EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCR] Custom Start v1.4.0 (21-04-14)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 14. Jan 12, 00:20    Post subject: [SCR] Custom Start v1.4.0 (21-04-14) Reply with quote Print

Custom Start

Description

This script will pop a one time menu when starting a new game, with options to customize:
- Start sector
- Player ship and extra ships
- Station placement
- Universe exploration and satellites
- Race relations
- Money, salvage insurance, unfocused jumpdrive, player HQ, jump beacons

The menu can be skipped without applying any changes and it cannot be opened again within that game.

Note: Games will automatically be flagged *modified* by the presence of the init script. This is to allow the menu to be popped up when the script editor is not enabled.



Rationale

Having played through many X games, I often prefer to start the game with a particular scenario in mind. Sometimes I simply want to avoid re-exploring the galaxy over again.

I find having the script editor enabled invariably spoils the game as temptation is always there to use it once its activated. I instead started creating custom setup scripts for my new game scenarios, which would run once at the start of a game.

The idea is that the setup script will perform one-time changes at game start without having to activate the script editor to do it manually. This way I can play through the game with script editor deactivated, without temptation being in my way.

I've taken this a step further and added a menu, so I can achieve the most common things I tend to want (particular ship, salvage insurance, exploration) without having to edit scripts before starting a new game.

Compatibility

Tested on AP/vanilla, AP/XRM, TC/XTC

Install

To install, copy the t\9051 file into the AP addon\t folder, while copying the scripts files into the addon\scripts folder. Then start a new game and the menu should pop up.

To uninstall, delete those files, in particular those which the game will automatically load (!init.glen.modified, setup.glen.start).

References
- Developed using Exscriptor
- Hosted by XDownloads

Resources

Text file: 9051-L044.xml


Edit [1st Dec 2015]: replaced outdated with working xdownloads link. X2-Illuminatus


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.


Last edited by Shimrod on Wed, 8. Oct 14, 16:45; edited 27 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 14. Jan 12, 00:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

1.4.0
- Made Custom Start compatible with Terran Conflict
- Add a toggle for whether to scan asteroids
- Improved logic for populating carriers. Observe max fighter size that can dock and add an M6 if possible. Set ship command Protect to the carrier.
- Add a jump beacon to spawned ships when the Beacon Jump script is detected
- Add replicators to spawned ships when the Replication script is detected
- Add text files for DE, PL, CS, IT, ES, FR, RU with English strings.
- Improve start sector selector temporary map reveal to account for sectors and objects already discovered.

1.3.2
- Fix a bug causing the menu not to appear at game start.

1.3.1
- Write a log file to support debugging reported menu no-shows: %USERPROFILE%\Documents\Egosoft\X3AP\log09051.txt.
- Replaced the original !init.glen.modified.xml with a new !init.glen.start.xml that X-Studio won't fail to load, and is therefore more likely to properly make the game modified so the script will load.
- Increased sanity check limit on polling for playership creation from 10 to 20 seconds. Still poll at 1 second intervals.

1.3.0
- Added starting sector selection.

1.2.0
- Added station placement
- Added ship equipment setting (minimal, standard, optimized)

1.1.0
- Add option for whether to fill spawned ship docking slots.


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.


Last edited by Shimrod on Mon, 21. Apr 14, 22:41; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karabAs





Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 85 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 14. Jan 12, 03:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Perfect! Thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Balkor_Wolf





Joined: 09 Jan 2011



PostPosted: Sun, 15. Jan 12, 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I love you <3

Edit: Having a bit of a problem, I extracted the files into the appropiate folders but nothing worked, should I not extract them?

Edit 2: Fixed it now, just me being an idiot >.<

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 15. Jan 12, 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes the zip file should be extracted and the files copied into these folders:

Steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\addon\scripts
Steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\addon\t

It can be confirmed in-game that the scripts are in the right place by enabling the script editor and paging through the list of scripts to verify that the setup.glen.start script is present. If its not in the list, the scripts were copied into the wrong folders.

If all the following are true:
a. Starting a new AP game
b. Don't see the Custom Start menu
c. In game script editor shows the scripts are there

Then this would suggest an error in the script's mechanism for detecting a new game start. Hopefully this will not be the case!


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NSSA99





Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 16 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Jan 12, 16:03    Post subject: Great Job!!! Reply with quote Print

Nice job on this script. This really saves a lot of time when setting up a new game. I often want to try out different scripts and mods and this will help alot.


_________________
Mark

Honesty, Integrity and sincerity. Once you can fake these you have it made.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Feb 12, 01:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Minor update to add the option of not filling the docking bay of spawned ships.


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieu_Le_Fera





Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 22 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 11. Feb 12, 21:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

this is a very nice script... since I can't take my saved game from TC over to AP I can at least give myself the assets needed to remake my saved game without having to do it all over again... thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 11. Feb 12, 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks.

I'm considering enhancing it at some stage for placing stations, as I'd rather like to start off with a business. The options have downsides though:
1. Place in TL cargos: You end up with lots of TL's.
2. Direct placement: Can't position&rotate them readily OOS, no complex connections, special player stations (EQ, SY, HQ) might not initialize unless properly ejected from TL.

I'll probably go with #2: temporarily reveal sector map to support placement, then hide all the sectors afterwards.


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieu_Le_Fera





Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 22 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 11. Feb 12, 23:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

any chance you can have it so that we can edit what the ships are given. I don't mean add a cargo of Nividium or anything just be able to adjust what what is installed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Feb 12, 00:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It's not impossible, but coding menus is extremely tedious, and it'd take a pretty detailed tree of menus for configuring ship extensions and so on, for the playership and additional ships.

Would a global 'equip: nothing, default equipment, full monty' selection fit requirements?


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieu_Le_Fera





Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 22 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Feb 12, 00:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

i would like the all or nothing option.. because being given a ship with everything from the get go is just a little to much... especially if i can just adjust the credits accordingly to outfit the ships I would like/need.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimrod





Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 886 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Feb 12, 00:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'll plan on adding the following options, when I get a window to implement it (working on a p2p jumpdrive atm!)

Ship Equipment:

Nothing
- Only has SETA

Default
- Whatever the 'add default items to ship' script command adds.
- When I tested it on an empty XRM centaur, this added shields, random tunings, lasers, drones, and some equipment.

Full
- Uses my equipping library


_________________
My scripts: Beacon Jump, Custom Start, OK Traders, Replication, Smart Turrets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieu_Le_Fera





Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 22 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Feb 12, 00:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

perfect.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougeye





Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 2162 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Feb 12, 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

when the loadouts are spawned is it not referenced to custom loadouts xrm created? i may have my terminology wrong but as i see it if you create a custom loadout and assign the ship type the correct loadout will it not just use the new load out?


_________________
ANTEC 1200 V3 - (Modified with gentle typhoon fans) - INTEL i7 2700k 4.7ghz (OC) - ROG Maximus 4 Extreme MOBO - 2x NVIDIA GTX 580 SLI - 16gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz ddr3 ram - 120 gb OCZ Vertex 3 SATA 3 6gb (speed) SSD - 600gb WD Velociraptor HDD - Corsair 1000w PSU - ALC Vantage CPU liquid cooler (modified with gentle typhoon fans) + 2gb storage and super fast silent optical drives - BEAST!!!!! (USED TO BE 3 YEARS AGO) lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 22:51

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 2.62214 seconds, sql queries = 29