[SCRIPT] Ship Claim System MK1 - v1.02 2007-02-21

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

neumanf15
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon, 26. Dec 05, 20:55
x3

Post by neumanf15 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 05:38

Absolutely refuses to work right for me. Every time I install it, This is what I get added to my pirate base:
Image

That corresponds to SS_WARE_SW_CUSTOM1_2 in TWareT.

Script installer works well for everything else and I have custom wares setup right for my mod (DDRS).

I think the custom wares thing is borked. This is the first script I've seen use it. Any thought to using one of the numerous EMP wares instead?

Greg_G
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue, 26. Apr 05, 19:15
xr

Post by Greg_G » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 05:55

Well I see two possibilities, either I'm using the custom wares improperly (which should mean an easy fix...once I can figure out what's wrong), or there's a bug in custom wares. If the latter, I'm sure Cycrow would want to fix it so any testing we can do helps. So yes I can switch to the EMP, but if we can get custom wares working it's a better option. If I dont get this resolved within the next three days or so I'll switch to the EMP.

But now that two people are having trouble with the custom wares in my script, I know it's not isolated, so that's a good thing.

I promise to work hard on this tomorrow (busy tonight). I'll spend a while trying to figure it out myself, and if I have no luck, I'll contact Cycrow. I just want to leave that as a last resort as I know he's very busy.

Thanks for letting me know neumanf15, I'm sure reinhart is relieved as well to know he's not the only one with an issue!

User avatar
defiant1
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sun, 7. May 06, 03:53
x4

Post by defiant1 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 06:11

nono...im useing the EMP also...i also seem to have some issues with it...i slected a pirate ship and wanted to clame it (pilot wouldnt bail so i wanted to take the ship by extream force) and i couldnt find any option to claim or at least try to claim...and i know i got it all installed properly as with the extra wares thing its enabled too...
Teladi Next Minute Shipping®

neumanf15
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon, 26. Dec 05, 20:55
x3

Post by neumanf15 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 06:14

Some info that might help... I can find the SCS in LV's add wares... In fact, there are now 16 of them... and it seems to be growing. Last I checked, there were only about 7.
Image

I've done a couple un/reinstalls of the script since then, but I've also gone back to a backup of my scripts directory from before I installed this, then reinstalled, so who knows what it's doing.

If I add any of those wares above, I get no new commands (I didn't try ALL 16...)

If I add the ware readtext...10253 (the one the pirate station sells), I get the piracy command you described. So, somehow your commands have migrated to the ware I mentioned before (I believe it's an EMP ware).

Hope that helps. I'm a GUI modder & beta tester, not a scripter, so you've reached/exceeded the limits of the help I can give you. i.e., I could be wrong about the ware stuff.

reinhart_menken
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat, 27. Jan 07, 06:23

Post by reinhart_menken » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 06:43

Well, I am indeed relieved and somewhat "glad" to hear that I am not the only...um...case. I am sorry that it means you have more work to do though =/

Thanks for all the efforts you put in anyways :)

Greg_G
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue, 26. Apr 05, 19:15
xr

Post by Greg_G » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 07:07

neumanf15, thanks for the continued excellent information.

I'm looking through the custom wares code now, as this has me fairly distressed. I think it would be very helpful if you two could send me the contents of your 449004.xml found in your t folder by PM.
Last edited by Greg_G on Sun, 18. Feb 07, 07:18, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
defiant1
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sun, 7. May 06, 03:53
x4

Post by defiant1 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 07:10

i really dont have much "info" to give except that i cant find an option to actually allow me to tell my ship to begin the claimming prosses (IE I slect menue command that says "claim target" and it goes to work on claimming that ship as best as it can)...other then that ive got nothin to give...
Teladi Next Minute Shipping®

Greg_G
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue, 26. Apr 05, 19:15
xr

Post by Greg_G » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 07:15

defiant1: I don't think you are using the SCS correctly. Please read through the documentation. The command shows up in the Piracy menu as "Ship Claim Software: Activate". If it is saying something else, it means you are using another script. If it does say that, then it takes two parameters for input: (1) a sector, (2) a ship or station called the base of operations the purpose of which is explained in the docs. It does not take a ship to be claimed as input.

Edit: Regarding the custom wares issue reinhart and neumanf15 are having, it's looking increasingly likely that it's a bug in the script installer's custom wares functionality, which is out of my purview. I may have to switch over to the EMP for the SCS, although the CCD will have to remain using custom wares. I'll think on this and likely, after getting neumannf15's t file, will contact Cycrow to see what he thinks.

Edit 2: I've PMed Cycrow about this. Hopefully, when he has time, he can shed some light on this.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20598
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 20:10

neumanf15, the readtext is from an EMP ware, so its got nothing to do with the Custom Wares from the plugin manager, it could be that a script added it there without setting up the text for it.

as for the multiple wares, thats nothing to do with the scripts themselves, more likly its a problem when the ware file was created, do u run any mods, and have u got those mods selected in the custom wares section ?

if so, then it could be a problem with how the plugin manager backs up the existing files. so it thinks the new edited file is actually the old one, so it adds another entry onto that.

im hoping its that, coz if so, then i should be able to create a fix for it, if not, then ill have to look further into it.

Greg_G
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue, 26. Apr 05, 19:15
xr

Post by Greg_G » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 21:12

After a little bit of discussion with Cycrow, he doesn't see anything wrong with my setup script, and this is obviously not related to the main script, so it's possible that there's nothing at all wrong with my scripts. (Yey!) Cycrow did confirm that reinit scripts can do some really weird things with commands (something I had noticed as well) so at least some of reinhart's problems may be related to that. It doesn't explain neumanf15's problems though.

However, I want to get this resolved, so I followed Cycrow's advice and added a little bit of debug output to the setup script. For those having trouble with this, please overwrite the existing script (in the X3 scripts directory) with this one:
http://x3.bitspring.com/files/setup.plugin.scs.xml (Right click->Save Target As...)
The only thing it does is adds a line each time this setup script is run to your logbook (and to log08765.txt) saying whether the setup script worked properly and what ware was assigned to the command, like so:

Code: Select all

Ship Claim System MK1 has been initialized - WARE=Ship Claim System MK1
I appreciate your patience and thank you for your assistance with this.

neumanf15
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon, 26. Dec 05, 20:55
x3

Post by neumanf15 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 23:36

Cycrow,
I no particular order, your answers are:
I'm running a combo DDRS + XXL mod. I've enabled Custom wares in it. The first time I installed, I did the custom wares afterward. I thought I'd borked it, so I put a fresh copy of the mod in, enabled custom wares, then reinstalled the script.

I figured the readtext is an EMP ware, but it IS the one that gives me Greg_G's Piracy command. The wares with the correct name don't do anything. I've also confirmed that that readtext ONLY shows up when I install the SCS script. I went back to a backup scritps directory and it was gone. I subsequently installed SCS into that "clean" directory (with custom wares already enabled in my mod) and the read text was there the next time I started, so SCS is definitely adding it.

I don't believe I got the multiple wares until I started trying to uninstall and reinstall, so it's probably just a cleanup thing. Somewhere in the process, I did try the reinit script caches once or twice, I think while I had the script deleted.

Here's the end of my TWareT right now:

Code: Select all

28;408;0;0;0;442;7413;0;4000;5;10;0;4000;-100;0;0;SS_WARE_SALVAGE_LICENSE;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;SS_WARE_DELETED;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;
28;0;0;0;0;101;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;SS_WARE_DELETED;
28;0;0;0;0;101;100000;2;50000;1;1;0;50000;0;0;0;SS_WARE_BITSPRING_SCSMK1;

neumanf15
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon, 26. Dec 05, 20:55
x3

Post by neumanf15 » Sun, 18. Feb 07, 23:43

Ok, Greg_G, I loaded a game with the new setup script. Here's the contents of the log file:

Code: Select all

Ship Claim System MK1 has been initialized - WARE=ReadText17-10253
I guess that answers the question about whether the readtext is related...

@Cycrow: After another game load, I checked my TWareT and now have another identical entry for SCS (There are now two after the last DELETED).

reinhart_menken
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat, 27. Jan 07, 06:23

Post by reinhart_menken » Mon, 19. Feb 07, 02:09

Hey Greg_G, just sent you the xml file you requested.

I also used the debug script file you requested, and it says Ship Claim System MK1 has been initialized - WARE=Ship Claim System MK1; but I still don't know how accurate that is, since I have two of them in my game(fake/errornous one and real one). That message could be pointing to any of the two, but seeing as I currently have no knowledge of how the X3 script works, I'll let you decide.

One question, would it be hard to make an EMP version? I mean, if it's not (and it won't be too much trouble), you could make a version with it and we can test and see what happens :shrug: I wouldn't be surprised if my problem is really caused by the reinit feature; it makes sense.

On an afterthought, if it is in the TwareT (I assume this file tells the game what to load?), is there a way I can edit that file to get rid of the ReadText and the fake SCS?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20598
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Mon, 19. Feb 07, 02:24

neumanf15 wrote:Ok, Greg_G, I loaded a game with the new setup script. Here's the contents of the log file:

Code: Select all

Ship Claim System MK1 has been initialized - WARE=ReadText17-10253
I guess that answers the question about whether the readtext is related...

@Cycrow: After another game load, I checked my TWareT and now have another identical entry for SCS (There are now two after the last DELETED).
could u also check the fake patches in the X3 directory, most likly the highest one and check the twares file in that.

i think all the problems are related to the same, so ill have to look for a solution to fix it

Greg_G
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue, 26. Apr 05, 19:15
xr

Post by Greg_G » Mon, 19. Feb 07, 02:34

Regarding an EMP version, yes, I can do that. It wouldn't even be much trouble. I just wanted to give Cycrow a chance to look at this before I abandoned custom wares (which has SO much potential). If it is a bug in custom wares, then our efforts here are going far to helping fix it. I suspect, in fact, that neumanf15's post above is going to be very informative to Cycrow. Unfortunately, it's a little out of my sphere of experience so I'll have to leave it to him to figure out what's going on.

I promise that I WILL do an EMP version if we can't get this resolved (or at least understood) within the next day or two.

I suspect that removing the "fake" SCS from your TWareT is exactly what you (and neumanf15) need to do, but I'd be remiss in trying to tell you how. I've used doubleshadow's X3 Editor to do some basic things but I'm honestly very inexperienced with it.

I'm thinking that, after disabling custom wares, it might be possible to entirely delete the fake-patch cat/dat that the script installer creates for custom wares to "start fresh". But I don't know if that's true at all, and again only Cycrow knows the consequences of that.

Edit: Cycrow's post came in while I was writing the above, if it wasn't obvious. Regarding my discussion of fixing the TWareT (via x3 editor or cat/dat deletion)...you might want to hold off investigating these options just long enough for Cycrow to figure out what's going on.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”