[MOD] Mobile Ship Repairs - v1.6

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
User avatar
Graxster
Posts: 817
Joined: Sat, 14. Oct 06, 01:01
x3tc

Post by Graxster » Fri, 28. Nov 08, 04:21

In many cases that may be true, but not in this one. If you stop using the Mod part, it won't break your game.
  • Mod file: Adjusts price of repair lasers, adjusts size of RL ware, adjusts level of notoriety required to purchase RL.
So, if you stop using the Mod and keep the scripts (for the repair/repair sector commands), the price of RL's will be about 64 credits, and the factories will most likely produce hundreds of them, and sell them to you without any notoriety restrictions. The scripts create the factories, not the Mod file. If you just want the factories and not the repair commands, then yes, you can remove everything once the stations are made, however, the same applies in that situation - RL's will be dirt cheap, etc...

-Grax

amirite
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 08, 22:01

Post by amirite » Fri, 28. Nov 08, 04:55

When I stopped using the mod file before all of the characteristics of the mod seemed to stay intact. The price stayed the same and I was actually having a hard time finding them at one point.
-TEVE

Jelani Gunju
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 09:36

Post by Jelani Gunju » Mon, 1. Dec 08, 21:38

I'm a little new to this, so sorry if I'm posting this incorrectly.

In any case... I just started the game, so I'm not doing MODs yet... but I'm loving these scripts.

Was just wondering, would it be possible to add a 'Repair Drone' to the mix. Something fairly simple and Balanced. A Light Wieght Drone (Like a CAM Drone), with a single Repair Laser, a single 1 or 5 MJ shield, and average speed.

And the ability to deploy them for quick repairs in and out of battle.

Look forward to running this (or some) MOD once I'm done with the Plot.

Thanx
Jelani Gunju
*A Wise Man Once Said: A Strong Man Never Gives Up.

*A Strong Man Once Said: A Wise Man Knows when to Move On!

Jelani Gunju
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon, 1. Dec 08, 09:36

Post by Jelani Gunju » Wed, 3. Dec 08, 02:50

Sorry if this question has been Asked and Answered... just didn't want to read through six pages of post.

Anyway... is there an M3, 4 or 5 that can use a Repair Laser? I still like the thought of having a few small ships Repairing my ships. Kind of have this whole Repair Facility Idea in my head.
Jelani Gunju
*A Wise Man Once Said: A Strong Man Never Gives Up.

*A Strong Man Once Said: A Wise Man Knows when to Move On!

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 2947
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Wed, 3. Dec 08, 03:19

not that I Know of but the TM classes can which is ideal ship for the job :)
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

kelmen
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue, 9. Dec 08, 15:11

Post by kelmen » Thu, 25. Dec 08, 18:20

I believe I encounterd 2 bugs:

1. Sometime when I issue the command to repair ship, the repairer shoot (not repair laser) the target instead of repairing it. If I stop it and reissues again, that's seems to be ok.

2. While on an escort mission, I try to repair one of the target, but then they turn hostile!

I'm wondering these problems can be due to I'm using another mod/script Weapons Quickswap by Tatakau
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=219454

User avatar
mawi
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat, 8. Jan 05, 00:56
x4

Post by mawi » Fri, 26. Dec 08, 01:15

Not certain on point 1, but when i first used this script, i had a misture of weps and repair lasers on the repair ship, and it just fired everything, so i assumed the script wasn't smart enough to distinguish between weps and repair lasers, since i didn't plan on having it fight anyhow, i just replaced every gun with repair lasers, problem solved (for my play style at least).

As for problem 2, I believe the reason for this is the repair laser is classed as a weapon, similar class to the MD (bypasses shields) but does negative hull damage, and unfortunately the game engine only recognises the weapons fire making contact, but doesn't pay any attention to the type of damage being caused, so sets you to enemy of the repaired ship (dont you just hate thick god engines)

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 14129
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Fri, 26. Dec 08, 01:29

Someone said in another thread, that you can only repair a ship you own. Everyone else considers it an attack.

Suggestion : Rather than factories in the game, from which no npc is ever going to buy from, why not have a mission that sells you the repair lasers ? So on every trading dock, there is always a mission with someone who wants to sell you a repair laser. You then dont have to worry about supply at all, since presumably this person is scrapping space suits and selling the lasers. :)

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 14129
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Fri, 26. Dec 08, 01:32

Someone said in another thread, that you can only repair a ship you own. Everyone else considers it an attack.

Suggestion : Rather than factories in the game, from which no npc is ever going to buy from, why not have a mission that sells you the repair lasers ? So on every trading dock, there is always a mission with someone who wants to sell you a repair laser. You then dont have to worry about supply at all, since presumably this person is scrapping space suits and selling the lasers. :)

Edit : Script version added to my mirror site. Hope this is ok.

User avatar
Axeface
Posts: 2935
Joined: Fri, 18. Nov 05, 00:41
x4

Post by Axeface » Wed, 31. Dec 08, 04:40

Hey hey! Loving this mod but I have a little problem, I think. Everything works great, except that the lasers are being sold to me for 64 credits :/

Arn't they supposed to be expensive? Have I done something wrong? hehe

User avatar
Resheph
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri, 18. Jan 08, 15:41

Post by Resheph » Thu, 1. Jan 09, 15:44

Hi,
is it possible to make repairs done by drones?
I don't know if it's possible to change fighter drones weaponry, or to make some kind of new drone in order to make only repairs...

Regards
The glory of the gods
Is put out
Like a reed torch
In the water
The roof of the house of Amun is fallen
Even the gods must die

Walterses
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat, 27. Dec 08, 18:20
x3tc

Post by Walterses » Fri, 2. Jan 09, 16:33

err im having a slight problem here... im unsure how to get the mod/script going in the first place... i copied(extracted) the .rar files into ,y X3 tc folder but dont know what to do next...

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 14129
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Fri, 2. Jan 09, 23:27

Walterses wrote:err im having a slight problem here... im unsure how to get the mod/script going in the first place... i copied(extracted) the .rar files into ,y X3 tc folder but dont know what to do next...
What is ",y" ?

Check that the scripts went into the script directory and not somewhere else by mistake.

Walterses
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat, 27. Dec 08, 18:20
x3tc

Post by Walterses » Sat, 3. Jan 09, 00:59

lol i got it, just had to reboot scripts, blonde moment. thx for help

Fragile Ego
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu, 18. Sep 08, 04:15

Post by Fragile Ego » Mon, 5. Jan 09, 15:01

I have the repair laser mounted on the Vidar from the main plot sitting in Omicron Lyrae and I'm telling damaged ships to go to it. When they arrive I tell the Vidar to repair one of them which is does, but when finished it immediately flies off to another sector?! By the time I click on the message telling me the repair is finished, the ship is usually in Nyana's Hideout, although the last time I found it in Circle of Labour.

Does anyone know why it does this? At first I thought the ship was going to a damaged ship I had in PTNI, but when it went north into Circle of Labour it threw that theory out the window seeing as I don't have any ships in Terran territory.

I'm using the script instead of the mod so I'll understand if this is a bug that's not going to be fixed.

Walterses
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat, 27. Dec 08, 18:20
x3tc

Post by Walterses » Mon, 5. Jan 09, 15:25

errm id sugest just dling the .rar mod file, what i did. works like a charm so far. other then not being able to set turrets to repair.


actually would someone be able to look into doing that? adding a function in turret controls to make it a little easier.
thx

TheLastHero
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 16:51
x3tc

Post by TheLastHero » Mon, 5. Jan 09, 15:42

I was thinking, the bomber type ships have turret at the front then can be made to hold guns, if you modifiy it m8 could be bombers/repairship class

Kinda how you got m7 and m7ms.

There small enough to get close to most ships, have a forward turret as the main gun and count as capitalship for fleet support RP.

I guess the REpair version of the bombers would have a larger cargohold since they couldnt shoot missiles.

This if of course if you wanted to limit what ships could do repairs, new models could be made for repair ships.

All up having to buy a repair ship that costs alot of money would be worth it and something to strive for.

May exceede this mods scope but it would add alot to the game.

User avatar
Axeface
Posts: 2935
Joined: Fri, 18. Nov 05, 00:41
x4

Post by Axeface » Mon, 5. Jan 09, 17:00

I posted a page or so back but no reply, so i'll ask again :)
The repair lasers in my game cost 64 credits, arnt they supposed to be expensive? Think theres a problem.

I'm using my Vidar as my repair ship, as I hate terran empc's ;p

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 14129
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 6. Jan 09, 00:54

The repair lasers come off of suits. Its a hand gun in effect. So it should not cost much.

User avatar
mawi
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat, 8. Jan 05, 00:56
x4

Post by mawi » Tue, 6. Jan 09, 01:11

Axeface wrote:The repair lasers in my game cost 64 credits, arnt they supposed to be expensive? Think theres a problem.
IIRC this is caused by running only the scripts, to increase the price you have to run the mod as well. either as a fake patch or selected from the mod menu when loading.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”