[AL Plugin] TerraCorp v2.3 (UPDATED 20/02/2006)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

[AL Plugin] TerraCorp v2.3 (UPDATED 20/02/2006)

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 08:28

A new AL plugin
PLEASE UPDATE

From the readme:
AL plugin - TerraCorp v2.3

What this AL plugin does, is create new stations with freighters.
This is to create economic competition (and possibly more trade opportunities).

This plugin contains two AL plugins, one for TerraCorp and one for Race specific companies.
Each one works independent of each other.

The location of the stations is a random event, but the type of station can be either random or a calculated type e.g. fill holes in a sector economy .

Although TerraCorp is affiliated with Argon, the owner race is not Argon, but a completely separate race called "Race1", so your race notoriety will not affect your ability to trade with the stations.

The other race specific company stations is owned by one of the five races.

Please Note:
The building of stations is a slow process, so it might take some time before any new stations are seen.

To install:

Extract the files to the main X3 folder- Scripts -> Scripts and T -> T.

To stop:
As it is an AL Plugin, navigate to the game play options, choose the AL settings, and set the enable option to "No".

Enjoy!


Version History
V1.0 - Beta Release
v1.1 - Fixed so that it will work in custom univers
- It only build Silicon Mines - fixed
- Added other races' factories
V2.0 - Added some A.I. to choose the best type of station for the sector.
- Added race specific companies including Pirates.
- fixed small bug when creating mines
- Added BBS news articles to inform player of new stations.
V2.1 - Fixed some problems with stations not working.
v2.2 - Added check to see if position is safe to place stations.
v2.3 - Fixed problem with stations having too many ships.

NB - Included with v2.3 is a fix for the stations, unfortunatly the only fix is to destoy those stations.
Please do the following before you install v2.3:
1) Switch off both the AL plugins (AL settings are under gameplay options)
2) Make sure that none of your ships are docked at these stations as they will be destroyed as soon as you load a saved game.
3) save your game and exit
4) reload your saved game
5) switch on the AL plugins (if they are not yet)


Any suggestions for improvement are very welcome.

Download at:

AL_Terracorp_v2_3.zip

PS. the zip file contains the spk file that can be used with Cycrow's script installer

edit:

Thank you for all who made suggestions, and thanks to Burianek for explaining the BBS news system[/b]
Last edited by DeltaWolf on Wed, 6. Dec 06, 10:38, edited 20 times in total.

AalaarDB
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu, 29. Jan 04, 09:19

Post by AalaarDB » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 08:56

Won't work on custom universes. Try:

Code: Select all

$owner =Khaak
while $owner == Khaak
010   $xsec =  = random value from 0 to $xmax - 1
011   $ysec =  = random value from 0 to $ymax - 1
030   $sector = get sector from universe index: x=$xsec, y=$ysec
032   if $sector -> exists
$owner = $sector->get owner race
Did you forget an ore mine?

Oh and, don't stations need some starting money, or is that not necessary in X3?

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 09:00

You are right :oops:

I did not know you could get the sector owner race (will be fixed in next version)

ore mines are included :)

The stations are NPC stations, so you would not see the money. (I've tested the stations and their trading, They do trade with other stations.

AalaarDB
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu, 29. Jan 04, 09:19

Post by AalaarDB » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 09:23

I only see 1 mine type spawned, and that is silicon.

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 09:37

Crap - you are right again :oops:

Ok change this version to BETA release :D

bendyspex
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 04, 10:39

Post by bendyspex » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 09:58

Will the Terracorp ships trade with the Terracorp HQ, and will all the ships and stations have Terracorp in their name?
Sounds great, I'll try it out later.

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 10:08

It will trade with any station, that wants to buy their goods.
The AI also send ships to the new stations - in a test I've created a Cattle ranch and about 2 minutes later the AI send a freighter full of EC to it.

All the stations names will start with TerraCorp eg. "TerraCorp Cattle Ranch"
The freighers names will be "TerraCorp Transporter"

bendyspex
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 04, 10:39

Post by bendyspex » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 10:17

That sounds great deltawolf. Do the transporters re-spawn when shot, because if so this will fill in the hole in the economy that is beginning to appear in my game. This is more than a terracorp script, its an economy fix!

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 11:01

Yes the freighters do respawn at the station it was assigned to.
This is more than a terracorp script, its an economy fix!
This was the whole idea :D

AalaarDB
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu, 29. Jan 04, 09:19

Post by AalaarDB » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 11:27

How are you going to fix the economy without addressing the bofu industry, or the chelt meat industry, or anything race specific that doesn't include Argon? If I were you, I'd create just a few stations per race; just enough to have each ware as a primary or secondary resource. You can make it easy on yourself by fudging the added secondary resources if you want. Each race would have their own version of Terracorp.

I did something like this in a mod for X2. I made 2 crystal fabs and called them Intel, another was AMD, and so on and so forth. Back then it was for show, for flavor. There aren't many spare races so each race should be Race1, or preferably, each race should be its normal race. The number of stations can start out small, which seems to be the case anyways, and grow as you write more of the script and freetraders die, then decrease again as Egosoft makes a patch that fixes freetraders.

Edit:
Ok change this version to BETA release
Been there, done that. Don't be worried, you can screw up stuff so badly and people will still like your script if it does something.

DemaeRamen
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat, 6. Mar 04, 10:32

Post by DemaeRamen » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 14:59

Hello,

I'm getting the same trouble with this script as with the Warehouse Commands. The zip file is invalid or corrupt.

Could you send me this one too?


Thanks...
Always welcome! Cheap and filling!

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 15:06

I've send you the files via e-mail.

If they don't work, there is some other problem on your side.

bendyspex
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 04, 10:39

Post by bendyspex » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 18:17

Will it be possible to have this script set up other companies aswell. So rather than just Terracorp, have companies that specialise in mining, weapons and other things. This way all products could be made by some company somewhere. This would also add more competition in certain ares of the market, and it will make the universe more real.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20543
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26

Post by Cycrow » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 18:50

you might wanna intergrate it into the BBS
so you can display a news article when a new station is built

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4145
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 23:28

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Thu, 1. Dec 05, 20:10

Yes, I imagine that you could relatively easily a couple other corporations, and racial corporations as well. There's only 3 free Race IDs IIRC, so you can only have 3 independent corporations.

I would suggest at least one 'pirate' corporation.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”