[SCR][AP] Missile monitor - protect NPC stations from your missiles

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
kurush
Posts: 3955
Joined: Mon, 7. Nov 05, 00:53
x3tc

[SCR][AP] Missile monitor - protect NPC stations from your missiles

Post by kurush » Fri, 25. May 12, 05:03

Ever got frustrated when "The telladi company" sent you an angry message and/or angry fighters while you were trying to clear their sector of Xenons in M7M? Here is the solution - Missile Monitor.

This script monitors player missiles and destroys them if they get close to any station in the current sector. The "safe" zone depends on the factory and is calculated as the factory size + 2km. Missile Monitor can be activated or deactivated by either a hotkey or a secondary ship command.

To install unzip the file into your AP addon folder and make sure the script editor is activated. It might work with TC but I haven't tested it.

Image

The script has two activation options
  • Hotkey, controlled by the kr.killmissiles.hotkey.xml script
  • Secondary ship command, controlled by the kr.killmissiles.command.xml script
To use only one of these options you can delete the script file responsible for the other. This will allow to either save a command slot or avoid triggering the hotkey bug.
To uninstall remove all script files except setup.plugin.killmissiles.xml and load your game. The setup script will detect a missing script file for the hotkey and un-register the hotkey. After this save the game and delete setup.plugin.killmissiles.xml.

Changes in version 1.1 of 05/30/2012
  • Added a secondary ship command that that can toggle the missile monitor as a workaround for the hotkey bug.
  • The script no longer uses the hotkey manager that is broken anyway.
  • The safety zone was adjusted based on the factory size. Now it is being calculated as <factory size> + 2km.
  • The toggle ware was renamed to "Missile Monitor".

RustInPieces
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 09:22
x4

Post by RustInPieces » Fri, 24. Aug 12, 17:02

This is great.

However, I saw this in Exscriptor. I think it is a conflict with Cycrow's cheat menu http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php? ... sc&start=0


Ware with ID '4833' already exists as Camouflage Device. It will be replaced with: Missile monitor from 8666-L044.xml
- Ware with ID '4834' already exists as This is a specialised device originally developed for spy missions by the Paranid, the technology behind the device is unknown. It renders the ship invisible to gravidar and to sight. Because of its dangerous nature it is now considered highly illegal in most sectors as there are fears that if the device falls into either Pirate or Xenon hands, any of the sentient races would be at risk to attack. Although there are rumours that each race military has a covert operations squadron equipped these devices.. It will be replaced with: Missile monitor was developed by Boron in response to several friendly fire incidents when a Boron Military Outpost in Faded Dreams was nearly destroyed by a Kraken captain. from 8666-L044.xml

kurush
Posts: 3955
Joined: Mon, 7. Nov 05, 00:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Fri, 24. Aug 12, 18:28

The camouflage device isn't really used anywhere as far as I know. I just renamed it in the text file, so there is no conflict. It is even stil voiced as "camouflage device" if you try to transfer it to another ship :)

RustInPieces
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 09:22
x4

Post by RustInPieces » Sat, 25. Aug 12, 15:35

cool.

I was spamming wasp missiles at a bunch of N's near a station, several missiles detonated and none hit the station :)

User avatar
korrmuraan
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun, 26. Dec 10, 10:28
x3tc

Post by korrmuraan » Mon, 1. Oct 12, 01:43

Anyone get this working in TC?

I've it installed but don't see any assignable hotkey or new menu options anywhere. Is it just "on"?

...actually I'm parked outside a wheat farm... brb muahahaha

User avatar
korrmuraan
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun, 26. Dec 10, 10:28
x3tc

Post by korrmuraan » Mon, 1. Oct 12, 01:46

nope, definitely not working lol

RustInPieces
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 09:22
x4

Post by RustInPieces » Mon, 1. Oct 12, 02:00

It's in slot 2 of Additional Commands in command console.

User avatar
korrmuraan
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun, 26. Dec 10, 10:28
x3tc

Post by korrmuraan » Mon, 1. Oct 12, 02:23

RustInPieces wrote:It's in slot 2 of Additional Commands in command console.
Thanks!

Tested and working :D

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”