EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT] Weapon Switcher
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 01:25    Post subject: [SCRIPT] Weapon Switcher Reply with quote Print

Script: Weapon Switcher
Version: X3TC 1.0
Download: http://www.xai-corp.net/en/projects/xaicorp/x3tc/weaponswitcher

The NPC's use advanced weapon switching in the turrets of their large ships (M6 and bigger). This script assigns the same scripts that the NPC shps use to the commands for player ships.

Turrets on M3 fighters and TS transports do not perform weapon switching, for NPC's or player ships.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
homerdog





Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 89 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 01:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

How is the switching handled? Like which guns attack what targets?

Thanks for the script. I'll need it when I get my M2 Smile .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 02:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

homerdog wrote:
How is the switching handled? ....


Quite honestly. I don't have a clue. Standard AI ships will switch to using weapons appropriate for the target, if they have any alternatives in the cargobay.

All this script does is link those scripts to the player's turret commands.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
s9ilent





Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 2009 on topic
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9-Plural Z alpha +10 GMT
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 24. Oct 08, 01:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It uses this command: (In X3R)

033 ||[THIS] -> select and switch lasers for target null in turret $turretid: scan for friends $friendly

Although... that command doesn't actually exist sooo... none can really say. But I'd assume it switches between splash and non-splash weapons

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
aXeL_UK





Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 25. Oct 08, 11:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

moggy2

There appear to be two versions of the file. Should I use both or does one supercede the other?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoob





Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 5434 on topic
Location: Oxford, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 25. Oct 08, 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi moggy2,

I've tried this but it doesn't appear to be working for me.

I downloaded BOTH files (WeaponSwitcher-X3TC-1.0.zip and WeaponSwitcherFix-X3.0.1.zip) from that URL and overwrote the original version with the 'fix' version. I copy the script (setup.weapon.switcher.xml) to my scripts folder & load the game.

I stopped & started the turret commands on my Elephant just to make sure - it's loaded with loads of different weapons as it's my Storehouse.

I came across a Kh'aak Cluster & engaged to see how the Laser swapping worked. Nothing happened, my turrets kept the loadout I'd allocated them.

Observation: while the script it copied to my scripts folder I cannot see it in the script editor, nor is it reported as running. I thought I might have to run it manually once for it to start doing it's thing.

I've probabaly missed something simple here but any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Scoob.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra-r





Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3035 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Oct 08, 15:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the automatic turret switching never worked on TL's just M6 and beyond (excluding TL's like I said).

---

Thanks moggy! this is a must have script, will install it after next patch!


_________________
Ideas: * Revamp Miner Profession
X3 mods: Shielding Upgrade *Pirate Patrols,Khaa'k Invasions
Creative: Nula The Xenon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoob





Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 5434 on topic
Location: Oxford, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Oct 08, 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi ezra-r,

Thanks for the info re: TL.

I've also got an M6 (Skiron) and that too refuses to perform any sort of weapon switching. I have numerous lasers on board however it just stick with whatever I've installed manually.

Cheers,

Scoob.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Oct 08, 01:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Scoob wrote:
Hi ezra-r,

Thanks for the info re: TL.

I've also got an M6 (Skiron) and that too refuses to perform any sort of weapon switching. I have numerous lasers on board however it just stick with whatever I've installed manually.

Cheers,

Scoob.



The two versions of the script are for X3 and X3TC. I thought it might have been obvious from the filenames.
I think you've got the X3 script installed, judging by what you said in the previous post. Download and install the one with X3TC in the filename.

I've added comments to the download page to make things a bit clearer. Sorry for the confusion.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ezra-r





Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3035 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 28. Oct 08, 10:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Working good so far! Tried it in a Heavy Nemesis.

Just so anyone know, it wont use area of effect weapons unless its the only weapon available, like npc's.. so it wont use those nifty flamethrowers.


_________________
Ideas: * Revamp Miner Profession
X3 mods: Shielding Upgrade *Pirate Patrols,Khaa'k Invasions
Creative: Nula The Xenon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Tue, 12. Dec 17, 04:51

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.07086 seconds, sql queries = 24