[X3:R] Comprehensive Saitek X52 (not pro) profile for X3 (work in progress)

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
Mergelsberg
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed, 27. Feb 08, 06:05
x3tc

[X3:R] Comprehensive Saitek X52 (not pro) profile for X3 (work in progress)

Post by Mergelsberg » Fri, 21. Mar 08, 08:44

First off I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this, if it isn't I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Right, to business.
I've been working on a good comprehensive profile for the X52 joystick for use with X3. Right now I'm on my third revision and feeling bold enough to put it online and ask fellow players for their opinion.
I've tried to put in as many useful functions as possible and sort them in Trade/Explore/Combat modes. The whole profile comes with labelled commands, modes and shift-states.

The profile is made in the SD6 version of the programming software. I took SD6 over SD5 because it offers much more flexibility in programming, if you don't have it yet, it's on the Saitek page in the Downloads section.

Speaking of download sections and more getting down to business, the profile and a PDF with the command listing are here:
http://www.krelekamp.net/p/x3/X3-3.rar -- The profile
http://www.krelekamp.net/p/x3/SST%20Profile_%20X3-3.pdf -- The command list.

Some explanation is due here, I suppose.
I set up the 3 modes as inspired on the Star Trek alarm colours.

Green (Mode 1) is Trade Mode.
In Trade Mode all weapons are effectively OFFLINE. The Trigger is bound to Enter and Escape when pinkie-shifted, the Fire button is bound to Open/Close Freight Bay Doors.
Trade Mode is the only mode in which the Best Buy and Best Selling locators are directly available, as well as the Enter and Escape keys. When browsing through targets, Trade mode will browse through Property and Objects. The Property Management screen is also directly available.
In general Trade mode is meant for trading and menu use.

Yellow (Mode 2) is Explore Mode.
In Explore Mode all weapons are available. The first stage of the Trigger will fire a single shot, even if you do not release it. The second stage of the Trigger fires at full auto until released. Pinkie-shift and the first stage of the Trigger will fire a 3 shot burst.
The Fire button now launches missiles; Best Sell Locator is replaced with Missile Select and Best Buy with the Ecliptic Projector. The Property Management Screen is still directly available.
Browsing through targets browses through Objects and Enemies, rather than Property.
Explore Mode is intended for general use when roaming about and puts roughly equal emphasis on combat as on trade commands.

Red (Mode 3) is Combat Mode.
Combat mode forgoes nearly all Trading commands in favour of Combat commands.
The first stage on the trigger defaults to a 3 shot burst (single shot through Pinkie-shift) the second stage remains full auto.
The Property Management Screen is exchanged for Target Nearest Enemy in this mode.
Browsing through Targets is exclusive to Property and Enemies, neutral targets are essentially ignored.

That leaves the commands that are available in ALL modes:
-SETA
-Command Console
-Jumpdrive
-Drone and Wingmen Attack and Protect
-Boost Extension
-Autopilot
-Strafing
-Universe and Sector maps
-Pilot Eject
-Weapon Group selection
-Mouse cursor movement and left mouse button

The only special thing this profile expects from the user is that they set their mouse in X3 to "show cursor when mouse is moved" and disable mouse steering.

Right, I think that covers it all. If I've forgotten about something dreadfully important please let me know so I can add it to my to-do list. There is still quite some button real-estate left, so I'm looking for ideas to fill that up with.

A few things that are already cooking up in my head:
-Setting the Precision Slider to act as a zoom slider with the Video Enhancement Goggles
-Setting the Throttle to use the Bonus Pack Afterburner when passing the top indentation (if it doesn't already, haven't tested this yet)

Anyway, I hope people will want to help me test this and make it into the most comprehensive X3 profile for the X52.
Last edited by Mergelsberg on Mon, 1. Dec 08, 14:54, edited 2 times in total.

pozo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue, 1. Apr 08, 16:23
x3tc

Post by pozo » Tue, 1. Apr 08, 16:31

Hey there, I'm using your profile :)

I just got my X52 today so I'm still getting a bit used to it (so many buttons...).

One small suggestion: on my system (Vista 32b running latest drivers & beta SST) the profile uses 50% of my processing power (one core) due to the fact that you've used an advanced keypress in stead of a macro with the weapon selection dial. Setting it as a 'new macro' with just (eg) keypress [1] instead of [1 down] [1 up] fixes it.

Perhaps this is due to the fact that I have a pro-stick and have converted your profile with the "X52 to X52 Pro Profile Converter". More ppl on the Saitek forum seem to have similar issues.

Furthermore I'd like a 'target what your ship's pointing at' button in all modes, although I do not even know wheter X3 supports that actually.

And finally:
Thanks for the profile!

natha
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed, 9. Jan 08, 09:04
x4

Post by natha » Wed, 2. Apr 08, 09:30

I have the same issue with the profile i use (system process consumes 50% cpu) and yes its the rotary that cause it.
But that happens with the new SD6 software as i had the same keypresses with the old software (i remade my profile as it wasn't compatible) and none of this problems (and also i had the booster/brake to zero to the small rotary) :(

Wubinator
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue, 25. Mar 08, 18:56

Post by Wubinator » Wed, 2. Apr 08, 10:18

I'm at work now so I can't test it, but could this work on a Saitek X45?
Quitters never win. Winners never quit

pozo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue, 1. Apr 08, 16:23
x3tc

Post by pozo » Wed, 2. Apr 08, 11:11

Wubinator wrote:I'm at work now so I can't test it, but could this work on a Saitek X45?
I hope Wubinator isn't a reference to mr. Wubbo Ockels ;)

But at you question: I don't really think so. The x52 has 4 buttons on the stick (including fire) and two + a hat switch on the throttle. Those are all used, so from what I can see on the images of the x45 you're two buttons and a hat swtich short. Those buttons you can probably do without as the pinky-shift mode is currently the same for all 3 modes (ie all shifted buttons A-E do the same in mode 1-3) so you could overload those to make the profile more complete. You're not going to need 'jumpdrive toggle' in combat mode for instance.

The missing hat switch is more 'of a problem' as it's used for strafing.

Furthermore four the toggle switches are used for trivial functions so you won't really miss those.


And finally: this is all assuming your profile editor will even accept the x52 profile, you might have to do it all by hand...
I have the same issue with the profile i use (system process consumes 50% cpu) and yes its the rotary that cause it.
But that happens with the new SD6 software as i had the same keypresses with the old software (i remade my profile as it wasn't compatible) and none of this problems (and also i had the booster/brake to zero to the small rotary)
Have you tried making macro's of it? So not ticking the 'macro' box with your advanced keypress, but actually clearing the current binding, right click, new macro and then record it. Worked fine for me!

Wubinator
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue, 25. Mar 08, 18:56

Post by Wubinator » Wed, 2. Apr 08, 12:29

No I'm not even really sure where it is based on a older kid gave me the name Wub when I was 12 years old. Never knew him, never even saw him before. But the name kinda stuck. Later when I started playing FPS games I mixed it with Terminator to get Wubinator. Now almost 14 years later I still use the nickname all the time and everywhere :D

Later I thought it was based on those furry balls with stick on eyes and feet. Those are called wup (see below for a picture).... Image

I have no idea why that older kid would call me a name base on those things, but it is the only thing that sounds the same. And it is not exactly a common word.But I'm not quite sure.

Ontopic:

X45 stick has a fire button, a pinky button, a button on the front of the stick. Two hat switches on top and 3 buttons between the hat switches (1 under a safety cap).

The throttle has 1 hat switch, a rudder button/buttons. Two extra buttons and something that can be used as a mouse in windows or a 4way hat switch (although not that accurate). And two wheels. And ofcourse the 3 modes and 3 way Aux settings.

So I think don't really think I miss buttons. But I think the profile won't be accepted indeed. Won't know until I'm home and try it :D

@Mergelsberg could you explain how use setup the buttons. Maybe mail / PM me about it or something? I'm still looking for a good profile for X3
Quitters never win. Winners never quit

natha
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed, 9. Jan 08, 09:04
x4

Post by natha » Thu, 3. Apr 08, 02:10

pozo wrote: Have you tried making macro's of it? So not ticking the 'macro' box with your advanced keypress, but actually clearing the current binding, right click, new macro and then record it. Worked fine for me!
Worked like charm! :D .... Ecxellent pozo, thanks.

You need the "SST programming software" besides the drivers to program the stick Wubinator. Open the profile editor and start playing around. Its quite easy i think if you know the game controls and what keys you need on the stick.

User avatar
Mergelsberg
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed, 27. Feb 08, 06:05
x3tc

Post by Mergelsberg » Fri, 4. Apr 08, 01:08

Thanks for the responses guys :)
pozo wrote:One small suggestion: on my system (Vista 32b running latest drivers & beta SST) the profile uses 50% of my processing power (one core) due to the fact that you've used an advanced keypress in stead of a macro with the weapon selection dial. Setting it as a 'new macro' with just (eg) keypress [1] instead of [1 down] [1 up] fixes it.
. . .
Furthermore I'd like a 'target what your ship's pointing at' button in all modes, although I do not even know wheter X3 supports that actually.
I did it this way because without the explicit key-up it would leave the key to stick for me. So rather than just press it once it would be like it was kept pressed all the time.
I run the Steam version on XP64 though, so there might be differences with this for other combo's. I'll look into it to see if I can find a solution that works for us all.

As far as I've been able to find there is no "target object under reticle" command, though I may have overlooked it.

Wub, I think you'd be 1 button short on the stick and then the toggles. So all in all not a really massive difference.


I've been fiddeling about with the Toggle switches and been looking at some scripts that add hotkeys for things like drone deployment.
I was thinking about fitting in buttons for cycling through the camera's and turrets on those.

DeathVark
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed, 28. Jul 04, 06:29
x3

Post by DeathVark » Wed, 9. Jul 08, 06:45

Just stumbled across your profile :!:
Getting my X52 2morrow, can't wait to try it out. Anything new been developed?
Also, small question: do I need to copy this profile into the one of the games folders and then chose it from within the game? Sorry, it may be selfexplanatory once I install teh software from Saitek, but I thought i'd ask :)
Thanks!
Image

warlock_ba
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri, 4. Aug 06, 21:12
x3tc

Post by warlock_ba » Wed, 9. Jul 08, 12:22

does it work with the SD6 profiler from Saitek? Or is it still for the old one?

cheers,
meh

allthough i play X3 without any profile with the X52 (not pro). it's way nicer i think.

DeathVark
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed, 28. Jul 04, 06:29
x3

Re: [X3] Comprehensive Saitek X52 (not pro) profile for X3 (work in progress)

Post by DeathVark » Wed, 9. Jul 08, 15:22

Mergelsberg wrote: The profile is made in the SD6 version of the programming software. I took SD6 over SD5 because it offers much more flexibility in programming, if you don't have it yet, it's on the Saitek page in the Downloads section.

.
Image

Wandering Panther
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu, 9. Jun 05, 12:35
x3tc

Post by Wandering Panther » Mon, 14. Jul 08, 21:26

-Setting the Precision Slider to act as a zoom slider with the Video Enhancement Goggles
-Setting the Throttle to use the Bonus Pack Afterburner when passing the top indentation (if it doesn't already, haven't tested this yet)
Does this mean you can get X3 to use the throttle as a throttle? (rather than it taking the presicion slide as the throttle).

Could you explain how you did this, as no matter how many options I change in X3 I can not get it to work this way :( . Previously I had to settle for deselecting the throttle in the controls menu and setting the X52 throttle to bands. I have tried your profile and it does not enable the main throttle for me.

All help appreciated.

Nick

DeathVark
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed, 28. Jul 04, 06:29
x3

Post by DeathVark » Mon, 14. Jul 08, 21:46

Profile worked fine for me. You need to UNcheck "use joystick throttle" in the very first screen when loading X3 ( under input device) - it seems like you've done that, just wanted to make sure you did that not from inside the game, but rather before loading it.
Image

Wandering Panther
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu, 9. Jun 05, 12:35
x3tc

Post by Wandering Panther » Mon, 14. Jul 08, 23:55

:D :D :D

Thanks muchly... though I'm slightly miffed I never spotted that :oops:

illicit
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri, 8. Jul 05, 14:06
x3

Post by illicit » Fri, 18. Jul 08, 11:35

Nice profile. I have made it my own. Thanks for the UP.

Locked

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”