[MD Script] MUS - Marking Unknown Sectors (updated 05-07-2009)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

[MD Script] MUS - Marking Unknown Sectors (updated 05-07-2009)

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 00:47

MUS - Marking Unknown Sectors

English | Deutsch

Adds sector coordinates to Unknown Sector's names making them easier to identify.
This is based on an idea posted at the ES L3+ Ideas Forum SECTORS - Give numbers to all Unknown Sectors (you'll need L3+ DevNet access to follow that link)

Image
Image

Image

Installation:
  • 1. Extract files to your X3TC game root folder, the files should go where they are supposed to.
    2. Start game or load an existing save.
    3. change your pilot name to activatemus Sectors get changed about 10 seconds after that.
    4. to reset/reload any changes you have made after loading it the first time, change your pilot name to resetmus and repeat step 3.
    Note: If you're already using the 1.0 version just overide the MD file.
Image

Localisation:
  • 44 English
    49 Deutsch
    39 Italiano
    33 Français
Image

Compatibility:
  • This file is compatible with all X3TC 2.1 save games and all mods that did not change the sector layout
Image

Changelog:
  • v.1.0 - Release (03-07-2009)
  • v.1.1 - added reset fuction (04-07-2009)
Image

Credits:
  • - ES for the Game and the MD
    - X2-Illuminatus for testing

MFG

Ketraar
Last edited by Ketraar on Sat, 14. Jan 12, 17:58, edited 11 times in total.
Image

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 01:33

that's cool... thanks Ketraar
I'm italian, to let it work need I to copy/paste the english t file and rename it to 39 and change the language id to 39?
(and obviously to translate the names into that file)

can it change other sector's names too? (with a bit of reverse engineering and modifies on my part)
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 01:57

someone else wrote:I'm italian, to let it work need I to copy/paste the english t file and rename it to 39 and change the language id to 39?
no need, I've just added it. :-)
can it change other sector's names too? (with a bit of reverse engineering and modifies on my part)
Sure, no problem. Heck you can change all the names of all sectors if you feel like. Just remember that any change will only work in a saved game PRIOR to the one you loaded that file the first time.

Thinking of it I may add a reset function to it. :gruebel:

MFG

Ketraar
Image

aka1nas
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu, 7. Jul 05, 05:17
x4

Post by aka1nas » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 02:09

Hehe, nice job Katraar. Just saw the topic in the Ideas forum yesterday and you cranked out a script just like that! :D

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 02:11

aka1nas wrote: Just saw the topic in the Ideas forum yesterday and you cranked out a script just like that! :D
Well its an easy one for a change. Pushes the productivity ratio up I guess :-D

MFG

Ketraar
Image

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 12:15

Ketraar wrote:Thinking of it I may add a reset function to it. :gruebel:
Does the MD have no functionality like "setup scripts", that run at every game load?

The SE also has an instruction "last load time", keeping the playtime of the last time the game was loaded.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Osiris_sam
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu, 24. Aug 06, 13:45
x4

Post by Osiris_sam » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 14:34

are sector names not settable by the script engine?

how much control does the script engine have over sectors (sligtly off topic)

regardless: i like this... tis useful... no more 'which unknown sector does it mean' thoughts.

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 4. Jul 09, 20:34

Gazz wrote:Does the MD have no functionality like "setup scripts", that run at every game load?
No such thing in MD. MD is event driven.
The SE also has an instruction "last load time", keeping the playtime of the last time the game was loaded.
MD != SE, stop comparing it. Its not like there is a competition or something. *sigh* :shock:
are sector names not settable by the script engine?
No idea. Use the [Discussion] Generic X3TC S&M questions for the SE questions.
But there are other ways to change the names of sectors, loading a new t-file which overrides the names should do it too. Different roads lead often to the same destination.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Post by Ketraar » Sun, 5. Jul 09, 23:14

Changelog:
  • v.1.1 - added reset fuction (04-07-2009)
Now you can make changes as many times as you want. Refer to OP for instructions and download.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 5. Jul 09, 23:33

Ketraar wrote:MD != SE, stop comparing it. Its not like there is a competition or something. *sigh* :shock:
I'm not comparing, only pointing out that there might be a MD instruction with a similiar effect.
Anyway, the game being loaded is a pretty important event for X3. =)
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

UpNFlames
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue, 14. Jul 09, 01:19
x3tc

Post by UpNFlames » Mon, 20. Jul 09, 22:19

I downloaded the file a couple of times but the file name and extention that I recieved are different than the description on the file dowmload link. The description shows a .RAR file, and I recieved a .EFW which I cannot open.
This is what I recieved (MarkingUnknownSectors v1.1.1.3A1400.efw)

User avatar
Ketraar
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 8901
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Post by Ketraar » Mon, 20. Jul 09, 22:43

Just checked, works as it should.

Click on Downlod in OP which will take you to the "main" Topic at AD, there download the attached file by clicking on it.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

UpNFlames
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue, 14. Jul 09, 01:19
x3tc

Post by UpNFlames » Mon, 20. Jul 09, 23:21

That's what I did and still get the same result. The description of the file type in the Download Save/Open dialog box identifies the file as an UMXattatchment File, 2.70kb.

Name: MarkingUnknownSectors_1.1.1.3A1400.efw
Type : UMXAttatchmentFile, 2.70kb
From: After-Domination.net

This is very strange. I'm in the USA and Downloading to Windows XP.

UpNFlames
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue, 14. Jul 09, 01:19
x3tc

Post by UpNFlames » Tue, 21. Jul 09, 17:54

UPDATE - I turned off my Firewall and got the correct file.

User avatar
Emerson d'Anite
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue, 7. Mar 06, 21:24
x4

Post by Emerson d'Anite » Tue, 21. Jul 09, 22:04

UpNFlames wrote:UPDATE - I turned off my Firewall and got the correct file.
Have you tried to rename the file to MarkingUnknownSectors_v1.1.rar and open it then ?
Sometimes firewalls rename suspicious files.
« Il suivait son idée. C'était une idée fixe et il était surpris de ne pas avancer. » :)
Jacques Prévert

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”