[MD] Extended Horizons. New Sectors add-on. (Compatability Update 4 Mar)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
InvrSmall
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by InvrSmall » Fri, 24. Sep 10, 18:48

Retiredman wrote:Did notice when I loaded this, that ANH sector gets gliched...
I can still go thre but not directly..
It doesn't show up on the map anymore.

Wondering if there is an issue/bug that hasn't been seen yet.
Thanks, I hadn't noticed that. :oops:

I've updated the Galaxy map with a new .bod file.
Just re-download and replace the files and it should work ok.


Let me know if there are any other issues.

Retiredman
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri, 4. Sep 09, 02:35

Post by Retiredman » Fri, 24. Sep 10, 22:52

That fixed it.. I can see ANH again.

Thanks & Cheers

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Mon, 27. Sep 10, 00:02

I noticed something odd, I thought sectors were only allowed to have 4 gates in Unknown sector alpha there are more then 4 gates. Won't the game go all crazy on me if there are more then 4 gates per sector?

User avatar
TrixX
Posts: 2022
Joined: Wed, 18. Aug 10, 14:28

Post by TrixX » Mon, 27. Sep 10, 00:59

Nope sectors can have up to 6 gates.
"If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original."
Sir Ken Robinson

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Mon, 27. Sep 10, 01:05

I see... thanks :lol:

User avatar
InvrSmall
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by InvrSmall » Tue, 28. Sep 10, 23:33

I was asked to make a new version that was not so measily with the Res on the Asteroids so look to the OP for the alternative Higher Res Map.
Most sectors now have at least one Asteroid with a 104 Silicone in it, some with more. There's also a few more abandoned ships scattered about to claim if you wish.


Future plans:
Increase the Kha'ak spawn in their area and make a few missions to open up more sectors.


Any reasonable ideas welcome.
:)

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Tue, 28. Sep 10, 23:38

just a quick question, if I already have a prevouis version applied, if I put in the new one will it update or do I have to open up a save before I installed this?

User avatar
InvrSmall
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by InvrSmall » Wed, 29. Sep 10, 00:00

Unfortunately you would have to go back to the earlier save as I have changed some of the base Map objects. e.g lighting. :(

This will be the last update to the Main file so If you do go back to an earlier save it will be the last time an update will require it.


Any more updates to add Kha'ak spawn/missions/more sectors, will work fine with both versions. I am using the first version and have built too much to go back to an earlier save. :wink:

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Wed, 29. Sep 10, 00:06

Ah... darn... I won't go changing it again unless I really feel like it. It just adds extra abandoned ships and some more high yield roids, not that it bothers me... lol I can just use the asteroid fusion script to make all the smaller yield roids into bigger yield roids :P

User avatar
InvrSmall
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by InvrSmall » Wed, 29. Sep 10, 00:08

Requiemfang wrote:I can just use the asteroid fusion script to make all the smaller yield roids into bigger yield roids :P
:thumb_up:

russbo
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 22:53

Post by russbo » Thu, 7. Oct 10, 08:45

Very impressive. Sectors are very well done. And, they function as sectors, which I'm not surprised. You can use Trickmov's Sector Takeover (STO) to claim these sectors. Will find out soon if other races start moving in.

Great concept, hope you continue with this, adding more and more, but without making us start from old saves.

User avatar
mr.WHO
Posts: 2981
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 17:19

Post by mr.WHO » Sat, 9. Oct 10, 12:27

I just want to report that this mod runs fine with "Immersive background" mod.

Sectors are nice but I want to point three things that are a bit anoying:
- no gate connections in universe map
- broken left/right in universe map
(I know you mentioned that those two are broken but it would be nice if someone cound fix that)

- Unkown sector Mu - this sector is the only one that cause lag when you fly too deep (I guess there is too many asteroids - some of them, those which aren't "build mine" capable, could be reduce a bit). It's strange because there are other sectors with large number of asteroids in this mod (one that looks like that Yaki dense asteroid sector) and they work fine.

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Sat, 9. Oct 10, 12:49

Hmmm I am also concerned about the massive size of one sector... can't remember which one but why the heck does it have to be as big or bigger then the Aldrin sector :o

User avatar
InvrSmall
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by InvrSmall » Sat, 9. Oct 10, 15:00

mr.WHO wrote:- Unkown sector Mu - this sector is the only one that cause lag when you fly too deep (I guess there is too many asteroids - some of them, those which aren't "build mine" capable, could be reduce a bit). It's strange because there are other sectors with large number of asteroids in this mod (one that looks like that Yaki dense asteroid sector) and they work fine.
I will agree that there is a lot of debri, nebulae and 'stuff' in that sector which might be killing your frame rates. I tried to set up that sector to have the feel of a dark foreboding place where things could be hiding/forgotten and also for Mobile mining.
To be honest I have no issues with framerates in any of the sectors.
My comp specs are:
Q6600 OC'd a bit, 4 Gig ram and a 512Meg 9800Gtx.

As for the right/left swapping on the Gal map, I've spent a lot of time trying to workout why it happens and have ended up drawing a blank. I cannot find any reason as to why it happens. :( If anyone can enlighten me I would be very gratefull.
Requiemfang wrote: Hmmm I am also concerned about the massive size of one sector... can't remember which one but why the heck does it have to be as big or bigger then the Aldrin sector
I'm guessing that you are pointing to Unknown Sector NU. Well, Space is big you know. :P

Yeah, agreed, it is a long sector and if I remember rightly the gates are about 450Km apart.
I set this one up purely as an exploration sector to give a large feel to the universe and once you get to the other side, you can then lock onto the jump gate and bypass the long travel time altogether.


Remember, in commonwealth sectors the gates have been towed closer together to make trading easier between sectors.

:)

Requiemfang
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24

Post by Requiemfang » Sat, 9. Oct 10, 15:36

Might I suggest you cut back on the dust/nebulae in unknown sector Mu? I lack the 9800 GT graphic card, I have the 9600 GT 1 gig card, my CPU is of a lower standard as well, I do have more ram, about 2 gigs more then you. I only address this because some of the people out there who play this game have lower quality parts and such in there rigs and not everyone can play it as the same. Which means it might impact some lower end machines, so cutting back a bit on that sector might help, even on my rig which is made to play games of some of the higher quality it starts to have FPS problems, I'm still able to play but it's a hassle to see that FPS rate go down unless it's during a battle.

I think that's the only issue I've found about this, I don't mind the large sectors and the easiest way to solve that large span between gates is to just speed up the ships :P

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”