[SCRIPT] Warp to Target - Hotkey

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

[SCRIPT] Warp to Target - Hotkey

Post by Graxster » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 21:08

Tired of spending 90% of your playing time flying to somewhere or from somewhere? Tired of trying to catch enemy ships that are faster than you? Then this mod is for you! Simply extract into your scripts directory, assign a Hotkey (I use Shift + W, bc it's easy to remember W = Warp), and you'll be hopping around sectors like a rabbit!

Wrote this script for myself as a way to save time moving around, and now find myself addicted to using it, lol.

What it does:

If your target is a Gate, it places you 2k in front of the gate. If your target is a station, it docks your ship at that station. If your target is a ship, it puts you about 1.5k away from the ship. Enjoy!

-Grax

Image

SGT.J
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 08, 17:27

Post by SGT.J » Wed, 19. Nov 08, 21:12

How do you assign the hotkey????..Thanks

User avatar
ezra-r
Posts: 3136
Joined: Fri, 14. Oct 05, 21:04
x4

Post by ezra-r » Wed, 19. Nov 08, 21:13

Great idea! ;)

amirite
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 22:01

Post by amirite » Wed, 19. Nov 08, 21:19

Hah awesome. This is simple and smart because it's awesome for capitals but smaller ships will still have a hard time holding enough energy cells to do this too much.
-TEVE

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Wed, 19. Nov 08, 21:21

SGT.J wrote:How do you assign the hotkey????..Thanks
In Controls > Interface, at the bottom. Follow the instructions in the sticky at the top of this forum for activating the script editor. There should be instructions in the readme.txt in the download also (if I put one in there, lol).

-Grax

User avatar
XDrake
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed, 29. Oct 08, 19:48
x3tc

Post by XDrake » Thu, 20. Nov 08, 01:27

Graxster

What at about Jump to... Attack?

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Thu, 20. Nov 08, 03:24

Grax :wink: I don't need to install this as your free jump script already does it I use the paid version! :)
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Thu, 20. Nov 08, 06:58

This script was written pre-FJ. However, this one performs a different function. it's more of a cheat I suppose, but I consider it a time saver instead. I was playing at the start of a game and was bored with all the flying, flying, flying to explore and get places.

So... with this script you can target a ship at the edge of your Triplex Scanner range, press the hotkey, and you're instantly right on top of him. Target any station in the sector, press the hotkey, and you're instantly docked. Target a far away warp gate, press the hotkey, and you're instantly right in front of it. No opening the command console.

-Grax

P.S. I also have another hotkey script that I haven't bothered to post. Let's say your ship can go about 125m/s top speed. Press the hotkey and you're instantly going 750m/s. Press it again and you're going 1250 m/s, etc... You can get up to about 3000m/s before it tops out. 8) Wears off fast, but takes a while to slow down unless I use my other hotkey that instantly stops my ship, *chuckle*. Yep, I cheat a lot, rofl. Even changed my Comm range to 75k. Thinking about changing my Triplex Scanner range similarly.

eskeemer
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri, 30. Jan 04, 14:40
x3

Post by eskeemer » Tue, 25. Nov 08, 11:18

Where do you instal this script please

eskeemer
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri, 30. Jan 04, 14:40
x3

Post by eskeemer » Tue, 25. Nov 08, 11:22

TSM wrote:Grax :wink: I don't need to install this as your free jump script already does it I use the paid version! :)
Where can I get this free jump script please and how do I install It

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Tue, 25. Nov 08, 15:16

It's in the sticky at the top of this very forum, and learn patience and wait for answers, people are not on here 24/7 people sleep and stuff :wink:
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

eskeemer
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri, 30. Jan 04, 14:40
x3

Post by eskeemer » Tue, 25. Nov 08, 19:53

TSM wrote:It's in the sticky at the top of this very forum, and learn patience and wait for answers, people are not on here 24/7 people sleep and stuff :wink:

Iwasn`t intending to be impatient I just thought of the second question soon after posting the first.
However I don`t know which sticky you refer to I`ve looked at them all so maybe you wwould be kind enough to poime in the right direction because what I would like to do is install this script into the plug in manager either this script or "free jump" if you tell me where free jump is please

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Tue, 25. Nov 08, 23:31

Apparently the Cheats sticky isn't being updatd. I have maybe three scripts I posted in there that haven't been added to the list. You can find Free Jump there.

-Grax

eskeemer
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri, 30. Jan 04, 14:40
x3

Re: [SCRIPT] Warp to Target - Hotkey

Post by eskeemer » Thu, 27. Nov 08, 17:22

Graxster wrote:Tired of spending 90% of your playing time flying to somewhere or from somewhere? Tired of trying to catch enemy ships that are faster than you? Then this mod is for you! Simply extract into your scripts directory, assign a Hotkey (I use Shift + W, bc it's easy to remember W = Warp), and you'll be hopping around sectors like a rabbit!

Wrote this script for myself as a way to save time moving around, and now find myself addicted to using it, lol.

What it does:

If your target is a Gate, it places you 2k in front of the gate. If your target is a station, it docks your ship at that station. If your target is a ship, it puts you about 1.5k away from the ship. Enjoy!

-Grax

Image

just out of interest and for reference can you help me with this Question.
prior to having to reinstall X3TC I downloaded" warp to target" installed It I think through plugin manager and somehow or other I ended up with free jump available in the command console which was fine N ow having reinstalled X3TC I found free jump down loaded and installed it using plugin manager and initially it became available in the game interface but not in the command console however when I loaded the previous game "free jump " was there in the game console. So the Question is If I have to reinstall again how can I get "free jump into the game console?

eskeemer
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri, 30. Jan 04, 14:40
x3

Re: [SCRIPT] Warp to Target - Hotkey

Post by eskeemer » Thu, 27. Nov 08, 17:27

eskeemer wrote:
Graxster wrote:Tired of spending 90% of your playing time flying to somewhere or from somewhere? Tired of trying to catch enemy ships that are faster than you? Then this mod is for you! Simply extract into your scripts directory, assign a Hotkey (I use Shift + W, bc it's easy to remember W = Warp), and you'll be hopping around sectors like a rabbit!

Wrote this script for myself as a way to save time moving around, and now find myself addicted to using it, lol.

What it does:

If your target is a Gate, it places you 2k in front of the gate. If your target is a station, it docks your ship at that station. If your target is a ship, it puts you about 1.5k away from the ship. Enjoy!

-Grax

Image

just out of interest and for reference can you help me with this Question.
prior to having to reinstall X3TC I downloaded" warp to target" installed It I think through plugin manager and somehow or other I ended up with free jump available in the command console which was fine N ow having reinstalled X3TC I found free jump down loaded and installed it using plugin manager and initially it became available in the game interface but not in the command console however when I loaded the previous game "free jump " was there in the game console. So the Question is If I have to reinstall again how can I get "free jump into the game console?
sorry for the bother I`ve sorted it out now

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”