[X3TC Bonus Plugin] Turbo Boost

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

jlehtone
Posts: 21940
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

[X3TC Bonus Plugin] Turbo Boost

Post by jlehtone »

Turbo Boost

Version: 2009-12-17
Scripter: Cycrow
Thread for development version
Bonuspack index

Image

Introduction

When the Split decided they needed a bigger advantage in combat, they commissioned Cycrow Technologies Inc. to create a device capable of pushing their ships even faster.

The result was the Turbo Booster which is capable of temporarily speeding up ships beyond what's normally possible. Although the device was very successful it wasn't without its problems. Due to the amount of strain it adds to the ships engine the device needs to cool down after use and can only run for a limited time.

The device is available from all good Split Equipment Docks. The MK1 (1,845,524 cr) is for small ships, and the MK2 (7,926,236 cr) for large ships.

Image

Using the Device

The device is designed to integrate into any ship and a simple hotkey can be used to activate and deactivate the device. Configure this hotkey in your ship's control system to use.

Energy Requirement

The device requires a certain amount of energy to use, this can come in 1 of 3 ways, either use (1) spaceflies, only one is required for the whole duration of the turbo. Or just use (2) good old energy cells, but the device would require a constant feed of these to remain active. Otherwise, (3) the device links into your shield generators to use your shield energy to power it.
Last edited by jlehtone on Wed, 2. Jun 10, 21:55, edited 2 times in total.
jlehtone
Posts: 21940
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone »

{Reserved}
Harrass
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon, 16. Oct 06, 15:25
x3

Post by Harrass »

Any hint, where exactly i can find this one to make a hotkey ?
The only boost i see is the standard one.
Deleted User

Post by Deleted User »

Was looking for this myself.

Found it by going to controls and interface. Scroll down and you will see the command asking for a key bind.

Now to try it out myself!
User avatar
Predator02
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat, 28. Jul 07, 00:05
x4

Post by Predator02 »

Okay, crash on use issue.

Steam version 2.6 using 4.1.00 of the bonus pack
Turbo boost crashes on use when used in either in proximity to an enemy ship or near a large object (like a gate.)

Problem occurred in Neptune orbit, first battle of the Terran Start.

The older non bonus pack version from 10/20/2008 works fine though without the nice bottom screen meter.
Specs
Cpu: Duel Core Intel Wolfdale 8500 3.15 ghz
Motherboard: MSI P45 Platinum
4 Gigs Ram
Sound: X-Fi Music
Video: 8800 GTS (G92)
Win7 x64 Ultimate
DeLoreanLover
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed, 7. May 08, 04:32
x4

Post by DeLoreanLover »

So basically it's Turbo Boost from X-Beyond The Frontiers that the Xperimental Shuttle had on board, it just doesn't drain the shields.
g04tn4d0
Posts: 2044
Joined: Mon, 26. Apr 04, 12:58
x4

Post by g04tn4d0 »

I just wish it didn't have a cooldown period. It already eats energy. That should be enough of a penalty, IMO. Good mod, though. I do like it!
jlehtone
Posts: 21940
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone »

DeLoreanLover wrote:So basically it's Turbo Boost from X-Beyond The Frontiers that the Xperimental Shuttle had on board, it just doesn't drain the shields.
I do not know what X-Btf had, but this script is pretty much the same as the Afterburner script in X2 and X3R; it does increase engine tunings (i.e. overtunes speed) of your ship temporarily.
Xenon_Slayer
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 13101
Joined: Sat, 9. Nov 02, 11:45
x4

Post by Xenon_Slayer »

If you have no energy cells, it uses the shields (which I prefer anyway).
Come watch me on Twitch where I occasionally play several of the X games
rujikin
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri, 22. Jul 05, 09:46
x3tc

Post by rujikin »

reminds me of freelancer now :D
Using X3 AP + All TC plots enabled
User avatar
mr.WHO
Posts: 8748
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 17:19
x4

Post by mr.WHO »

Is it possible to switch between "Fuel" (flies or EC) and "shield" modes?

I carry EC for jump drive, don't carry spaceflies because they're illegal and I'm qiute happy with powering the booster with shields (or even with guns if it would be possible).
Gruber1232002
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue, 14. Mar 06, 21:16
x3

Post by Gruber1232002 »

It may be helpful to mention the difference between mkI and mkII and the general energy consumption by ship type. For quite a while I thought mkII made mkI more efficient. :roll:

Thanks for the great mod BTW :)
AP 3.1 Vanilla + Bonus Pack. For now....

XENON
Boarding the Xenon TC 2.7

Exotic Boarding Maneuvers TC 2.7
2 TP's
2 M7M's
User avatar
mr.WHO
Posts: 8748
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 17:19
x4

Post by mr.WHO »

From what I uderstand, Mk.2 (in addition to Mk.1) is required to turbo the capships (M6 up).
ADStryker
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon, 22. Jun 09, 02:04
x3tc

Post by ADStryker »

mr.WHO wrote:...Mk.2 ... is required to turbo the capships (M6 up).
That's consistent with my limited testing.
PSCO1 Cockpits | lowpolyroids-2.04 | Satellite Early Warning Network | Station Camper | Universal Best Buys/Sells | Invasion Warnings | ResizedAldrinBigRock | Equipment R&D | Lowpoly Complex Tubes | Mobile Ship Repairs | Player Workshop | Marauder Shipyard
Targ Collective
Posts: 2713
Joined: Wed, 4. Feb 09, 21:42
x4

Post by Targ Collective »

But not with mine. My M6 runs fine with only Mk1. I would say M7 up.
Learn to use stickies. Look here for mods for X3TC and here for guides across everything since X2. If you haven't read the Forum Rules do so before we beat you with sticks. Above all have fun.
sleepy_head
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, 2. Mar 04, 07:09
x3tc

Post by sleepy_head »

DeLoreanLover wrote:So basically it's Turbo Boost from X-Beyond The Frontiers that the Xperimental Shuttle had on board, it just doesn't drain the shields.
Its the same, except that it used to cost very little, now it is a stupid 1.8 million and 7.9 million credits. I wonder what's next, in X4 they'll take away SETA, then give it back to us by letting us buy it for 5,538,123 credits.
jlehtone
Posts: 21940
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone »

You cannot compare X-BtF to the later games like that. :sceptic:
Legionnaire
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun, 8. Feb 04, 16:28
x4

Post by Legionnaire »

If i remember right in the original X-Btf you had to purchase the Seta before you could use it, meaning you were about an hour or two into the game before you could even speed time up.

Legionnaire
Mobo MSI Z270 Gaming M3 CPU i5 7600K @4.2
RAM 16Gb Corsair Vengeance
2x 1TB (RAID 0)+ 4TB SSHD + 3TB HDD + 500GB SSD (Windows and X4 install Locatrion)
Windows 10 PRO
8GB MSI 1070Ti
User avatar
Poseidon
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31
x3tc

Post by Poseidon »

I'm going to second the request for allowing us to choose a priority power mode. I like that it offers so many options for a power source, but it keeps eating my energy cells... which I use to power the jump drive as an emergency escape.

If making it user configurable isn't an option... I'd prefer the script to check if I have any space flies, if not eat my shields, then uses e-cells to maintain the boost if I'm still in need.

My opinion. Love the mod... cuz my Kestral wasn't fast enough already...
cezarip
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon, 7. Nov 05, 15:15
x3tc

Post by cezarip »

So Mk I is for ships smaller than M6 and Mk2 for M6 and higher? Or both are working for the M6 class?
Provided that the laws of mathematics are
related to reality, they are not reliable. And if
they are reliable, they aren’t related to
reality.

Albert Einstein
Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”