0]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01

[SCRIPT] Convert Trans-Orbital Accelerators to Jump Gates [V2.0]

Post by Graxster » Thu, 20. Nov 08, 23:39

Accelerator to Gate Conversion

This has been a topic for a while in the spoiler and X-universe forum. Annoying that you can't use a jump drive to get to any of the Terran sectors. Also makes any kind of trading done by UT's/EST's not worth the effort. Not to mention the size of the TOA's. Why is all the Terran stuff so HUGE?

At any rate, this script will convert all the TOA's to Jump Gates. Enjoy!
  • Install script package.
  • Load your save.
  • Select TOA to Gate Conversion from Plugin Manager menu.
  • Select Yes/No to reveal new gates or not (If you select No, you'll need to re-explore the Terran sectors to find the gates). Or select Cancel to not do anything.
  • An incoming message will tell you to wait... (takes about 15 seconds for the conversion to happen, the game will freeze during this time).
  • An incoming message will tell you the conversion is complete.
-Grax


UPDATE: Jan 7, 2011

No longer runs at startup. Runs from plugin configuration menu. Requires Cycrow's Plugin Manager.

Added warnings about using on a new game where Terran relations are low.

Added "Cancel" option to menu.

SPK

Image

RAR archive

Image

Updated Nov 21 to fix one set of TOA's not being replaced if you selected "No" to have the new gates revealed.
Last edited by Graxster on Fri, 7. Jan 11, 20:57, edited 2 times in total.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26

Post by fud » Thu, 20. Nov 08, 23:53

You're just a busy little bee, aren't you? :p


Nice idea, I like it.

Hopefully Egosoft will remedy it in an official way with a patch. Until then, I'll use this.

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1765
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31

Post by TSM » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:14

Remedy what the TOA's are feature of the Earth based sectors to have normal jump gates kind of makes mockery of the evolvement of the X-Universe :wink:

Your free to mod/script them but I can assure you ES will be very unlikely to change them :)
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26

Post by fud » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:20

Well, there you go. :)

A5PECT
Posts: 4641
Joined: Sun, 3. Sep 06, 02:31

Post by A5PECT » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:48

Nice work, but I assume this changes the Trans-orbital Accelerators' physical appearance along with their function. If this isn't the case ignore the following statement.

I certainly would like to be able to jump about the Terran sectors, however I still really like the TOA design. IS there any way you could make TOA's jumpdrive compatible without converting the in-game model into X-universe jump gates?
Admitting you have a problem is the first step in figuring out how to make it worse.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26

Post by fud » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 01:01

If it does change them, it could be a bit of an effort to make them still appear to be the TOAs, while being called "gates".


If you edit the model to be that of the TOA, you're in a catch-22. You can't call it a gate and have it be a TOA (as far as the by the script/files).

Each has it's own model/bod that's referenced to it's name.

I know that probably doesn't make any sense, it's hard to put into words what I'm trying to say. :p


Basically, if you give the gates the TOA model, this script would make them jumpable, but you'd have ALL gates be the TOA type.

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01

Post by Graxster » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 02:11

It replaces the TOA's with normal jump gates.

-G

alex2069
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, 22. Dec 05, 22:19

Post by alex2069 » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 04:43

Oh, oh, do want! I was considering trying to do something to fix this myself, so glad I don't now, lol.

<rant>
It has been so damn annoying that I couldn't jump through their sectors - so much so that I was completely ignoring them all together (haven't been back since completing the plot).
I can understand why the peoples at Egosoft decided that jump drives shouldn't work (and it makes since), what I don't understand is why the hell they didn't implement something similar JUST for Terran space; serious fail right there. Way to kill a huge chunk of your new content.
</rant>

paulms1980
Posts: 833
Joined: Fri, 5. Mar 04, 18:23

Post by paulms1980 » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 08:41

is there any missions this script might adversly affect?
seems like a wicked thing uve done, just hope egosoft dont make summit 2 disrupt it in the next patch
2b honest i dint think it would be possible 2 change summit as big as this, as egosoft deleibertly made the Terran sectors jumples 4a reason
cool neway

alex2069
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, 22. Dec 05, 22:19

Post by alex2069 » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 12:27

Hmm... Question... How much did you test this... :/

I used the script ~12 game hours ago and now is my first time venturing into the Terran sectors (finishing complex stuff and missions), and I've entered Mars and there are DOZENS of Terran military ships all hanging around the West gate trying to enter Asteroid Belt (6xSkinir or however it's spelt + escorts and an M1/M2 or two).

Upon initially entering there's an M7 banging on the side of the gate quickly losing its shields, then hull and finally blowing up (site note: looked awesome, lol).

Has anyone else had similar issues?

Edit: Small bug: The TOA is still existent in Jupiter 2 (East) - There's a JG and a TOA basically overlapping each other.
Edit Again: Same with Jupiter 3 (West) - Both gates.

User avatar
ezra-r
Posts: 3066
Joined: Fri, 14. Oct 05, 21:04

Post by ezra-r » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 15:30

alex2069 wrote:Hmm... Question... How much did you test this... :/

I used the script ~12 game hours ago and now is my first time venturing into the Terran sectors (finishing complex stuff and missions), and I've entered Mars and there are DOZENS of Terran military ships all hanging around the West gate trying to enter Asteroid Belt (6xSkinir or however it's spelt + escorts and an M1/M2 or two).

Upon initially entering there's an M7 banging on the side of the gate quickly losing its shields, then hull and finally blowing up (site note: looked awesome, lol).

Has anyone else had similar issues?

Edit: Small bug: The TOA is still existent in Jupiter 2 (East) - There's a JG and a TOA basically overlapping each other.
Edit Again: Same with Jupiter 3 (West) - Both gates.
Ive seen ships hitting gates continuosly in X3, its not a script thingy.

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01

Post by Graxster » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 18:39

Ships use the gates normally. There's no programming/scripting that can let ships "know the difference" between whether they're trying to go thru a TOA or a gate. Bunching up at a gate is normal. I've seen it dozens of times now in my game, in Argon/Boron/Split/Teladi/Paranid sectors. Any time you get more than a few ships trying to use a gate at once, it becomes a traffic jam. Bumping gates is also a game related issue. I had an M1 "killed by west gate" in a Pirate sector.

As for TOA's still existing and overlapping gates. That's most likely a timing issue. When you destroy a TOA (or gate), the game then automatically destroys the connecting gate in the next sector over, because it now doesn't go anywhere. So I just put in a "wait 90ms" for that to happen. Extending that time should solve the problem. I'll post an update for that today.

If you want to keep your current game instead of going back to when you had TOA's, you'll need to target the remaining TOA's with either Cycrow's cheat - Destruct target, or my hotkey destruct target found in the cheats sticky.

-Grax

Edit: Actually, it was a mistake on my part. If you selected "No" to make the gates discovered, the TOA's connecting Jupiter 2 and 3 wouldn't get replaced. Posting update now.

slickdrac
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu, 11. Dec 08, 04:32

Post by slickdrac » Thu, 11. Dec 08, 05:04

I just ran this script and the terrans went haywire and said I'm not allowed to be in this sector (Uranus) and starting shooting my ass.

Edit: I swear, I didn't mean for that to intentionally come out as a pun :lol:
Last edited by slickdrac on Thu, 11. Dec 08, 14:31, edited 1 time in total.

lordopic
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 16:08

Post by lordopic » Thu, 11. Dec 08, 12:14

Ahh nice let the Invasion begin. :twisted:

slickdrac
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu, 11. Dec 08, 04:32

Post by slickdrac » Tue, 23. Dec 08, 07:24

If you have this script installed and you start a new game, the Terrans will shoot at you until you show as having any kind of standing with the ATF. So you can either dodge and weave thru the first mission, or you can use the cheat script and immediatly set your ATF standing to Asteroid Belt Access

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”