EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
No-Ad-Sign-Mod
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Killjaeden





Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 4840 on topic
Location: Germany
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Tue, 4. May 10, 23:20    Post subject: No-Ad-Sign-Mod Reply with quote Print

DE/ENG
Annoying Ad-Signs?
After the installation all Ad Signs will be gone. Wink
Savegamecompatible, can be disabled/enabled at anytime if you wish.

X3TC Version: any Version is compatible

Installation: Drop the files into your Terran Conflict folder (including the folderstructure)
Example: ...\X3 Terran Conflict\objects\others

Deinstallation: Delete the files

Compatibility: Should be compatible to every other mod, except if it changes Ad-signs

This shouldn't produce a *modified* so you can also use it for vanilla games.
Use at your own risk!!!

Download (from X1TP mod database)


Edit: replaced outdated x1tp with working xdownloads link. X2-Illuminatus


_________________

Tutorial Custom Turrets; Guide advice on placing turrets; Guide Performance of Models


Last edited by Killjaeden on Sat, 7. Jul 12, 11:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The-Last-Communist





Joined: 21 Feb 2010

Location: right behind you !

PostPosted: Wed, 5. May 10, 12:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

well i like the ad signes but how muche dos it increes performance ?


_________________
Splits , for the better things in life...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
cattafett



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 711 on topic
Location: In your fridge eating your food
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 5. May 10, 13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

dude nice one those things have been bugging me since for ever
question will this get rid of the ones on the goner temple?

catta


_________________
those UFOs you hear about are just what you tried to explaine to me going over my head
Advanced Complex-Hub you know you need it Catta Fett's D.O.G.S Vanilla safe mod collectionyou don't need them but you want them
Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OOZ662



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 1155 on topic
Location: NW WA State
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 5. May 10, 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The-Last-Communist wrote:
well i like the ad signes but how muche dos it increes performance ?


Quite a bit, as the video playing on them is actually a massive MPEG2 video file being yanked off your hard drive and streamed.


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Killjaeden





Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 4840 on topic
Location: Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 5. May 10, 19:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quote:
question will this get rid of the ones on the goner temple?

I dunno, visited the temple ages ago...
If they are seperate like any other adsign they will get removed.
If they are mounted on the temple i can't say for sure. Just go and test it yourself Wink


_________________

Tutorial Custom Turrets; Guide advice on placing turrets; Guide Performance of Models
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
creidiki





Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 472 on topic
Location: Milan, Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 19. May 10, 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hmm, I actually get the opposite effect?

When I install it the game constantly streams from mov/00002.dat.

I don't have any other mods which mod those files, so I guess it must be some weird script thing Confused

.. oh well. I'll try to find out what's causing it this weekend.


_________________
I am not as think as you drunk I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Killjaeden





Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 4840 on topic
Location: Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 19. May 10, 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

how would you recognize that? o0
it's technically impossible to have working adsigns if you installed the mod properly.


_________________

Tutorial Custom Turrets; Guide advice on placing turrets; Guide Performance of Models
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
creidiki





Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 472 on topic
Location: Milan, Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 19. May 10, 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sysinternals' Process Monitor.

When I install no adsigns, and start X3TC, its accessing the disk full-time (ingame performance suffers noticeably from the constant disk IO), and Process Monitor says the almost totality of calls are for mov/00002.dat.

I'm as puzzled as you are, which is why I'm gonna get to the bottom of it this weekend Very Happy

I shall slay this beats for great justice!


_________________
I am not as think as you drunk I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cnecktor





Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 337 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 19. May 10, 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I beryl even notice the ad signs so getting rid of them wont bother me, so how much fps can this free up?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki





Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 472 on topic
Location: Milan, Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 19. May 10, 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I hereby now give a giant shrug. Before I was able to reproduce the issue by starting with or without the mod.

Then I removed everything I'd added today, and started again adding one-by-one. Its gone.

...

Oh well, that's a good thing!

One more happy (if puzzled) No AdSigns user Sceptic


_________________
I am not as think as you drunk I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Killjaeden





Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 4840 on topic
Location: Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. May 10, 00:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the question is why would the game try to access 00002.
The adsigns don't exist after this installation anymore, the body-loader reads a "/#hacked" as comment
when in fact expecting 1000nds of lines of vertices AND the path to the material -> which leads to the advert-moviefile.
strange, but good to know that it works now.

It MAY be because of that you were in the same sector as an adsign. Bad loop or something like that. For example a scenefile sets the positions of the parts of a ship. If you reload a save with an old scene that was changed it is still the same, even if the old original scene does not exist anymore.

Quote:
so how much fps can this free up?

depends on the system i think. No one did a benchmark so far...
feel free to be the first Smile


_________________

Tutorial Custom Turrets; Guide advice on placing turrets; Guide Performance of Models
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
creidiki





Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 472 on topic
Location: Milan, Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. May 10, 02:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Possibly.

Its strange though, I mean, 00002.mov is, afaik, the music file ... its normal for the game to read it - although I do wish it would do so more than 32k bytes at the time - but I normally get 15-20k such requests in the time it takes to load, undock, and spin around my own trail 5-6 times. This is my normal "check if anything I've just installed is killing my fps" check. Do not ask. Razz

With the bug it was like, iunno 100k+? Disk access went from the normal occasional flicker to a solid unbroken glow.

... yeah, doesn't make sense to me either, gods know what arcane interplay made disabling objects which play video trigger massive reading of audio files ... Thinking

Frankly, I'm just happy it works now, and I'm just gonna blame gremlins or summink Smile


_________________
I am not as think as you drunk I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OOZ662



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 1155 on topic
Location: NW WA State
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. May 10, 04:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

creidiki wrote:
Its strange though, I mean, 00002.mov is, afaik, the music file ...


00002.dat contains the little spinny blue "icons" for wares, the advertisements for the billboards, and the Kha'ak cutscenes from X3:R. It has no audio track.


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
creidiki





Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 472 on topic
Location: Milan, Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. May 10, 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

OOZ662 wrote:
Kha'ak cutscenes from X3:R.

What. Neutral

Also: Guess I must have gotten confombulated. Embarassed

In any case, that makes it both clearer and stranger - I guess whatever weird hullabaloo I was experiencing really was making play ads on overtime Surprised

And now I must wonder why it needs to read ware icons hundreds of times a second, while I'm in space ... Thinking


_________________
I am not as think as you drunk I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cnecktor





Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 337 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 20. May 10, 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I tested it out on my computer ther is only a small fps increse here is what I have.

Nvidia Geforce gtx275 sli Intel Quad Core @ 300.ghz 8gbram windows 7 64bit




I only get 1 to 3 fps increase, before this mod I get 27 30 after 29 31. I also have high graphic settings resolution 1920 x 1080 not native 4x anti aliasing 4x anisotropic texture filtering all other settings high or on. I'm going to keep this mod on, because I like being in the upper 30 more than being in the mid to high 20 its not 60 fps like, I want but I am not willing to cut back the graphics, and beside I think this game brings your pc down to its knees because of all the stuff going on in game amount of objects on screen at one time more than the graphics.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 08:04

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.46896 seconds, sql queries = 29