[Script] Product Finder 1.5 Major Update 02.02.2006

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

[Script] Product Finder 1.5 Major Update 02.02.2006

Post by Tomcat » Tue, 24. Jan 06, 14:34

Product Finder V1.5
-------------------

This Trade Command Software addon lets you search for a specific ware in sectors that the player knows. You will get a message which tells you where the ware
you're looking for can be bought and how many units the factory has in stock. It also tells you how many jumps the factory is away. It adds a new command to the
Trade menu and requires Trade Command Software Mk2 to be installed.

New in V1.5:
------------

- Shiptype Locator: You want to buy a Nova Raider or a Nemesis Sentinel? You don't know which shipyard sells them? Stop checking each shipyard manually, this tool
does the work for you, just select the ship you want to buy, and you get a message at which shipyard it is sold. It adds a new command to the Trade menu and requires Trade Command Software Mk2 to be installed.

- Best Price Locator: This tool checks what tradeable wares you have in your cargospace and it finds the station which pays the best price for each of the wares.
If multiple stations have the best price, it will show the one that is closest to your current location. This tool adds a new command to the Trade menu and requires Trade Command Software Mk2 to be installed.

Install:
--------

Unpack the archive to your X3 root directory or manually copy the files to the matching folders.

Uninstall:
----------
Delete 448888.xml from your t folder
Delete setup.plugin.mtsFindProduct.xml, mts.sectorcheck.xml, mts.FindProduct.xml from your scripts folder.

Known Issues:
-------------
None so far

To do:
------
Improve formatting of the output.

History:
--------

1.5 Added Shiptype Locator and Best Sales Locator


1.01 small addition to the t file, so the command shows in the SE
ZIP Download is here

Script Installer Package Download can be found here

An example picture from the output window can be seen here.

Any feedback is welcome.
Last edited by Tomcat on Thu, 2. Feb 06, 22:33, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Dgn Master
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri, 27. Feb 04, 11:36

Post by Dgn Master » Tue, 24. Jan 06, 14:44

Might be handy to link to the actual file, if you want feedback. Most of the scripters here like to look at the code in order to offer suggestions.

From a purely selfish point of view though, i would love to try it out so that equiping my ships will be easier. :D

Edit: Thanks i'll give it a go after work.
Could the parents of the little Argon girl, Suzie, please claim her sealed jar of remains?
She didn't mind the gap and ended up vapourized!

User avatar
DeltaWolf
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue, 6. Jul 04, 08:48

Post by DeltaWolf » Tue, 24. Jan 06, 15:19

Very useful script :D

Tritous
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat, 15. Jan 05, 18:20

hmm

Post by Tritous » Thu, 26. Jan 06, 01:54

sounds great but I have two suggestions:

1: it should only work on sectors you have found. if that's already the case then you should probably specify that

2: perhaps it should only work on sectors that have advanced satelites in?

otherwise cool, I'll get that now :)
Give a man a fire, he'll stay warm for a day
Set a man on fire, he'll stay warm for the rest of his life ;)

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

Post by Tomcat » Thu, 26. Jan 06, 02:15

Hi Tritous,

the software only looks for wares in sectors that you already found.
The idea with the advanced satellites sounds good, but i came up with another idea:

When you have no satellite in the sector it doesn't show the amount of available wares. So you will only get the full info when having a satellite in the same sector as the factory is.

I will test that tommorrow.

User avatar
Malakie
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 04, 23:08

yes!

Post by Malakie » Thu, 26. Jan 06, 02:22

This is something I will use! Much better than checking each station individually which became a pain in the a$$.

Malakie

AalaarDB
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu, 29. Jan 04, 09:19

Post by AalaarDB » Wed, 1. Feb 06, 08:51

Tomcat: Please take a look here, second page.

Also, in your t file, you forgot page 2008. It should be

Code: Select all

<page id="2008" title="Commands" descr="">
  <t id="450">COMMAND_BLAH_BLAH</t> 
</page>
Without this page the command shows up as TRADE_50 in the SE, which is only a minor concern.

User avatar
Mobuj
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 01:30

Post by Mobuj » Wed, 1. Feb 06, 17:12

This is so useful! I use it often. :thumb_up:

Suggestion, resources needed? :wink:
---------------------------
I am Popeye of Borg
You will be askimilated!

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

Post by Tomcat » Wed, 1. Feb 06, 17:46

Thanks AalaarDB for the hint with the command in the SE, i changed it the t file now.

For the other problem, i don't see how my script could overwrite one of your commands, the only command i used is the trade 50 command.

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

Post by Tomcat » Wed, 1. Feb 06, 18:11

I'm glad you like it, Mobuj :)

About your suggestion, i have something ready that looks for the best prices for the wares in your cargo hold and gives you the nearest station for each of those wares. If that is what you meant, i will try to finish it tonight and probably put it in the product finder package.

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

Post by Tomcat » Thu, 2. Feb 06, 02:14

Major update, see first post for new features :)

AalaarDB
Posts: 2279
Joined: Thu, 29. Jan 04, 09:19

Post by AalaarDB » Thu, 2. Feb 06, 02:33

Tomcat wrote:Thanks AalaarDB for the hint with the command in the SE, i changed it the t file now.

For the other problem, i don't see how my script could overwrite one of your commands, the only command i used is the trade 50 command.
That's what I said in my thread too.

ernie_frontier
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 28. Nov 05, 19:36

Post by ernie_frontier » Thu, 2. Feb 06, 21:17

Great mod :D

but I'm only able to get part of it working (I think), I go to trade and I only have 3 more options, Find Product, Find Shiptype to buy and Find best Price. In your readme it talks about a Best Sales locator

Best Sales Locator: This tool checks what tradeable wares you have in your cargospace and it finds the station which pays the best price for each of the wares.
If multiple stations have the best price, it will show the one that is closest to your current location. This tool adds a new command to the Trade menu and requires Trade Command Software Mk2 to be installed.


I'm sure it's me doing something wrong :? but could you just tell if it's working properly.

Cheers

Ernie

Tomcat
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon, 22. Dec 03, 06:30

Post by Tomcat » Thu, 2. Feb 06, 22:26

Hi ernie,

it's bad naming on my side, i'm sorry. The best sales locator is the Find best price. I will update the readme.

999-JAY-999
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon, 7. Apr 03, 16:29

Post by 999-JAY-999 » Fri, 3. Feb 06, 15:29

Brilliant idea..... VERY USEFUL....
System Spec :-

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Duel 6000+ (3.01GHz)
Windows XP Home Ed. SP 3
ATI Radeon HD 4850 (512)
Creative X-FI Soundard
2.00 GB of RAM
G9 RAZOR Mouse

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”