doubleshadow's X3 ModManager

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14

doubleshadow's X3 ModManager

Post by doubleshadow » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 17:29

X3 ModManager latest version 0.0.5 - released 14.2.2006

Download from www.doubleshadow.wz.cz

Tutorials / How-to's:

You can now find the tutorials on X3 ModManager page on X-wiki.

Old tutorials hosted on this forum:
- How to unpack your game with X3MM (if you want to do that)
- How to make a mod with X3MM

Changes
* fixed bug caused by previous "bug fix" - this time everything should work (I really hope)
* another nasty bug with file extracting (see x3mm changelog). Strangely enough, it seems that no one run across it (myself included).

Description

Updated version of X2 ModManager.
Now it will correctly rename files when compressing to catalogs and decompressing back. It will also compress only certain files. All is fully configurable.

FAQ

Q - When I start the program, I have an error saying:

Code: Select all

Error starting program:
File not found: "some file.dll"
A - You need to download and install the "C runtime and zlib1 library installation". It is available at the same download page where the X3MM is. It might be good to install it into your system directoy (windows\system32 on Win XP) as those files are used by all of my tools.
Last edited by doubleshadow on Wed, 12. Jul 06, 08:10, edited 10 times in total.

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14

Post by doubleshadow » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 17:30

0.0.2 - First public version. I tried to remove/fix all the bugs that were in X2MM. I was too lazy to fix them back then... :wink:

Now you can fully decompress your game with just few mouse clicks. I will write tutorial how to do that for newbies.

Enjoy.

EDIT:

Here is the tutorial: How to use X3MM to unpack your game
Last edited by doubleshadow on Tue, 6. Dec 05, 18:35, edited 1 time in total.

OCASPAWN
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue, 22. Nov 05, 11:51

Post by OCASPAWN » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 19:39

:P :mrgreen: :x3: gr8 m8 thanks will get it now and play :)

Nightwind
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat, 5. Feb 05, 00:36

Post by Nightwind » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 20:34

Thanks mate, you make all of our work that much easier :thumb_up:

Can't wait to give it a whirl.

Tartarus
Posts: 661
Joined: Mon, 16. May 05, 21:02

Post by Tartarus » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 20:56

doubleshadow wrote:I will write tutorial how to do that for newbies.
THANK YOU!!!

I have never even laid eyes on the coding for games before, and I'm sick of waiting around for things to happen, and seeing everyone else ranting on about their success with your scripty-mod thing whatchamacallit.

My curiosity is all consuming! :P

Besides, I have reason to believe that my game is screwed up on a very fundamental level, and getting to know the code better may help me in solving this problem.

Besides... I want to make my own ships!!! :D
"It's always darkest just before it goes pitch black."
masterk wrote:Dont get too excited about getting an M2/M1 though, the races would have your babies before they sell you one.

argharg
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu, 11. Dec 03, 08:40

Post by argharg » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 22:59

woot.. great does it mean we can mix CapShip Rebalance+Cockpit Callback+Minimal HUD ?
:wink:

LightningNova
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat, 3. Dec 05, 03:03

Post by LightningNova » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 23:26

argharg wrote:woot.. great does it mean we can mix CapShip Rebalance+Cockpit Callback+Minimal HUD ?
:wink:
...and if so, can someone explain how? I tried it and while I had cockpits on fighters still, the capital ships had no weapons :shock:

Galaxy613
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue, 28. Dec 04, 03:19

Post by Galaxy613 » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 23:42

LightningNova wrote:
argharg wrote:woot.. great does it mean we can mix CapShip Rebalance+Cockpit Callback+Minimal HUD ?
:wink:
...and if so, can someone explain how? I tried it and while I had cockpits on fighters still, the capital ships had no weapons :shock:
What do you mean the capital ships have no weapons? :gruebel: Oh and if you are going to make the combined mod yourself you must be aware that if you are going to over write files you will have to ditch one part of the Capital Rebalance mod... the part that gives cap ships better/fixed power plants because that part is in the tShips file which the Cockpit Callback is mainly based on.

So to make it you must unpack in this order:
Capital Rebalance, then Cockpit Callback, then Minimal HUD.

Once you unpacked them into the same directory, just pack the folders into one mod and it *should* work...
10,000 Lightyears of awesomeness

DemaeRamen
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat, 6. Mar 04, 10:32

Post by DemaeRamen » Mon, 5. Dec 05, 23:57

That's bonkers!

I'm an ignoramus and within 5 minutes I made my own mod cocktail out of the PBE-Flak edit and the no fog 200km one.

Getting me to do that is like teaching anvils to fly. Well done!
Always welcome! Cheap and filling!

LightningNova
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat, 3. Dec 05, 03:03

Post by LightningNova » Tue, 6. Dec 05, 11:35

Galaxy613 wrote:What do you mean the capital ships have no weapons? :gruebel: Oh and if you are going to make the combined mod yourself you must be aware that if you are going to over write files you will have to ditch one part of the Capital Rebalance mod... the part that gives cap ships better/fixed power plants because that part is in the tShips file which the Cockpit Callback is mainly based on.

So to make it you must unpack in this order:
Capital Rebalance, then Cockpit Callback, then Minimal HUD.

Once you unpacked them into the same directory, just pack the folders into one mod and it *should* work...
I spawned an M1, hopped into the cockpit and it had no guns (I went to the wepaons panel and it was empty) - I am sure I did something wrong, I'll try again tonight :) To be honest, I didn't have much time to play with it yesterday.

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14

Post by doubleshadow » Tue, 6. Dec 05, 14:23

There's a bug in the X3MM 0.0.2 :o

Yes....

And what's worse, it's a quite critical bug. Kind of. Under certain circumstances the X3MM can crash.

It will happen when you try to overwrite a compressed file in a catalog and the file which is already in the catalog doesn't contain valid time stamp (last modification date). It will also happen when you try to display infromations about such file.

I found this bug when I was playing with files in Cockpit Callback mod.

So better get the new version: http://www.doubleshadow.wz.cz/x3mm/index.php?p=download

stk
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue, 7. Dec 04, 11:26

Post by stk » Tue, 6. Dec 05, 18:03

hi,
thx for your great tools!

is there any way you could spill the beans on the
exact file data, organization of bytes, etc to pack/unpack
the cats/dats...?

i got so far that i can do the .pck<->xml/txt conversion on single files,
but the xor 0xc8/zlib inflate/deflate does not work with the x2 cat/dat files.


tia
stk

doubleshadow
Posts: 671
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 09:14

Post by doubleshadow » Tue, 6. Dec 05, 18:33

stk wrote:hi,
thx for your great tools!

is there any way you could spill the beans on the
exact file data, organization of bytes, etc to pack/unpack
the cats/dats...?

i got so far that i can do the .pck<->xml/txt conversion on single files,
but the xor 0xc8/zlib inflate/deflate does not work with the x2 cat/dat files.


tia
stk
Then you are hell of a programmer 8)

I had to ask Stone-D to send me his files :oops:

Check your PM.

stk
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue, 7. Dec 04, 11:26

Post by stk » Tue, 6. Dec 05, 18:41

thx a bunch ;)

btw, not that good, just stumbled on your old thread with stone-d and changed a few things

Nightwind
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat, 5. Feb 05, 00:36

Post by Nightwind » Wed, 7. Dec 05, 02:15

It won't let me unpack the .dat files, infact I have't been able to do anything with the .dat files, any help?

Cheers
~Nightwind

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”