EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCR] Auto / Terran Jump
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Gazz





Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 12407 on topic
Location: Bavaria
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 02:17    Post subject: [SCR] Auto / Terran Jump Reply with quote Print

(Das entsprechende deutsche Topic ist hier.)


I'm missing a few dear features I got used to in Reunion.
Now I have to manually order every Jumpdrive use and convenient commands like Jump to Me just don't exist.
(Yes, there is an Autojump feature in TC but alas, it only works sometimes.)

I also noticed that my ships would not jump to the terran sectors. Later I was told that this behaviour is intended.
Not intended by me, so I fixed that, too.


So there is a new Ship Command.
Of course, a Jumpdrive is required.

When starting it only asks for 1 argument: Solo jump?

Answering with n, N, 0, or Space means no.
No solo jumps.
If the ship has any followers in Sektor it will not jump unless all followers can jump as well.
(Drones do not count. It's their job to be left behind while the TS they were defending jumps out.)

Other than that there isn't much to explain.
If the ship's destination or target is in another sector it will use a jumpdrive if it can.

Exception:
If the destination is in the next sector but only 25 km away as the spacefly buzzes, the ship will not jump.

This script improves several standard commands without touching them in any way.
Follow / Protect now doubles as a jump to target / me command.
The Remote Best Buy / Sell commands all use the Jumpdrive and no longer fly through every Xenon sector they can find.
I can order ships to attack things in another sector...
Much better. =)

Some commands like Move to Position may not work since my script can not identify a clear target.


Note:
As of TC version 1.2, all terran gates are still bugged which means that they can not be selected as a destination for any jump or fly through script (Explorer software).
(They apply for neither of the 2 "gate" arguments in the script editor)
This script does not care.
Classic gate, terran gate, hellgate, no gate at all... it just jumps.


(ZIP)

Resources used:
<t id="1244">COMMAND_TYPE_SHIP_44</t>
T-File = Text page: 7615


_________________
My complete script download page. . . . . . Xai-Corp MSCI List is scripter's friend. I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.


Last edited by Gazz on Sat, 18. Jul 09, 12:55; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 02:49    Post subject: Re: [SCR] Jump! Reply with quote Print

Gazz wrote:
...
I'm missing a few dear features I got used to in Reunion.
Now I have to manually order every Jumpdrive use and convenient commands like Jump to Me just don't exist.
...


You've not discovered the very useful auto jump feature yet then. Turn that on then use any other command you like and the ship will use it's jumpdrive.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Sandalpocalypse





Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 4021 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 03:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quote:

Now I have to manually order every Jumpdrive use and convenient commands like Jump to Me just don't exist

I think that if you use Jump to Position, it defaults to your location.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gazz





Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 12407 on topic
Location: Bavaria
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 04:21    Post subject: Re: [SCR] Jump! Reply with quote Print

moggy2 wrote:
You've not discovered the very useful auto jump feature yet then. Turn that on then use any other command you like and the ship will use it's jumpdrive.

I have seen the button but the feature doesn't always work.
(although I appreciate the idea)
Regardless of what I set the jumprange to, sometimes the ship just doesn't jump but flies to the destination.
And yes, I have tons of EC, nav software and all the bells and whistles.
*shrug*
My script just isn't as picky. =)

Anyway, it's not the only undocumented feature.
I couldn't find any info on it in the manual, readme, or changelog. Same with the patrol, supply, or carrier software.

I assume all these were last second additions but a few lines in the readme would have been nice.
Fleet supply is not a trivial item because there are many ways of doing it. Which ship flies where and how, where does it shop and at which prices, how does it get the equipment to which other ships if it does that at all, how do supply ships deal with it when their customers are currently in a fight...
*shrug*


Edit:
Forgot a library in the first upload. Sorry! =)


_________________
My complete script download page. . . . . . Xai-Corp MSCI List is scripter's friend. I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Elucca





Joined: 30 Oct 2007
Posts: 621 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

My TS that's serving my factory with best buy/sell has a jumpdrive, autojump set to minimum distance 0, plenty of e-cells and not once have i seen it jump.

I'll try this script, thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Coruskane





Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 796 on topic
Location: Under LV's Imperial Tasselled-Vintage-Leather Boot
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 19:52    Post subject: Re: [SCR] Jump! Reply with quote Print

nice, funny post as well Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pan0pticon





Joined: 05 May 2007



PostPosted: Mon, 27. Oct 08, 03:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

For reference, Gazz, I do not believe the Terran gates to be bugged. In fact, the only Terran jumpgate is the Asteroid Belt / Heretic's End gate. The rest are "Transorbital Accelerators". I do not know if ES will continue keeping them separate, but does it not make sense for the Terrans to keep people of out their more important sectors by making you traverse the less important, and as equally guarded, sectors?

P.S. I would also love to be able to jump into the Terran sectors. Rolling Eyes. With my very large and heavily armed fleet. Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lancefighter





Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 2936 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Oct 08, 04:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

My only problem with terran sectors is that they are all HUGE, and that their orbital stations are about 40km across, and eat up my fps for lunch... Then again, my computer fails anyway.


_________________
in the market for a new sig, willing to pay 1 billion credits for a proper sig...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20457 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Oct 08, 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Pan0pticon wrote:
For reference, Gazz, I do not believe the Terran gates to be bugged. In fact, the only Terran jumpgate is the Asteroid Belt / Heretic's End gate. The rest are "Transorbital Accelerators". I do not know if ES will continue keeping them separate, but does it not make sense for the Terrans to keep people of out their more important sectors by making you traverse the less important, and as equally guarded, sectors?

P.S. I would also love to be able to jump into the Terran sectors. Rolling Eyes. With my very large and heavily armed fleet. Very Happy


its defiantly not a bug as intended. Which is y there is a new find command [Find.JumpableGate] so you can tell what gates are supposed to be jumpable Wink


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
basicdeisgnroc





Joined: 12 Aug 2007



PostPosted: Wed, 12. Nov 08, 08:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

a spacefly cannot buzz with no air for the sound waves to pass through... Razz

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grossbaff





Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 154 on topic
Location: Nantes, France
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 14. Nov 08, 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks for the script Gazz, I think I'll give it a try since as already stated, the autojump in works, but the autojump out (back to my stations) doesn't work. Which results in stupid TS going through Xenon Sectors on their way back to home...

One - maybe stupid - question though : Does the jump you added for Best Buy / Sell commands include a refuel script ? If yes, in case a TS is selling E-Cells, does it keep enough E-Cells for jumping (maybe it does check parameters set for autojump ?).

Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gazz





Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 12407 on topic
Location: Bavaria
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Nov 08, 10:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

basicdeisgnroc wrote:
a spacefly cannot buzz with no air for the sound waves to pass through... :P

In my head I can hear it.
Did you know that the chatter of nebulae tastes blue?


Grossbaff wrote:
One - maybe stupid - question though : Does the jump you added for Best Buy / Sell commands include a refuel script ?

No. I surely would have said so.
I'm not Egosoft who included a lot of resupply features without documentation in any shape or form.
Not even a hint that they exist.


_________________
My complete script download page. . . . . . Xai-Corp MSCI List is scripter's friend. I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
supakillaii





Joined: 19 Nov 2007
Posts: 1216 on topic
Location: Turku, Finland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 16. Nov 08, 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quote:
As of TC version 1.2, all terran gates are still bugged which means that they can not be selected as a destination for any jump or fly through script (Explorer software).

The part where you can not select them for jump is not a bug.
But the part where Explorer software can't run through them is.


_________________
-Supa Killa the II
[LIST] X3TC Starting Points
Ham-Tek Inc. Providing Auto-Pilloks since God knows when!
The X Online FAQ!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irR4tiOn4L





Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 648 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 3. Sep 09, 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ever since I got stations I've had TS's serve my stations with autojump min distance 2 and resupply quantity at 60 jumps. My TS's ALWAYS jump, the only time one didn't was when my complex was out of Ecells and it couldn't reupply

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smacksim





Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 625 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 25. Oct 09, 04:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Anyone using this with 2.1 or 2.5?

The only other script I see that allows Terran jumping appears to be borked, and it'd be nice to actually use these sectors.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 23. Oct 17, 08:09

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.53468 seconds, sql queries = 29