EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[MOD] Advanced Complex-Hub [2.0-beta.1]
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Saetan



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2977 on topic
Location: Vorarlberg (Austria)
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 09:29    Post subject: [MOD] Advanced Complex-Hub [2.0-beta.1] Reply with quote Print

Advanced Complex-Hub (Update: 2009-04-30 05:30PM CET)



It's permitted to non-commercial redistribute this modification. It's also permitted to modify this modification and to non-commercially distribute that modded modification. Each under the additional terms of naming the original author and also linking to the original topic of the modification.

Description
This modification replaces the complex-hub with a modified one, which has an internal hangar for fighters and two docks for capital ships. By using of this modification every complex-hub gets replaced, even the already built ones. But only new built Complex-Hubs will recognize the new docks.

The docking of capital ships while "In Sector" can take a while and need some manouvres. So the regular supply by TS-freighters is still adviced.




Install
The install of this modification is supposed to be by fake-patch. You can unpack the .zip into your ³:TC homedirectory.

If there is already a 08.cat/.dat, it is supposed to unpack the .zip into a temporary direcotry of your choice. After that find the highest number of .cat/.dat in your X³:TC homedirectory. This number + 1 is supposed to be the new name of the unpacked 08.cat/.dat of my modification. After renaming them, you have to move them into your X³:TC homedirectory.

It's adviced to fly to a sector with no complexes or complex-hubs before the installation of this modification. Undocking the ships "Out of Sector" from a complex-hub shouldn't be necessary, but can be done in a doubtful case.


Deinstall
To uninstall this modification fly to a sector without any complex-hubs and undock every problematic ship (e.g. capital ships or internally docked fighters) from every complex-hub. After that delete the .cat and .dat of this modification.


Use of the new docking possibilities at already built complex-hubs
Complex-hubs already built before the installation of this mod won't be able to use the new docking possibilities. If you want to use this new possibilities, you have to extend your existing complex the following way:

First build at least two new stations, which should get added to your complex later. After that join this new stations to a new complex and place the hub at a suitable position. After that join this new complex with your old one. It is important that you choose the new complex-hub first and the old one as second. The new complex-hub will now be the hub of your complex, the old one disappeared.

If you use the Factory Complex Constructor by -Dusty-, you can directly place the new complex-hub. Then join it with your complex like described above.

Else you have to destroy your complex and join him again or to miss the new docking possibilities at your old complexes.


Notes
Stationscenes and -bodyfiles seem not to contain a signature. So this modification shouldn't force you to a modified. But because my savegames are already *modified* I can't garantuee that.

Attention! These modified complex-hubs have changed flying route for docking ships. Freigthers are now also docking from above. Because of the capital docks these complex-hubs also need more space in front of the station.


Compatibility
This modification is without adjustments incompatible to modifications, which modify one of the following files:
  • .\objects\cut\04906.bod
  • .\objects\v\10523.bod

This modification is done by modifying files from X³:TC 2.0. Because of the modded files it should be compatible with any version of X³:TC.


Known Bugs
- none


Changelog
2.0-beta.1: First Release


Download



Advanced Complex-Hub 2.0-beta.1 (outdated link)
Zip2Spk-converted-Version by FalconGrey (no support or any guarantee by myself)


Links
SaDiablo Modification Development


Edit: added alternative xdownload download link. X2-Illuminatus


_________________
-- retired from X --

S.O.P.H.I.E. - Stamp Out Prejudice Hatred and Intolerance Everywhere


Last edited by Saetan on Sun, 10. Jul 11, 22:30; edited 13 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 09:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

How many docks of each size are available with this mod ?


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
aka1nas





Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 1381 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 09:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Awesome!! I'll try this out once I have a chance to play again. Nice Job, Saetan! Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saetan



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2977 on topic
Location: Vorarlberg (Austria)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 09:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
How many docks of each size are available with this mod ?


Like the original complex-hub by egosoft, this hub has place for up to twenty ships of class TS or similar. In addition there are two docks for capital ships (undocking backwards like in PHQ or my Terraformer-Hub BugFix) and a internal dock for fighters ... as far as I know, there is no limit for internal docking.

One thing to the internal docking ... I only found place for one undocking-slot ... that means, "In Sector" it takes quite a while to undock some fighters (e.g. for defending the complex) because there can only start one at the same time. While "Out of Sector" there seems to be no limit in undocking ships at the same time.


_________________
-- retired from X --

S.O.P.H.I.E. - Stamp Out Prejudice Hatred and Intolerance Everywhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
XDrake





Joined: 29 Oct 2008
Posts: 133 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thank you! It is been hard to get things for my TL to complex.... I will put this to use right away....


_________________
XDrake
-------------------------------------------------------
NECORE Inc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saetan



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2977 on topic
Location: Vorarlberg (Austria)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Apr 09, 23:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I just found out ... don't know anymore why I though, it would work that way ... that only new build complex hubs will recognize the new docks.

The old ones will have the new models, but capital ships won't dock and no internal hangar will be used.

--- edit ---
See the description in the first post, how to solve this problem.


_________________
-- retired from X --

S.O.P.H.I.E. - Stamp Out Prejudice Hatred and Intolerance Everywhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Cvok





Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 3 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 30. May 09, 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thx a lot, i love this script.

It's great that i can dock my capital ships to ressuply stations...

Only flaw i found is that with doking Yaki Ryu, it has large construction on it's forward part which colides with new hub... so when you try to undock it IS the ship goes BOOM, OOS works fine.


_________________
Vanilla OOS combat - The way to the hell, but only for player owned ships!! Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fud





Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 6990 on topic
Location: IN, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 30. May 09, 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Nice.


I stole Armageddon's extended hub from the Reunion mod, replacing all the hubs with it.


I may use yours instead, I like the 2 capital docking clamps more than 1. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rathion



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 62 on topic
Location: Unknown Sector
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 09:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quote:
By using of this modification every complex-hub gets replaced, even the already built ones. But only new built Complex-Hubs will recognize the new docks.


I'm just getting back into scripting and I rather like this one, but the above statement is very misleading to me.

Does this mean that the new docking system works, but visually the hub is the same?

Can I "chain" hubs together and thereby replace the primary docking hub in order to get this new hub?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 09:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

No, it means that existing docks will look like the new one, but only have the standard docks on it working. In otherwords, all the extra docks added will not function, even though you can see them. The game wont know they exist, because such things are only recorded when they are created.

Install mod
Add new complex hub - this will have full mod functionality.

You cannot chain hubs together. There can only be 1 hub per complex.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rathion



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 62 on topic
Location: Unknown Sector
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 09:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks Apricot,

By "chain" I mean having a normal hub, then if you have a station too far away to add to it, you use a CCK to make another hub and put that within range of the normal hub. Then you use another CCK to combine them.

Does that actually count as building a new hub? or will I have to Self Destruct it and start over?

Quote:
First build at least two new stations, which should get added to your complex later. After that join this new stations to a new complex and place the hub at a suitable position. After that join this new complex with your old one. It is important that you choose the new complex-hub first and the old one as second. The new complex-hub will now be the hub of your complex, the old one disappeared.


I guess I answered my own question... and failed to read this part of Saetan's post Smile

/fail



Last edited by Rathion on Fri, 12. Jun 09, 09:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 09:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You can only have 1 hub on 1 complex.

The moment you join 2 hubs, the second one is destroyed, and the first one you select remains as the single hub.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Saetan



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2977 on topic
Location: Vorarlberg (Austria)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 10:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Rathion wrote:
/fail


Hi Rathion

Fail? Do you mean, the above by yourself quoted description didn't work for you?

Greetings,
Saetan


_________________
-- retired from X --

S.O.P.H.I.E. - Stamp Out Prejudice Hatred and Intolerance Everywhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Rathion



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 62 on topic
Location: Unknown Sector
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

No I meant that I failed at trying to figure it out on my own hehe

This is one of the best scripts in my opinion.

It didn't make sense to me that a Complex Hub wouldn't allow all ship types to dock considering how massive complexes can be.

I'd like to be able to get a new complex up and running by sending a TL to various sectors saturated in needed goods, and having TS ships ferrying to the TL till it is full. Then just docking the TL and unloading enough to max out the resources. It seems tedious having to order all the TS ships around but I only want to do this to get the complex started off, then the AI traders or looped stations keep it stocked.

Sure, I could get the "teleport goods from a TL+ to station and back" script but that would feel like cheating.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vizerei





Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 24 on topic
Location: USA (Iraq Currently)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 5. Aug 09, 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I love the idea for this mod.

However, when I copy the .cat/.dat files to my directory and attempt to load a saved game I get the "Save game may be corrupt" error. When I remove your mod, my save games load fine. Any idea why this is?

I'm running this on steam so definitely the latest patch. Also running a bunch of other mods like the Terraformer Hub fix, Complex Cleaner, MARS, and maybe 1 or 2 other insignificant mods (can't remember what they were)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 07:54

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.59069 seconds, sql queries = 29