EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[QUESTION] What script/mod provides/causes foo? Ask here.
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16835 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Oct 08, 08:12    Post subject: [QUESTION] What script/mod provides/causes foo? Ask here. Reply with quote Print

It is inevitable. A user will enter this forum, and despite staring diligently at the Community Library, the Modding Tutorials, and other invisibles, will still have a question of "What provides feature foo?" It may be a simple case of calling the feature foo, while script author speaks of bar, or a more divergent query.

The other FAQ scenario is when a user has already installed a host of S&M and is having a problem. "What causes problem foo?" Naturally one should eliminate improbable causes first, and then ask in the thread of the relevant thread.

Both types of queries tend to repeat. If we could collect them into this thread, then the next user with the same question should find the answer from here. This won't sticky, but there is a link in sticky to here, so it should always be within reach without the dreaded SearchFunction.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr. Dan





Joined: 16 Nov 2008



PostPosted: Mon, 24. Nov 08, 18:45    Post subject: [req] V-sync optimization? Reply with quote Print

[req] V-sync optimization [/req]

I'm using a rather high-end machine and experiencing a lot of vertical tearing. I've messed around with the settings quite a bit, but cant seem to get optimal performance. I hate to use crysis as a bench now, but I can run that on full graphics. Here are some specs, any suggestions are appreciated Smile

Processor: Intel Dual Core2 Duo E6750 (not OC at the moment) 2.66GHz
Memory: 4.00 GB
OS: Windows Vista 64bit (should I stop here? haha)
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT x2 SLI (newest drivers)

The game itself is through a steam install. I'd love to play the game on highest settings and glow enabled without the planets or stations tearing when they come into view.

Cheers!

[Edit] Ah I'm using mods too, this may be a cause of the problem. Heres a list of the ones I have installed:

Advanced Missile Defense by Fud
Bounty Boost by LV
Cheat Collection Package by Cycrow (to counteract the occasional storyline glitch)
Compare Ships by Graxter
Freight Transporter Upgrade by LV
Improved Boarding by Cycrow
LazCorp Claim Unknown Sector by Lazerath
Manual Trade Extension by ThisIsHarsh
Marine Repairs by Tatakau
Medusa Rapid Fire Missile Interface by LV
Mobile Ship Repairs by Graxster
Salvage Claim Software by Cycrow
Upgrade Kits (formerly Jumpdrive Kits v1.4) by LV
Wing Hotkeys by Cycrow

I started a brand new game and with these all enabled to see if the tearing was still happening, and it was. At the start of the game with the script editor I could see I was running over 8600 scrips. Does this seem too high?

Cheers!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16835 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 25. Nov 08, 00:18    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I do not think that scripting and modding can "optimize" as such. That is the job of the hardcode, and that is beyond S&M. What we can do, is to replace models with something less intensive, such as modding asteroids and ships made from less polygons. Not as pretty, but cheaper to draw. And the scripters can redesign their scripts to consume less CPU.

You are using multiple scripts. Lets assume that the performance problems are not due to game engine or driver bugs. So it must then be one or more of those scripts, or their combination. You should think through, which scripts might be running some heavy loop in the background, continuously. Hotkeys, for example, do not sound like doing that, if they run only when you press them. Then check the thread of each candidate script to see if any of them has already reported being "heavy".

And then ask in those threads, if needed. The script authors do need your feedback. They do read their own threads. And other users do read those threads too. Perhaps your to-the-point feedback can save one gray hair from the other users.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Loid





Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 22 on topic
Location: Reading, England
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 01:00    Post subject: Cheat script issue? Can't jump in Terran sectors Reply with quote Print

Hi folks

I'm not sure where to post this so will try here first, mods, please move if I've got the wrong forum

I had the M148 bug where everyone was against me, so due to being able to spend very few hours on the game went for the easy option and installed Cyrows excellent cheat script. I used it once or twice in M148 to turn the enemies to friends and was able to complete the mission Smile

However, a few missions later I went back to my Sabre I'd docked at Omicron Lyrae only to find it stripped of all equipment! Next I found I was unable to jump to any Terran sectors. Even after revisiting them the jump drive would not work in for any of them.

I'm not sure if this is an issue with the cheat, or if it's just more issues with a b*ggered game.

Any ideas folks? I really don't want to restart as it took me several weeks to get this far (not much time for games, but with X ones I go in for the long haul Smile )

TIA

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20457 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 01:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

u've never been able to jump into terran sectors.

jumpdrives use the gates to lock onto to jump, terran sectors dont have gates to lock onto, so the jumpdrives dont work.

you can only jump to asteroid belt.

its also not a bug no matter what others say, it is intended


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Loid





Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 22 on topic
Location: Reading, England
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 01:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks very much Cycrow, I hadn't noticed that before (left terran sections, never to return until now!). That answers one of the questions Smile

I'm still a bit confused over the loss of all the equipment from my ship, I can't buy the weapons back now as my rep isn't good enough with the Terran. Is it possible this was caused by the script? I've had a lot of issues with the story line missions so it might well not be caused by it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20457 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 01:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

its unlikly to have been cause by the cheat scripts, as the scripts are only run when you tell them too, so its very unlikly to effect a ship that you havn't used the cheats on.

as for y the equipment went missing, this i really dont know. Not seen that happen before, especially if its just been sat in a station


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Loid





Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 22 on topic
Location: Reading, England
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 01:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks once again, I appreciate you spending the time to reply Smile Looks like I need to earn some cash to spend on Argon technology instead Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smbh





Joined: 10 Jan 2007



PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 11:35    Post subject: Mystery behind SS_WARE_SW_NEW1 Reply with quote Print

For some reason I have Paranid EQ Docks carrying it and I have no idea what it could be. I'm a sloppy updater, usually updating several scripts a go so I'm not even sure where to look for the culprit.



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ravenholme





Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 243 on topic
Location: Scotland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Could it be Medusa Rapid Fire Missile Interface?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smbh





Joined: 10 Jan 2007



PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 11:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yep, seems like, I seemed to recall it costing as much, searched for the thread and it was it. Wonder why it's not updating the name properly though....

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16835 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 12:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

System fails to get the proper name from the text file. Corrupted/missing/conflicting text file(s)?


This "missing proper string" is a classic (FAQ) problem. You should know the scripts that are supposed to provide the text. Those scripts should tell it in their description. And in the Community Library too. Hmm, none of the obvious locations seem to spell it out. Perhaps a note to the author in appropriate thread? Wink


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ikaruga





Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 366 on topic
Location: France, Lyon
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Dec 08, 09:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi,

Here's my problem : I load my save, I leave the station where I was docked, I fly for a few minutes, and then the game freezes completly. It does not crash but I can't move nor do anything and the music "loops"...

The only way I can quit the game is ctrl alt del and kill it.

I play with version 1.3

I can send you the save file if you want.

Can someone help, please ?

Here are the scripts I use :

- Deathmatch arena
- CAG
- Marine Repairs
- Improved Boarding
- Nividium processing plant

I had a look in the different forums of those scripts, but did not find anything about this problem.

I also gave my save to a friend who has none of those scripts installed, he got exactly the same result.

Loading an earlier save seems to solve the problem somehow, but then it comes back a few hours later ...


_________________
If brute force doesn't solve your problems, then you aren't using enough
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
th0th





Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 18 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 13. Dec 08, 03:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

typically only noticed that this thread would be more appropriate than the script requests, if only my dulled brain had spotted it sooner. Anyhow;

Odd request this one which i hope can be done with a script, essentially one of the Shipyards in my universe (Light of Heart) the trade screen has become blank and stretches over all my savegames, the info screen is fine and if i dock ships there i can sell them but none of the info screen appears on the trade screen, which is most unfortunate. Any Ideas?

i can dig out the large list of mods i'm using if that might help already tried the obvious things and some other suggestions, switching off a few odd mods and such.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amirite





Joined: 23 Oct 2008



PostPosted: Sat, 13. Dec 08, 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just realized this thread is more for actual scripting topics, I'll post it somewhere else.


_________________
-TEVE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 20. Oct 17, 00:02

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.59595 seconds, sql queries = 29