[Script] SatelliteDeploy v1.12 (18/01/2006)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Fri, 6. Jan 06, 09:57

Well, almost done. At this point I'm just looking for bugs. I'm not going to include the 'race limiter' in this version, because I haven't finalized how it will work. But the rest of it is working decently.

Hopefully, barring any major bugs, I can release something in a few hours time.

Bh

User avatar
CO. Dragon Corp
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 15:49

Post by CO. Dragon Corp » Fri, 6. Jan 06, 14:20

Bhruic wrote:Well, almost done. At this point I'm just looking for bugs. I'm not going to include the 'race limiter' in this version, because I haven't finalized how it will work. But the rest of it is working decently.

Hopefully, barring any major bugs, I can release something in a few hours time.

Bh
Great, I'm looking forward to it...
Commanding Officer of the 'Dragon Corporation'
Image

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Fri, 6. Jan 06, 14:29

I had to go and mention bugs, didn't I. :)

Functionally it works right now, but there are a couple bugs to track down. May take a little longer to catch, as the debugging system is somewhat less than robust.

I'm still solid on 'soon' however. ;)

Bh

EidolonsFury
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon, 7. Nov 05, 04:35
x4

Post by EidolonsFury » Fri, 6. Jan 06, 21:43

I hate all those itchy, crawly bugs. Especially the ones that show up when you think everything is cool, and it's time to relax. I remember this one time, years ago, I'm sitting on the couch, watching some TV. Sitting there, relaxing, drinking a nice glass of tea. Then, out the corner of my eye, I think I see something, so I turn my head, and spend a minute or two to focus my attention. There, a couple feet away from me, on top of the back part of the couch, is this HUGE cockroach.

Nasty lil bugger, surprised me a bit it did. It was so big, I wasn't right sure if I wanted to kill it, or just slap it silly til it went elsewhere. I forget what I decided to grab to smash that sucka with. I just remember I wanted something solid, as those things can be quite fast. It's a horrid feeling to seem to stun the creature, only to have it dart off in a panic and run up your shoulder...then gets onto your neck....eww

Creepy, nasty lil buggers. Hate those unexpected bugs. Bugs in code can be just as annoying too. :lol:
"As far as the laws of mathematics refer to reality, they are not certain; and as far as they are certain, they do not refer to reality." - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Fri, 6. Jan 06, 22:12

Yeah, the creepy, crawly kind are annoying as well. I really hate it when I'm going to the bathroom at night, turn on the washroom light, and something starts crawling away. I really don't want to know what it is, but the fact that something is there freaks me out.

On the coding front (;)), I just need to get the darn 'ship.sync' to work properly. Well, it works properly (it's the function that prevents 2 ships from trying to place satellites in the same sector, or go to the same station to get satellites). But for some reason it seems to 'drop' ships under some indetermined circumstance. So basically the ship.sync function doesn't know the ship exists, so ships go back to going to the same spot.

Once I can nail that one down, I should be good.

Bh

User avatar
CO. Dragon Corp
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 15:49

Post by CO. Dragon Corp » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 02:28

Bhruic wrote:Yeah, the creepy, crawly kind are annoying as well. I really hate it when I'm going to the bathroom at night, turn on the washroom light, and something starts crawling away. I really don't want to know what it is, but the fact that something is there freaks me out.

On the coding front (;)), I just need to get the darn 'ship.sync' to work properly. Well, it works properly (it's the function that prevents 2 ships from trying to place satellites in the same sector, or go to the same station to get satellites). But for some reason it seems to 'drop' ships under some indetermined circumstance. So basically the ship.sync function doesn't know the ship exists, so ships go back to going to the same spot.

Once I can nail that one down, I should be good.

Bh
Take your time, good things mostly need patience :wink: .

It was not earlier than today that I realized that I finally are in need of a sattelite deploying script. Everyone knows that from time to time station get destroyed, or they just disappear and you read this in a BBS news report. In the past my universe lost only unimportant stations - at least they were unimportant for me. But today a "pbc factory" was whipped from the map and I used to buy at that station :shock: .

I know that there will be a replacment station....SOMEWHERE. And this is were your sattelite deployer jumps in and does the job for me. I need to constantly update the whereabouts of factories I need to equip my ships!

PS: About the things that used to crawl in the bathroom....I thank god every day for not living in a country with....dangerous snakes, scorpions, frogs and so on. There's maybe one dangerous snake in this country (germany) and I've never met one in my life (though I use to wander trough nature quite often). :D
Commanding Officer of the 'Dragon Corporation'
Image

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 16:55

Ok, finally got the new version released. I'd appreciate if someone out there can host it as well, as the machine it's on now is somewhat flakey at times, and I'm going to away and unable to reboot it if it crashes.

Hopefully this release is bug-free (ha!), but if you run into any abnormalities, let me know.

Bh

TycHouse
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by TycHouse » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:12

I am hosting the file here, any updates please let me know.

cheers
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core 4.0GHz Processor
ASrock Extreme 3 R2.0 Motherboard
8Gb memory
2 x AMD HD7770 Graphics (Crossfire not enabled)
Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit SP2

X-it
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3

Post by X-it » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:27

Nice! Thank you very much. Small question:
Bhruic wrote:"Continue" - This determines how the ship will act when it is required to resupply (purchase more satellites). If this is set to '1', the ship will return to the sector it was at previously, and choose a new destination from there. If this is set to '0', the ship will not return, and will begin deploying from its new location.
If set to 0, it will start deploying sats at or close to where it bought the new sats, while set to 1 will make it return to the sector it was in when it ran out of sats?

If it is set to deploy 8 sats per sector, will it deploy its current hold of for example 5 sats, and then go and buy new ones, or will it only start the deployment if it has at least 8 sats in the hold?

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:48

X-it wrote:If set to 0, it will start deploying sats at or close to where it bought the new sats, while set to 1 will make it return to the sector it was in when it ran out of sats?
Basically, yes.
If it is set to deploy 8 sats per sector, will it deploy its current hold of for example 5 sats, and then go and buy new ones, or will it only start the deployment if it has at least 8 sats in the hold?
The former. As long as it has a satellite in cargo, it will try and use it - it will only buy more when it completely runs out.

Bh

X-it
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3

Post by X-it » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:56

Thanks! Brilliant work on this. Lots of 'intelligent' features in it. Well done for completing something that others have had to give up on. Is this added to the community scripts sticky?

Bhruic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu, 22. Jul 04, 01:40
x3tc

Post by Bhruic » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 18:04

Not yet, I'm waiting to see if I get any "This completely hosed my game!" comments first. ;)

Bh

User avatar
Anoik
Posts: 2237
Joined: Fri, 9. Apr 04, 19:20
x3tc

Post by Anoik » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 18:17

Can this script replace a destroyed sat if needed, withoutme commanding the ship to do it?.

For example, i want to have one ship in my capital ship assigned to a home sector. Then i want it to deploy sats in all the sectors that are one jump away of the home sector, then return to the capital ship and go out away again only if one or more sats are destroyed and replace those. It's possible

User avatar
ajw2255
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat, 8. Oct 05, 22:53
x3

Post by ajw2255 » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 18:50

hey there

Love the script very useful,

However iv been using two ships to drop the sats and they have duplicated them in a couple of sectors. Just to let u know.
Destroy the mothership and the cards will fall like a stack of dominoes. Checkmate

X-it
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3

Post by X-it » Sat, 7. Jan 06, 18:55

Bhruic wrote:Not yet, I'm waiting to see if I get any "This completely hosed my game!" comments first. ;)

Bh
Well I'm not sure if THIS hosed my game, but I just had to resest my PC after a 'sound-loop freeze'... :shock: Never had that happening before. I've installed several other script updates though, so I couldn't tell if it's this or something else.

Anyway, I did notice something:

I've had a Disco doing the deployment so far. When I started the game just now after installing this update, I tried to set the order to deploy advanced sats again. I immediately got the 'command accepted' message, without the new input options.

I tried to set its order to 'None', and then 'Re-init script caches' in the script editor. Then I gave it the command again, but the same thing happened; no extra options.

I haven't checked, but does this update completely overwrite the earlier version, or do I need to remove some files from the old version?

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”