doubleshadow's X3 Editor (0.15 - patch 2.0 compatible)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4435
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 01:56

deamoclese99 wrote:I have a question about editing the thsips file... I modified all the novas in the file so they all had 800 cargo space and so they could all carry BPAC in the front gun.... but when I load my game up, they dont have any of the modified attributes I applied to the various novas.

After editing tships and saving it, is there something else I have to do to activate the modifications?
you may have to start a new game.

AdmiralTigerclaw
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon, 27. Dec 04, 12:49
x4

Post by AdmiralTigerclaw » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 02:23

Old novas retain saved values. He'll have to get new ones...

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14
x3

Post by doubleshadow » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 10:21

Galaxy613 wrote:Yes, there is something slightly wrong with your formula, because the Boron Shark's max speed is NOT 200m/s! Try this:

Code: Select all

Default Speed= ((speedvalue) / 5  = base) * 0.10)
Max Speed= (base * tunings = max)
In fact my formula is the correct one while all others are wrong :lol:

Really :P - I just had the speed modifier wrong - it's different from X2

Code: Select all

SPEED_MODIFIER = 500
TUNNING_MODIFIER = 10
minSpeed = ship_speed_value / SPEED_MODIFIER
maxSpeed = (minSpeed / TUNNING_MODIFIER) * ship_tunning_count

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14
x3

Post by doubleshadow » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 10:24

Galaxy613 wrote:There IS something wrong with the Galaxy Editor! Take a look at this pic. In the lower left you see the list of objects that SHOULD be in that sector... then look at the in-game list. It's all Mammoths!!
:? :? :?
Why do you complain? You have an armada of Mammoths :lol:

I will look at it :D

Xenon_Slayer
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 11464
Joined: Sat, 9. Nov 02, 12:45
x4

Post by Xenon_Slayer » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 12:05

Seems like thats the same kind of problem I have. Have fun testing that :)
Come watch me on Twitch where I occasionally play several of the X games

User avatar
Burianek
Posts: 2928
Joined: Mon, 29. Dec 03, 04:29
x3tc

Post by Burianek » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 02:57

doubleshadow wrote:
X3 - SS_WARE_ENERGY - Energy Cells - last 9 values

Code: Select all

1 - volume
4 - price
25 - price modifier (1)
10 - price modifier (2)
1 - ware class
4 - price again?
-100 - min notoriety
1016 - ?
0 - ?
Ok, here goes: (in order, and I'll do my best to explain each)

1 - volume: this is the volume of the ware, self explanatory

4 - relvalue: everyone calls this price, but it isn't price, not really. What relvalue means is the amount of time it takes, in seconds, to consume or produce one of these units in production. So in this example we have a relvalue of 4. This means that every 4 seconds, one energy unit is consumed. Or, 15 energy are consumed every minute. You can see in the game that this is the case. Now price is a dependent function of relvalue. For energy, average price = 4 * relvalue, or 16. This multiplication factor changes for different ware classes (bio, food, tech, etc.) But in all cases, price is a function of relvalue, so I can see why people have been calling this price. Note that if you change this value, you do NOT only change the price, you also change the rate at which the given ware is consumed / produced. If I were you, I'd start calling this value relvalue. Price is not the correct label.

25 - price variation as a primary resource: this number is a percentage. It sets the size of the range that the price of the ware can vary within. 25% means that the price of energy can vary between a low of (100% - 25%) * avg price of 16, and a high of (100% + 25%) * avg price of 16.
So the boundaries of energy price are 12 to 20.
If this number was 50%, the range would be from 8 to 24. Make sense?
Ok, the first price modifier is used when a ware is the product of a factory or the primary resource. These numbers are always higher than the next number ...

10 - price variation as a secondary resource: same as above, but these numbers are used when the ware is a secondary resource. Example: crystals at a npc solar power plant. This range is generally tighter than that of primary resource ranges.

1 - ware class: you'll also see this refered to as TK in the database. This is the size of the ware, and is used to determine if certain ship classes can carry the ware.
  • 0 - ship upgrade
    1 - small
    2 - medium
    3 - large
    4 - xtra large
    5 - station container
4 - player production relvalue: ok this is the one you're calling price again. X3 has made a significant step up in complexity over X2 in terms of production cycle data and profitability of factories. This value is used for the relvalue of a ware when the ware is the product of a player owned factory. By setting player values independently of npc ones, we can make meaningful adjustments to factory profit. That might not make sense, so let me run through an example:
Let's use a microchip plant as an easy example:
if you dig through the types files, you'll find the following parameters:
relvalue: 480, player production relvalue: 360
Here's what they mean. Price is based of off relvalue alone, so the price of the microchips is set by looking at the 480 number. Microchips are calculated to have an average price of around 13,476. For an NPC factory, one microchip is made every 480 seconds (from the relvalue), or every 8 minutes. It takes a certain amount of wares to produce one chip based on this time of 8 minutes.
Now, for the player factory, since microchips are the product, the player production relvalue is used when setting up the production cycle data. The value of 360 is used for the relvalue, and the cycle time is therefore 360 seconds, or 6 minutes. Player factories make chips faster than NPC ones. They also consume fewer wares since the rate of consumption of wares is set by the resource relvalues, and the chip takes a shorter time to produce. So player factories are more profitable than NPC ones.
Having this extra degree of flexibility in terms of the player production relvalue parameter is what allowed us to make certain that:
NO TWO FACTORIES IN X3 HAVE THE SAME PROFIT CHARACTERISTICS
That's a powerful statement, considering that all high end factories in X2 were for all intents and purposes, identical. All of that might not make much sense if you havent' dived into the economics of the game, but I think I've explained what the parameter does. You'll find the player production value to be different than the regular relvalues for most factories where the product wares are not used as primary resources to any other factory (example high tech). I'll spare you the gory details of why that is so. If you have difficulty with the concept above, just ask me, and I'll talk your ear off. :) Obviously, for wares like ships and such that are not produced by the player, this value is irrelevant, and is usually just set equal to relvalue.

-100 - min notoriety: this is the minimum race relation the player must have with the seller race to be able to purchase the ware. 0 is neutral, and I believe the rank names change at 33, 100, 333, 1000, 3333, 10000, etc. (and -33, -100 ...) More confidential and powerful wares take a higher race rank to purchase.

1016 - video ID: this determines the graphic that plays in your upper right hand monitor when you're in a station menu. I think a 0 value plays that little question mark thingie.

0 - ? I don't know, I'm sorry. Have you ever encountered a non zero value for this parameter? That might help me narrow it down.

Hope this helps.
"Nature's first green is gold" . . . stay golden.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6971
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 03:19

Doubleshadow just curious when you are going to change the speed equation in the editor or did you already?

User avatar
Bubba Fat
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat, 8. May 04, 22:29
x3

Post by Bubba Fat » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 06:20

DoubleShadow, your editor is awesome! I don't know nuthin' bout this stuff, and I've already been able to do some cool things with your editor. But, there are some things I'd like to know. I couldn't find them in the help file. I want to delete, or change, some turrets on a ship, and add some new guns to the front. I was able to equip front guns on the ship, but they won't fire. Also, I don't know how to change or add a physical gun model to the front. The ship is that Argon Military Transport. There's a couple other parts on the ship that I'd like to delete too. I know your program isn't a 3D modeling program, but the parts I want to delete aren't a part of the actualy ship model. They're like some weird looking turrets that don't do anything, or something. I'm going to keep trying some things and see if I can get it right. I don't know what changing certain numbers will do. If you can help me out, or let me know if I'm on a wild goose chase, I'd appreciate it. :mrgreen:

OCASPAWN
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue, 22. Nov 05, 11:51
x3

Post by OCASPAWN » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 08:48

Hi I’m new to editing IV been playing with your galaxy editor! I find when I create a new sector in a blank spot eg: x=0 y=10 it creates the sector ok but the name of it is [string300007:1021101] how can I give it a name? eg: My Sector. Sorry if it's a noob question or has been ansured b4 some place.

Lazerath
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue, 22. Mar 05, 07:31
x4

Post by Lazerath » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 09:07

Sandalpocalypse wrote:
deamoclese99 wrote:I have a question about editing the thsips file... I modified all the novas in the file so they all had 800 cargo space and so they could all carry BPAC in the front gun.... but when I load my game up, they dont have any of the modified attributes I applied to the various novas.

After editing tships and saving it, is there something else I have to do to activate the modifications?
you may have to start a new game.
I am having the same problem...

I started a new game. Spawned it.. and no luck. I changed all the m6 Truelight seekers to be the same and none of the changes took effect.

Which I find strange. So I deleted my saved games even.. still..no luck.

Here is what I did.

1. Opened editor.
2. Edited goner m6.
3. Gave it 2500mw power generator
4. Gave it 4 shields
5. 125mj shields
6. Saved Tships file again (replaced existing one).

Closed down the editor
Fired up the game
Started a new game (assassin)
Used the cheat menu to create a truelight seeker m6 for my character.
checked stats.
They were unchanged. :(

Any ideas?
COMPUTER SPECS
[Mobo] SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
[CPU] AMD FX-9370 8 Cores 4.4 - 4.7GHZ 16MB DDR3-1866
[Cooling] Corsair Hydro Series H80I CPU Cooler System
[Video] Evga 970 GTX SC 3.5Gb Ram ==> [Ram] G-Skills Ripjaws X 16GB
[Harddrive] (2) x Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
[Harddrive] Samsung 840 Series 120GB SSD ==> [Harddrive] WD BLACK 1TB 64MB 7200RPM
[Disc Player] LG 14X BLU-RAY BURNER ==> [Case] Thermaltake A71 Chaser [Windows 7 Pro]

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14
x3

Post by doubleshadow » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 09:45

BlackRain wrote:Doubleshadow just curious when you are going to change the speed equation in the editor or did you already?
Yes I did - in my sources. No new version was released. I'm waiting to gather more informations before I will release new version. The above post from Burianek is a good example :D
Bubba Fat wrote:I want to delete, or change, some turrets on a ship, and add some new guns to the front. I was able to equip front guns on the ship, but they won't fire.
Ehh... this is a bit problematic to explain - mainly with my english (and 'cos I'm lazy). The most important thing about turret and wepons modifications is that all the these informations are connected with the ship scene file.

Look at this post: How Turret and Gun data are conneted to ship scene

And try to look at X2 modding stickies. Can't easilly tell you more as this is the most advanced modding (well after the .obj hacking...). You will have to wait some time untill someone will release X3 modding tutorials (Deadly, Harlock - what do you think :P )
Also, I don't know how to change or add a physical gun model to the front.
Again - you have to change the ship scene file.
OCASPAWN wrote:I find when I create a new sector in a blank spot eg: x=0 y=10 it creates the sector ok but the name of it is [string300007:1021101] how can I give it a name?
Look at value sector - string ID Then you will have to add new string to the resource XML file. (I believe this is in the help)

Again this is somewhat difficult: In all cases you will have to add new entry in page ID 7 or 300007 with Text ID equal to the value found in X3E.

You can make copy of the 440001.xml, add the string and put it in your mod or you can make new xml file called for example 440123.xml and add only the single string you want. In that case you will also have to create an init script (with script editor) which will load such custom xml resource file. I'm not 100% that this approach work with custom sector names but that's what is used by script developers.

OCASPAWN
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue, 22. Nov 05, 11:51
x3

Post by OCASPAWN » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 12:05

cool it works though there is no sound file to play for the gate/sector enter but that dont seem to cause any probs at mo.

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14
x3

Post by doubleshadow » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 12:42

doubleshadow wrote:
Galaxy613 wrote:There IS something wrong with the Galaxy Editor! Take a look at this pic. In the lower left you see the list of objects that SHOULD be in that sector... then look at the in-game list. It's all Mammoths!!
:? :? :?
Why do you complain? You have an armada of Mammoths :lol:

I will look at it :D
Ok, the problem is that X3 requires the attributes type (t) and subtype (s) to be in the xml as the first attributes in this order. X3E doesn't quarantee order of attributes. In this particular case the "t" and "s" are the first but they are swapped -> s, t

I've fixed that and it looks ok so far, but you will have to wait for new version.

Galaxy613
Posts: 2518
Joined: Tue, 28. Dec 04, 03:19
x4

Post by Galaxy613 » Thu, 24. Nov 05, 16:37

doubleshadow wrote:
doubleshadow wrote:
Galaxy613 wrote:There IS something wrong with the Galaxy Editor! Take a look at this pic. In the lower left you see the list of objects that SHOULD be in that sector... then look at the in-game list. It's all Mammoths!!
:? :? :?
Why do you complain? You have an armada of Mammoths :lol:

I will look at it :D
Ok, the problem is that X3 requires the attributes type (t) and subtype (s) to be in the xml as the first attributes in this order. X3E doesn't quarantee order of attributes. In this particular case the "t" and "s" are the first but they are swapped -> s, t

I've fixed that and it looks ok so far, but you will have to wait for new version.
np. :)
10,000 Lightyears of awesomeness

User avatar
Bubba Fat
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat, 8. May 04, 22:29
x3

Post by Bubba Fat » Fri, 25. Nov 05, 01:03

Look what I found using DoubleShadow's editor.

http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=105266

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”