EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT] Collect Wares in Sector (modified)
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Graxster





Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 814 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Nov 08, 20:31    Post subject: [SCRIPT] Collect Wares in Sector (modified) Reply with quote Print

Collect Wares in Sector (modified)


  • Moves the script into a standard script instead of being in the preload script.
  • Changes behavior so when using "Collect wares in sector..." the ship stops when done and notifies the player (if you have that option selected on the ship's command console).


I tend to forget that I left a ship running on "Collect wares in sector..." and it ends up wandering around the sector forever, usually getting itself into trouble with Pirates. So I rewrote the script to stop when done.

Technical:

You'll notice that most of the !ship.cmd.(command) scripts have two versions, the ones ending in .pl and the ones ending in .std. The .pl stands for "preload", .std for "standard". The preload scripts are a very small bit of info that the game loads when you start the game. This tells the game what script to run when you select a command from the command menu. This way you have only a small bit of memory taken up. In the case of the Special command, "collect wares in sector..." there is no .std command, the entire script is in the preload file. This means the game is loading the entire script into memory even if you're not using it.

For those who are picky, like me... enjoy!

-Grax

SPK



RAR archive



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Idea





Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 516 on topic
Location: North Star Intergalactic Corporation(NSIC) in sector 'Memorial of Light'
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Nov 08, 20:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I AM PICKY:D
THANKS

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
madpainter



MEDAL

Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 25 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 22. Dec 08, 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Same as that
This is what scripts are for, little tweaks that stamp on the things that annoy you Laughing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 24. Dec 08, 01:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

My main bugbear with the vanilla script is that it uses the ships top speed, which can cause it to just run around in circles. (especially when you have supertuned it).

It needs some smarts. Top speed to within 1km of the container, then slow to something below 100kph for the pickup.

If it fails to pickup, it reduces speed and tries again, and reduces again and tries again etc.

Also, there needs to be an abort option built into the code, so if the container is somewhere where the auto-pilot cannot go because of collision avoidance, then it will give up.

I gave up on this altogether and use the transporter instead now. Very Happy


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jelani Gunju





Joined: 01 Dec 2008

Location: California

PostPosted: Wed, 31. Dec 08, 09:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Very Cool!!! I'm the same... ships just drifting around waiting for a nice Xenox attack to notify me that I forgotten about him Smile


_________________
Jelani Gunju
*A Wise Man Once Said: A Strong Man Never Gives Up.

*A Strong Man Once Said: A Wise Man Knows when to Move On!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20473 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 13. Jun 09, 19:13    Post subject: Re: [SCRIPT] Collect Wares in Sector (modified) Reply with quote Print

Graxster wrote:

Technical:

You'll notice that most of the !ship.cmd.(command) scripts have two versions, the ones ending in .pl and the ones ending in .std. The .pl stands for "preload", .std for "standard". The preload scripts are a very small bit of info that the game loads when you start the game. This tells the game what script to run when you select a command from the command menu. This way you have only a small bit of memory taken up. In the case of the Special command, "collect wares in sector..." there is no .std command, the entire script is in the preload file. This means the game is loading the entire script into memory even if you're not using it.


i just saw this and through i would correct the misinformation.

Firstly, .pl files does not stand for preload, alot some of them do act as a preload script. .pl actually stands for player, and .std is standard.

the AI, will use the standard scripts, but for some commands, they might have additional abilites or different argumetns to use etc, so a .pl exists, most of the time these just get the arguments required for the player and then call the .std script

as this command is only used for the player, the script is named .pl. The naming of the script actually makes no difference, its just a convention, and the game doesn't care what you call them

Secondly, you are way wrong about what preloads actually are. all command scripts, standard, player, preload, check scripts, etc, are all cached at the beginning, so switching it from a preload to a normal one will make no difference to the memory footprint.

of course, simply change a script from .pl to .std makes absolutily no difference at all, the game doesn't see a difference between them.

preload scripts are actually scripts that are "preloaded" before the command is run. Basically, this allows the command to use an advanced menu before running the actual command.

what happens, is when you run a command, if theres a preload, that will run first, if it returns the correct values, then the command script will be run, if not, the command is rejected.

if u just use a standard command and create you menu system for that command, when the command is run, any old command that was running will be stoped to run your new one, so if the player quits from the menu, ie they dont want to run the command in the end, the script will stop, but any previous commands will also be stopped. With a preload, the old command will not be stopped until the preload has returned its arguments

like i said, as far as memory usage and performance goes, there is no real difference between them, any difference there is would actually be in the preloads favour, not the other way around


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mike2003





Joined: 06 Jan 2010



PostPosted: Mon, 11. Jan 10, 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

maybe add check for full cargo? (notification, stop)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arraamis





Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 172 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 19. Jul 10, 07:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I installed this script and cannot seen to get it working ....

Firstly, thanks for the script ....


Now, can someone add a little more info on usage. Prior to upgrading to 2.7.1. I was using Graxster's old collect wares in sector {Which had a menu command} worked as expected.

With this ..... I'm not getting a menu command and running the script via the editor = nothing.

Thanks for any help.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arraamis





Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 172 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 20. Jul 10, 04:12    Post subject: Ware collection that works with Version-2.7.1 Reply with quote Print

Hey guys,

I'm coming off a long layoff from X3. And I've just reinstalled X3:TC with all the newest patches ..... The one favorite script that I've always used is the ware collector {Which transports all the containers to the ship} instead of having to fly over each container individually {Which gets boring fast}. Only this time I'm unable to find one that works with the newest version 2.7.1.

I've installed "Collect Wares in Sector (modified)" by Graxster .... But I'm not getting a menu command.

Has anything changed or is that just not compatible with 2.7.1.

Any info appreciated.


Hopefully this isn't a dup post\thread.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Solomon Short





Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 690 on topic
Location: NZ
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 20. Jul 10, 09:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Check LV's Freight Transporter Upgrade, I believe it got an update in the last couple of days.

It does charge a tariff in eCells to use though (IIRC it's 5eCells per Container/Drone), & I don't know if your remote ships can use it automagically.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arraamis





Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 172 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 20. Jul 10, 10:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Solomon Short wrote:
Check LV's Freight Transporter Upgrade, I believe it got an update in the last couple of days.

It does charge a tariff in eCells to use though (IIRC it's 5eCells per Container/Drone), & I don't know if your remote ships can use it automagically.


Thanks ..... It took a long while for me to search through all the scripts I've collected since X2 - But I found what I was looking for:

Apricots CBeam {Best script to use when there's a lot of containers scattered around}

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16874 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 20. Jul 10, 21:28    Post subject: Re: Ware collection that works with Version-2.7.1 Reply with quote Print

Arraamis wrote:
I've installed "Collect Wares in Sector (modified)" by Graxster .... But I'm not getting a menu command.

Has anything changed or is that just not compatible with 2.7.1.

Any info appreciated.

Hopefully this isn't a dup post\thread.

TC S&M Posting Rules Rule #1 and so forth ... merged.

By the name of the script it probably replaces stock game files. Stock game files can be changed by patches too. And MSCI has certainly changed within patches, obsoleting some script codes.

TC Download Library has the CBeam in the same section as Graxter's script. Section called "Gathering". LV's ship upgrade in in another section; it is hard to organize scripts into intuitive heaps.

Anyway, whether any of those do any good any more, their threads should reveal that. For example, due to merge we now have in Graxter's thread the observation that the script probably is broken in 2.7.1.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 13. Dec 17, 07:27

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.22389 seconds, sql queries = 26