[MOD] Player HQ Hack

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

[MOD] Player HQ Hack

Post by Graxster » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 10:01

This was requested by someone....I forget who. This mod makes the player HQ require NO resources to build ships. It also greatly reduces reverse engineering and build times. Here are a few examples:

Buster: 15 seconds
Vulture Super Freighter: 60 seconds
Hercules: 6 minutes 20 seconds
Hyperion Vanguard: 13 minutes
Colossus: 35 minutes

The hack also had a weird side effect of causing the HQ to produce random resources, lol. You can always just leave them, or sell them if you want to cheat even more. :D

Enjoy!

-Grax

Image

wolfmanjack321
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed, 30. Apr 08, 02:56
x3

Post by wolfmanjack321 » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 10:47

Hehe i was looking into hacking the Player HQ mysefl.


How about adding one little change.. Up the Player HQ storage amount.

Maybe you could throw that in there ?

jimhsu77479
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun, 25. Nov 07, 23:39

Post by jimhsu77479 » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 11:03

Wow, I didn't know hacking the thing was so easy. An XML file...

Storage can be changed by changing line 5 e.g.

<upgrade index="0" typename="SS_DOCK_P_HQ" storage="500000000">

Setting factor value="0" instead of factor value="-1" seems to fix negative resource problems. I'm playing with a version that has Nividium as the only resource as a role-playing scenario.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 14:38

First thing I chagne is the storage on it. I think I'm at 15,000,000. That's more than enough.

If not, you can buy more of them at Argon Shipyards for 194M cr (simple plugin I made).

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 19:46

jimhsu77479 wrote:Setting factor value="0" instead of factor value="-1" seems to fix negative resource problems.
Setting Factor Value to 0 will prevent the HQ from making ships without the need for resources. You can't build anything that way. In my testing I tried 0 first, since this seemed like the obvious answer. The "negative resource problems" aren't really a problem. Use the HQ with factor -1 and you'll see what I mean. Initially (for about 10 seconds) it displays negative resources when you try to build something, then it corrects itself. You may have a separate listing of negative resources at the very bottom, but you can ignore that.

Also, don't bother trying to recycle something, as it gives you no resources. And if you do, you'll notice that instead of saying "Recycle Time" it says "Reverse Engineering Time" - that's an Egosoft typo, not mine. :D

-G

jimhsu77479
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun, 25. Nov 07, 23:39

Post by jimhsu77479 » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 20:31

One thing to try:

Try setting factor value=0 for everything except for one resource which is factor value=-1. That might clean up the list of resources a bit.

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 21:02

If you want to play with the values, here's a bit of info for you: You'll see some very large numbers after the ship classes (M3, M4, etc). The larger you make those numbers, the quicker HQ will reverse engineer/build ships. Make them smaller and it takes longer. I adjusted these to what seemed a reasonable cheat, 15 seconds for a buster and 35 minutes for an M1, but if you're really impatient, or think it should take longer, you can adjust them to your personal taste.

-G

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 21:11

It's pretty simple really:

Double the number, halve the time. Quadruple the number, quarter the time, etc, etc.


When I was testing, it was spitting out LXs about every 4 seconds.

The fun of testing. ;)

1Prophecy
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue, 8. Aug 06, 02:51
x3tc

Post by 1Prophecy » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 23:00

Could you add a version with updated (increased) storage for those of us junior to X3TC modding? :)

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Mon, 27. Oct 08, 23:23

Done. Storage changed from 500k to 25 million. Enjoy!

-G

1Prophecy
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue, 8. Aug 06, 02:51
x3tc

Post by 1Prophecy » Tue, 28. Oct 08, 01:41

Much appreciated, that will be plenty. :lol:

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6069
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Tue, 28. Oct 08, 15:20

what do I change so that it requires money? I want it to cost money but not require resources

maybe this? How does the factor value work?

<resource typename="SS_WARE_CREDITS">
<factor value="0" primary="0"/>

User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 815
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Tue, 28. Oct 08, 17:13

<resource typename="SS_WARE_CREDITS">
<factor value="1" primary="1"/>

Change both those zeros o ones. Or factor value 2. Didn't play with that, so don't know if that will double it or halve it.

-G

Dreamwind99
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon, 20. Oct 08, 10:45
x3tc

Post by Dreamwind99 » Tue, 28. Oct 08, 19:09

Any chance of posting a version that just ups the storage limit to 25mil?

For those that want to build their fleet with the HQ without the overflow probs.

1Prophecy
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue, 8. Aug 06, 02:51
x3tc

Post by 1Prophecy » Tue, 28. Oct 08, 22:02

Unless I missed something, that's the version currently posted, Dreamwind. :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”