EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT] Convert Trans-Orbital Accelerators to Jump Gates [V2.0]
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Graxster





Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 814 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Thu, 20. Nov 08, 23:39    Post subject: [SCRIPT] Convert Trans-Orbital Accelerators to Jump Gates [V2.0] Reply with quote Print

Accelerator to Gate Conversion

This has been a topic for a while in the spoiler and X-universe forum. Annoying that you can't use a jump drive to get to any of the Terran sectors. Also makes any kind of trading done by UT's/EST's not worth the effort. Not to mention the size of the TOA's. Why is all the Terran stuff so HUGE?

At any rate, this script will convert all the TOA's to Jump Gates. Enjoy!


  • Install script package.

  • Load your save.

  • Select TOA to Gate Conversion from Plugin Manager menu.

  • Select Yes/No to reveal new gates or not (If you select No, you'll need to re-explore the Terran sectors to find the gates). Or select Cancel to not do anything.

  • An incoming message will tell you to wait... (takes about 15 seconds for the conversion to happen, the game will freeze during this time).

  • An incoming message will tell you the conversion is complete.



-Grax


UPDATE: Jan 7, 2011

No longer runs at startup. Runs from plugin configuration menu. Requires Cycrow's Plugin Manager.

Added warnings about using on a new game where Terran relations are low.

Added "Cancel" option to menu.

SPK



RAR archive



Updated Nov 21 to fix one set of TOA's not being replaced if you selected "No" to have the new gates revealed.



Last edited by Graxster on Fri, 7. Jan 11, 20:57; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fud





Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 6990 on topic
Location: IN, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. Nov 08, 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You're just a busy little bee, aren't you? Razz


Nice idea, I like it.

Hopefully Egosoft will remedy it in an official way with a patch. Until then, I'll use this.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TSM
Not a Moderator




Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 1765 on topic
Location: Lancashire,UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Remedy what the TOA's are feature of the Earth based sectors to have normal jump gates kind of makes mockery of the evolvement of the X-Universe Wink

Your free to mod/script them but I can assure you ES will be very unlikely to change them Smile


_________________
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fud





Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 6990 on topic
Location: IN, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Well, there you go. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A5PECT





Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 4542 on topic
Location: NJ, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 00:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Nice work, but I assume this changes the Trans-orbital Accelerators' physical appearance along with their function. If this isn't the case ignore the following statement.

I certainly would like to be able to jump about the Terran sectors, however I still really like the TOA design. IS there any way you could make TOA's jumpdrive compatible without converting the in-game model into X-universe jump gates?


_________________
Admitting you have a problem is the first step in figuring out how to make it worse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fud





Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 6990 on topic
Location: IN, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 01:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If it does change them, it could be a bit of an effort to make them still appear to be the TOAs, while being called "gates".


If you edit the model to be that of the TOA, you're in a catch-22. You can't call it a gate and have it be a TOA (as far as the by the script/files).

Each has it's own model/bod that's referenced to it's name.

I know that probably doesn't make any sense, it's hard to put into words what I'm trying to say. Razz


Basically, if you give the gates the TOA model, this script would make them jumpable, but you'd have ALL gates be the TOA type.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graxster





Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 814 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 02:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It replaces the TOA's with normal jump gates.

-G

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex2069





Joined: 22 Dec 2005
Posts: 204 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 04:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Oh, oh, do want! I was considering trying to do something to fix this myself, so glad I don't now, lol.

<rant>
It has been so damn annoying that I couldn't jump through their sectors - so much so that I was completely ignoring them all together (haven't been back since completing the plot).
I can understand why the peoples at Egosoft decided that jump drives shouldn't work (and it makes since), what I don't understand is why the hell they didn't implement something similar JUST for Terran space; serious fail right there. Way to kill a huge chunk of your new content.
</rant>


_________________
My X3TC Scripts:
Universal Best Buys/Sells Locator
Automated Satellite Network
Station Repacker
Automated Shopper
My Library Scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulms1980





Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 833 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 08:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

is there any missions this script might adversly affect?
seems like a wicked thing uve done, just hope egosoft dont make summit 2 disrupt it in the next patch
2b honest i dint think it would be possible 2 change summit as big as this, as egosoft deleibertly made the Terran sectors jumples 4a reason
cool neway

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex2069





Joined: 22 Dec 2005
Posts: 204 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hmm... Question... How much did you test this... :/

I used the script ~12 game hours ago and now is my first time venturing into the Terran sectors (finishing complex stuff and missions), and I've entered Mars and there are DOZENS of Terran military ships all hanging around the West gate trying to enter Asteroid Belt (6xSkinir or however it's spelt + escorts and an M1/M2 or two).

Upon initially entering there's an M7 banging on the side of the gate quickly losing its shields, then hull and finally blowing up (site note: looked awesome, lol).

Has anyone else had similar issues?

Edit: Small bug: The TOA is still existent in Jupiter 2 (East) - There's a JG and a TOA basically overlapping each other.
Edit Again: Same with Jupiter 3 (West) - Both gates.


_________________
My X3TC Scripts:
Universal Best Buys/Sells Locator
Automated Satellite Network
Station Repacker
Automated Shopper
My Library Scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra-r





Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3008 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

alex2069 wrote:
Hmm... Question... How much did you test this... :/

I used the script ~12 game hours ago and now is my first time venturing into the Terran sectors (finishing complex stuff and missions), and I've entered Mars and there are DOZENS of Terran military ships all hanging around the West gate trying to enter Asteroid Belt (6xSkinir or however it's spelt + escorts and an M1/M2 or two).

Upon initially entering there's an M7 banging on the side of the gate quickly losing its shields, then hull and finally blowing up (site note: looked awesome, lol).

Has anyone else had similar issues?

Edit: Small bug: The TOA is still existent in Jupiter 2 (East) - There's a JG and a TOA basically overlapping each other.
Edit Again: Same with Jupiter 3 (West) - Both gates.


Ive seen ships hitting gates continuosly in X3, its not a script thingy.


_________________
Ideas: Fix Cap Boost * Revamp Miner Profession
X3 mods: Shielding Upgrade *Pirate Patrols,Khaa'k Invasions
Creative: Nula The Xenon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graxster





Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 814 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 21. Nov 08, 18:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ships use the gates normally. There's no programming/scripting that can let ships "know the difference" between whether they're trying to go thru a TOA or a gate. Bunching up at a gate is normal. I've seen it dozens of times now in my game, in Argon/Boron/Split/Teladi/Paranid sectors. Any time you get more than a few ships trying to use a gate at once, it becomes a traffic jam. Bumping gates is also a game related issue. I had an M1 "killed by west gate" in a Pirate sector.

As for TOA's still existing and overlapping gates. That's most likely a timing issue. When you destroy a TOA (or gate), the game then automatically destroys the connecting gate in the next sector over, because it now doesn't go anywhere. So I just put in a "wait 90ms" for that to happen. Extending that time should solve the problem. I'll post an update for that today.

If you want to keep your current game instead of going back to when you had TOA's, you'll need to target the remaining TOA's with either Cycrow's cheat - Destruct target, or my hotkey destruct target found in the cheats sticky.

-Grax

Edit: Actually, it was a mistake on my part. If you selected "No" to make the gates discovered, the TOA's connecting Jupiter 2 and 3 wouldn't get replaced. Posting update now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slickdrac





Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 24 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Dec 08, 05:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I just ran this script and the terrans went haywire and said I'm not allowed to be in this sector (Uranus) and starting shooting my ass.

Edit: I swear, I didn't mean for that to intentionally come out as a pun Laughing



Last edited by slickdrac on Thu, 11. Dec 08, 14:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordopic





Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 14 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Dec 08, 12:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ahh nice let the Invasion begin. Twisted Evil

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slickdrac





Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 24 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 23. Dec 08, 07:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If you have this script installed and you start a new game, the Terrans will shoot at you until you show as having any kind of standing with the ATF. So you can either dodge and weave thru the first mission, or you can use the cheat script and immediatly set your ATF standing to Asteroid Belt Access

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 07:57

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.44897 seconds, sql queries = 29