EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Tutorial : Opening The Script Editor
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
LV
Sith Lord




Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 6359 on topic
Location: The Dark Side
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 22. Oct 08, 13:50    Post subject: Tutorial : Opening The Script Editor Reply with quote Print

Tutorial Opening The Script Editor



______________________________________________________________________



Once you are In game go to change name





______________________________________________________________________

Be VERY careful how you write "Thereshallbewings"

It must be one word and it is VERY easy to miss a letter out.

If you names stays the same after typing it (e.g. above it would remain as "Player")

If it changes to Thereshall be wings then you have typed something wrong or already opened the SE



___________________________________________________________________________



Once open when you open your ship menu and press "s" on the keyboard it will open the SE





_______________________________________________________________

Remember that sometimes if a script you have loaded seem not to work you may need to save your game and reload or press the "reinit script caches option" once.


_________________
LV's TC Scripts
Readme's For All My Scripts


I felt a great disturbance in the forum, Like millions of voices cried out in terror, then were silenced

si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses


Last edited by LV on Thu, 30. Oct 08, 20:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
eskeemer





Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 223 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Oct 08, 17:53    Post subject: Thereshallbewings Reply with quote Print

I`m trying to get to the script editer told to go to the name change screen and type in there "Thereshallbewings" how do I get to this screen then what do i do?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fud





Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 6990 on topic
Location: IN, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Oct 08, 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Go to your pilot menu, hit "m", then enter the name. There'll be a slight pause in the game.


Scotty, two to beam up.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20456 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 29. Oct 08, 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

onces its enabled, you can open it via the hotkey, or by going to your global commands menu


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
eskeemer





Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 223 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 30. Oct 08, 11:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

thanks for that but I still can`t sort it out do i go to personell box if so I can`t get to pilot name sorry to be a pain but I`ve tried everything so I need a little more guidance I think

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathifier





Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 63 on topic
Location: Sydney, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 4. Nov 08, 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

eskeemer wrote:
thanks for that but I still can`t sort it out do i go to personell box if so I can`t get to pilot name sorry to be a pain but I`ve tried everything so I need a little more guidance I think


The default key sequence, with keys in <> is:
<p>
<m>
Erase your current name.
Type "Thereshallbewings"
<Enter>
*Wait for the game to resume*
<Shift+C>
<s>

And off you go.

Yes the global commands lists the script editor as "s" however when you look into it the command only works in the console.
I spent about an hour trying to find it and only when I went to change the key did I find it was not global at all.

- Deathifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DitDog





Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 18 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 7. Nov 08, 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

ive got the Script editor running, i see a long list of scripts in the script tasks, but when i open the AL plugin, nothing shows up...is there something i'm not doing?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LV
Sith Lord




Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 6359 on topic
Location: The Dark Side
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 8. Nov 08, 00:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

DitDog wrote:
is there something i'm not doing?


Installing any AL Plugins by any chance?

If you have save your game then reload it


_________________
LV's TC Scripts
Readme's For All My Scripts


I felt a great disturbance in the forum, Like millions of voices cried out in terror, then were silenced

si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
canslow





Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 39 on topic
Location: Hoth
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 9. Nov 08, 00:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Having a heck of a time learning about scripts here, so much info. Anyways, I have a question, and not sure where to post it, perhaps you can help LV. Is there a way to get rid of Extension commands/hotkeys from the list in Options/Controls/Extensions? I have several of them that are no longer in use and want to clean up that menu. Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
LV
Sith Lord




Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 6359 on topic
Location: The Dark Side
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 9. Nov 08, 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the scripts may uninstall them for you, ask in the thread you got the script from as the author will be able to tell you then

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
canslow





Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 39 on topic
Location: Hoth
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 9. Nov 08, 18:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks LV, got them uninstalled.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Thygrrr





Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 58 on topic
Location: Profit Center Alpha
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 08, 01:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I have a question.... is this in-game script editor the only way to actually edit the scripts? It seems immensely clunky and unintuitive (to a long time 'traditional' programmer such as me, at least).

To think that all those amazing complex and trade management scipts were made using this editor boggles my mind so much that I actually refuse to believe it Smile


So far, the script XMLs seem difficult to edit at best; I didn't bother feeding them into some kind of there-and-back transform/parser engine yet, but I doubt that'd really simplify things. So, how do the pros edit their scripts? I can't see anyone talk about that in these tutorials... (I promise to double-check, though).


I am actually starting to suspect a lot, if not all of the original stock scripts by Egosoft were made in this Editor, as well. Would kind of explain a lot of things... Rolling Eyes


_________________
X³ - Terran Conflict, Steam Version
Mein DXDIAG dump (clicky)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20456 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 08, 03:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

you can tell you now, that all the built in scripts were made in the normal editor

as for editing the xml, thats not even that easy, because the xml you see in the file is not used by the game, and is generated to make to human readable when opening up using a style sheet.

the actual script coding that the game uses is all inside the <codearray>


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Thygrrr





Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 58 on topic
Location: Profit Center Alpha
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 08, 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

[quote="Cycrow"]you can tell you now, that all the built in scripts were made in the normal editor


Wow, this is amazing. Shocking from a technical standpoint, too, but also amazing. Kudos to you guys!

Thanks for the quick answer.


Cycrow wrote:

the actual script coding that the game uses is all inside the <codearray>


Interesting. There's no way to actually write a stand alone compiler for that? And moreso, Egosoft didn't do it for internal use yet?


_________________
X³ - Terran Conflict, Steam Version
Mein DXDIAG dump (clicky)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kabal316





Joined: 17 Apr 2009



PostPosted: Fri, 17. Apr 09, 20:57    Post subject: Opening script editor crashes game Reply with quote Print

So i'm really new to this game but every time I try to activate the script editor by changing my pilot's name it causes the game to freeze and I have to kill the operation from the Program manager. I've searched the forums but haven't been able to find a solution. Anyone Have any ideas?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Thu, 19. Oct 17, 11:11

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.34684 seconds, sql queries = 29