[SCR] B.I.E.R. Scanner (v1.20, 25.07.10)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

[SCR] B.I.E.R. Scanner (v1.20, 25.07.10)

Post by Gazz » Sun, 25. Jul 10, 23:09

English / Deutsch

Boardcomputer-Integrated External RADAR
  • Required equipment:
    Triplex Scanner
    Duplex Scanner
  • Installation:
    2 Microchips
    2 Computer Components
    Credits

    On a small ship the installation costs 300.000 Cr, on a medium 1.000.000 Cr, and on a capital ship 4.000.000 Cr.

    Installation takes 30 min, less if docked - ideally at a ship yard.
    Moving the ship during that time aborts the installation but the resources/credits are not lost.
  • During a fight the boardcomputer switches to the faster Gravidar and BIER is disabled.
    When the last "attacker" of the ship has moved beyond a 6500 m range, BIER takes up operation again.
What the script does:

BIER is an old fashioned RADAR.
The results are not nearly as accurate as a Gravidar but the range can be far greater.
All it will tell you is that there is something out there and an estimated size of the contact.
Image

Also: SQUASH-Mines are scanned automatically.
Surroundscan: 6 km
Targetscan: 8,5 km


BIER has 2 Modi:
  • Surroundscan: 360°
  • Targetscan: Detects objects in a cone in front of the ship at a 40 % higher range.
    small ships 50° cone
    medium 60°
    capital 70°
  • BIER - Ranges for Surround / Targetscan
    40 / 56 km : all ships (Triplex Scanner = 30 km)

    54 / 76 km : M6
    45 / 63 km : other medium ships

    80 / 112 km : M1
    70 / 98 km : M2
    60 / 84 km : M7
    54 / 75 km : other huge ships
Usage
  • 1. BIER Installation (on a ship) + BIER-Mode change
    Menu Button ("Special" Menu)
    Alternatively: Hotkey. (Playership only)
    . . . . . . While installation is possible on your own ship, it will take a while. =)

    If the ship does not have BIER, yet, the button is labeled "Install", if it does it's labeled "Change Mode".
  • 2. Ship tags on / off (global setting)
    This is a Hotkey that adds/removes tags for Surround (o), Targetscan (v), and malfunction (-) to all ships currently using BIER.

Image (ZIP)


Tech Stuff:
If anyone would like to use the BIER Contacts in a script:
They are Nav Beacons (neutral race), that have an Ecliptic Projector installed.
Loval Var "GZ.BIER.CONTACT.SIZE" contains the size, int 1 - 9.

Uninstall: In the script editor, run plugin.gz.bier.uninstall, then save and delete the files.

Resources used:
Unitrader's lib.ut.pos.from.2.grades.and.rad.xml
COMMAND_TYPE_SPECIAL_36
T-File / PageID 7037 + 7038
Task IDs (ships) 7037
Last edited by Gazz on Sun, 25. Jul 10, 23:27, edited 2 times in total.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 25. Jul 10, 23:10

** reserved **
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 25. Jul 10, 23:11

** reserved ***
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Requiemfang
Posts: 3197
Joined: Thu, 16. Jul 09, 12:24
x4

Post by Requiemfang » Mon, 26. Jul 10, 00:06

Interesting Gazz, I'll be sure to try this out :P

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Mon, 26. Jul 10, 00:17

Cheers mate - I was hoping something like this might be written. Been using the Lazcorp Military Scanner, and I found it didn't scan far enough, nor allow me to come back to those contacts later.

Will be installing this and giving it a run on my next play through (as soon as Unleashed testing is done). :)

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Mon, 26. Jul 10, 00:54

Right now the contacts decay after 120 sec but that's just a setting in the setup script.

Keeping them around forever is not ideal because each one has to check constantly if one of your ships is close enough for it to go poof.

You can increase it - but within reason.


The obvious alternative is to flat out increase the scanner range in types\Globals.txt but a perfect and infinite range scanner is somewhat cheaty. Well, probably a lot.

It always annoyed me that a puny M5 would have the exact same scanner range as a huge carrier. So I made them... different. While an M1 can "see" over 100 km when focusing, it still needs the M5 to figure out what it saw. =)
And this works in true 3D, not just in one plane. (however useful that may be...)
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

xalien
Posts: 1803
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 02:03
x3tc

Re: [SCR] B.I.E.R. Scanner (v1.20, 25.07.10)

Post by xalien » Mon, 16. Apr 12, 23:12

Gazz wrote:
  • Required equipment:
    Triplex Scanner
    Duplex Scanner
Is that needed to operate it or for installation? I'm playing XRM that has changed scanners, was able to install it on my ship that has adv scanner (former duplex?) but it doesn't work - change mode is greyed out and hotkey only says scanning/targeting without any visible effects.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Tue, 17. Apr 12, 00:00

The script doesn't look for a scanner. It looks for the two wares that happen to be on this particular ID - no matter what XRM renamed them to.

If you open the script in the internal editor, you should see the ware listed somewhere with it's new name.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

xalien
Posts: 1803
Joined: Fri, 12. Mar 04, 02:03
x3tc

Post by xalien » Tue, 17. Apr 12, 00:50

In XRM scanner ware sizes have been changed and only the largest ships can mount military (triplex) scanner, so I tried to change the requirements for the ship to have only 1 scanner.

Those are original code snippets from plugin.gz.bier.cmd.check.xml and plugin.gz.bier.ship.main.xml:

Code: Select all

026   if $ship -> get amount of ware Duplex Scanner in cargo bay
027     skip if not $ship -> get amount of ware Triplex Scanner in cargo bay
028      return [CmdConCheck.Available]
029   end

Code: Select all

320   $Equipment.Failure = null
321   skip if [THIS] -> get amount of ware Triplex Scanner in cargo bay
322    $Equipment.Failure = [TRUE]
323   skip if [THIS] -> get amount of ware Duplex Scanner in cargo bay
324    $Equipment.Failure = [TRUE]
Those are my changes:

Code: Select all

026   if $ship -> get amount of ware Duplex Scanner in cargo bay
027   else if $ship -> get amount of ware Triplex Scanner in cargo bay
028      return [CmdConCheck.Available]
029   end

Code: Select all

320   $Equipment.Failure = [TRUE]
321   skip if not [THIS] -> get amount of ware Triplex Scanner in cargo bay
322    $Equipment.Failure = null
323   skip if not [THIS] -> get amount of ware Duplex Scanner in cargo bay
324    $Equipment.Failure = null
I haven't tinkered with script editor since X2 so I suppose I made an error here (as it doesn't seem to work).

Ravenrage
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 12. Dec 10, 00:43

Numbers

Post by Ravenrage » Sun, 11. Aug 13, 21:55

Hi gazz! :)

This script is very good, I like it but I have a noob question... I would like to aks you about the numbers... Contact and the first number (What does it mean? ) and the second number is... I don't understand it ,too...

Sorry for the noob question and thank You the answer... (I think it will be) :)

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”