Running X2 in background

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Tenoshii
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri, 17. Oct 03, 18:15
x2

Running X2 in background

Post by Tenoshii » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 18:45

Is there a way to keep X2 running w/o having to have the window active?

User avatar
vabtek
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Re: Running X2 in background

Post by vabtek » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 19:09

Tenoshii wrote:Is there a way to keep X2 running w/o having to have the window active?
there is no way since the OS running it is not multi threading... When you send a task in background it stops and wait to be relaunch... For X2 to run in background it would have to run as a service and it's not.

ScribbleJ
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri, 28. Nov 03, 08:53
x3

Post by ScribbleJ » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 19:23

There may be no way to run X2 in the background, I haven't tried it. But blaming this on the operating system is just silly.

Windows definately has the capability to run multiple tasks simultaneously. I have many other games which run just fine in the background.

Comet
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue, 29. Jul 03, 22:41

Post by Comet » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 19:49

most games that run in the background are multiplayer...basically they keep receiving information from the net...doesnt mean they are actually doing anything...theyre just receiving the info and keeping the connection alive...in multiplayer this is easier because the sort of multitasking is server related so to speak....but if a game really requires to be computing other info like trading and all ..it is a lot different....also the X2 benchmark could run in the background ..so i dont know

by the way...there are also plenty of games that in multiplayer they "run in the background" but in single player they dont....its just like a pause feature...

User avatar
Aro
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue, 15. Jul 03, 00:35
x4

Post by Aro » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 20:28

What would happen if you use X2 in window mode?

RunningWild
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon, 10. Nov 03, 16:38
x2

Post by RunningWild » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 20:34

The same. X2 doesn't run in background. It detects when it becomes inactive and pauses.

User avatar
Pinger
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu, 31. Jul 03, 11:19
x2

Post by Pinger » Tue, 2. Dec 03, 20:41

hmm suggestion for those long nights when you want to leave it running.

Requires 2 PC's though, have a PC just to run the game during the night then copy the saves over in the morning. That's what I'm thinking of for my old box as it isn't as noisey or use as much electricity.

nephilim666
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon, 1. Dec 03, 21:30

um... no

Post by nephilim666 » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 00:33

you know it's scary when people present incorrect information with such authority.

XP is indeed multitasking. When you alt tab away from a game most continue to run. Additionally MMORPG clients' ability to multitask has nothing to do with the server.. at all.. by any stretch of the imagination.

The OS you may be thinking of is windows 3.1, as that's the last OS I can remember using that behaves in the manner the 'experts' above are suggesting.

presenting a guess or a muttering as fact is irresponsible.

User avatar
vabtek
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Post by vabtek » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 10:05

scribble wrote:There may be no way to run X2 in the background, I haven't tried it. But blaming this on the operating system is just silly.

Windows definately has the capability to run multiple tasks simultaneously. I have many other games which run just fine in the background.

You said it, you have not tried it... I had.. :roll: And I never *Blamed* the operating system I happend to understand how it's working... I didn't said that it wasn't multi-tasks... I said it was not multi-threads... And there is a fondamental diffenrence between the 2...

User avatar
vabtek
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Re: um... no

Post by vabtek » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 11:13

nephilim666 wrote:you know it's scary when people present incorrect information with such authority.

XP is indeed multitasking. When you alt tab away from a game most continue to run. Additionally MMORPG clients' ability to multitask has nothing to do with the server.. at all.. by any stretch of the imagination.

The OS you may be thinking of is windows 3.1, as that's the last OS I can remember using that behaves in the manner the 'experts' above are suggesting.

presenting a guess or a muttering as fact is irresponsible.

lol, I'm running the game on a server 2003 and had to change some configuration in the application pool of IIS 6 and memory managment configuration of SQL so that everything could work smoothly whyle i'm in the game and it is running like a charm. So I can confirm that X2 is stable anough to run on a last version server without interfering with normal operation (nothing showed up in event viewer cause by X2) and switching with ALT-TAB as if it was Iexplorer windows... Of the 1G of ram, 182 M used by X2, about 50 for SQL and 3 IIS process that max out to 45M each and drops to 6.5M when recycled... So I understand what is going on deep in the OS... Multitasking just means that any application can be open and running and have the token to use the processor time by small bloc of time then passing it to the other process who is using is little bit of time and pass the token to the next and so on... But only one at a time is using the CPU making it NOT Multi-threading... You think that more than one process is working at the same time bu they dont... I've seen many peoples confusing the concepts of multi-tasking vs multi-threading not clearly understanding what's happening... And for X2 to run as if it was in front, not in background. It would need a plattform ( the OS) capable of multi-threading ... (pay attention to the word used, it's not the same) In microsoft OS's, to get an application to continue running in parralel to others and stay active must be running as a service. If not, the application is just push aside to sleep until active again... Open your task manager and watch the X2 process whyle you send it in background... CPU time... a big nice 0 and it wont access it until you switch it back in the front... check the bar graph when you ALT-TAB and you will se the line on top whyle you were in game and drop completly when on the desktop... :!: X2 could have been code to switch off 3d rendering and still running basic core logic of the game as a service like economy for example for what is ask in this thread to work... But it's not... and most of the applications dont, games and others have the same behavior except those running as a service that are design to run in this way like SQL for exemple... And if it was, no one of us would be playing it right now and X2 would still be in devlopment cause it's more things to consider and take care of in programming, another layer to add to manage interaction with other services, priority, memory managment and so on...

If all this is just about a fast way to make credits... just access the memory address holding the value... It takes less than a minute to do so. I've done it to satisfy my curiosity about the ships and bought them all to get a test ride cause they are no stats info available when you're in a shipyard and buying them blind :( .... And at theire price range... It's a bit frustrating when you saved big credits for a ship and it turn out to be not as you expected... But doing it is very bad for the gameplay and spoils it... So after that, I reverted to were I was on the credit side and now I know for what I'm saving the credits for... A nice Argon TL... Fast, Big cargo space, holds 15 ships up to dolphins L and nova L... For exemple, I've put 5 Nova's, 2 Dolphins, 1 solar plant, 1 sillicon and one ore plant. Had 2k energy for the jumpdrive, couple of adv satellites, many weapon types in it and still had about half of free space of cargo... So the Argon TL will certainly be my first best utility ship way before carriers and destroyers...

FLY135
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 20:39
x2

Post by FLY135 » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 20:56

But only one at a time is using the CPU making it NOT Multi-threading... You think that more than one process is working at the same time bu they dont... I've seen many peoples confusing the concepts of multi-tasking vs multi-threading not clearly...
Translation.... "I don't know WTF I'm talking about and now I'm trying to save face".

Sorry but you are confusing "multithreading" with "multiprocessers". And you can have multiple processors with Win2K and XP Pro. But that is entirely irrelevant to the initial question. It does not take multiple processors to have multiple processes operating at the same time. Granted, they are not all processing at the exact same instance in time. But that is transparent to the user.

XP is capable of multitasking, multithreading, and multiprocessing. So in effect your statement that the OS is a limiting factor is entirely wrong. Also a process does not have to be a service to be operational when it isn't in the foreground. The foreground is simply a user interface issue.

Parias
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by Parias » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 21:58

Okay, before this debate gets any more complicated and long-winded, I'm going to derail it slightly with a question. When running the game in windowed mode (which I do on occasion so I can keep an eye on these forums and other elements a little easier while playing), I find that I'm completely unable to reposition the game window to a different location. Clicking on the titlebar for the window and dragging, which should normally allow me to reposition it anywhere I please (it's a little awkward having it focused in the upper area of my screen) just brings the game itself back to focus. Any kind of solution to this? Much as I try, I just can't find any other way to reposition the window.

Nothing so serious that I can't live with it, I just though I'd bring I'd it up. Seems like a bit of an odd problem, since most other windowed-mode-supporting games allow for this.

Beef
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon, 1. Dec 03, 02:49

Post by Beef » Wed, 3. Dec 03, 22:17

X2 blocks your mouse and keyboard, I have the same problem.
That can be very irritating, when the game crashes, I cant click or ctrl+e to close the X2 task, making reboot the only option.

I just tried running the game in windowed mode, it doesn't run at all, doesn't even redraw when the window isn't active.
The whole issue of 'does it run in the background' is purely programming specific. X2 checks if it's focussed to run.
Multiplayer games traditionally keep running because the packages the server sends have to be processed. But the programmer can simply put a little conditional and make the program block when it's unactive, losing your connection.

good idea for next patch: keep running X2 even when the window is unactive!

User avatar
vabtek
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Post by vabtek » Thu, 4. Dec 03, 00:42

[quote="FLY135
Translation.... "I don't know WTF I'm talking about and now I'm trying to save face".

Sorry but you are confusing "multithreading" with "multiprocessers". And you can have multiple processors with Win2K and XP Pro. But that is entirely irrelevant to the initial question. It does not take multiple processors to have multiple processes operating at the same time. Granted, they are not all processing at the exact same instance in time. But that is transparent to the user.

XP is capable of multitasking, multithreading, and multiprocessing. So in effect your statement that the OS is a limiting factor is entirely wrong. Also a process does not have to be a service to be operational when it isn't in the foreground. The foreground is simply a user interface issue.[/quote]

Of course not that it doesn't take multi processors to run multiple process in memory... Where did you get that's what i'm saying?... you may have 20 process in background it does not mean that they are "working" as if they where in forground... Try it, start X2 in 640*480 window mode and switch it to background and it completly stops... CPU drops to zero. Of course it still in memory but it's doing nothing. You may wait 2 days like this and it wont change anything. I may not explaining it very well but rest assure i'm not confusing hardware with software issues... :wink:

ScribbleJ
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri, 28. Nov 03, 08:53
x3

Post by ScribbleJ » Thu, 4. Dec 03, 02:33

I never believed what people say about Canadians, but vabtek is a rather convincing argument.

I can't beleive this has turned intoa debate, when I summed it up perfectly in my first post:

Blaming this on the operating system is just silly.

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”