[Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Farnham's Legacy

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for the X3:FL Forums

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 21231
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

[Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 21. Apr 21, 17:09

Please post any questions regarding galaxy editing here

Herman2000
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat, 24. Aug 13, 22:20
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Herman2000 » Sat, 24. Apr 21, 16:31

Is the addition of sectors in the in-game-editor still reliant on 00749.bod? Can the game generate the file autonomously?

User avatar
Ketraar
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 10070
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 24. Apr 21, 17:41

No the 00749.bod is a separate file and needs to exist prior to adding sectors.

I had made a Flatt Map Bod that would include all sectors. In the post there is a link to the tool I used to make it. That tool allows you to make a bod from a map file with all the connections. It also allows you to manually arrange the position of the sectors in the bod to make it look more interesting ingame. Though it will always be in a grid and flat. If you want to add depth or position sectors so they are not in a grid, you would need to manually edit the bod and change the coordinates to fit your liking. Its rather tedious to do manually tbh, so I don't think its worth doing.

So basically you could use the full map bod I linked, create your map to your liking and then use that map file to create your own bod file with the Map Tool, pretty straight forward.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

Hellfire_Daemon
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu, 23. Dec 10, 21:03
x3tc

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Hellfire_Daemon » Fri, 21. May 21, 22:57

So I'm a total beginner, but what I'd love to be able to do is edit the existing universe without having to start from scratch. I love the universe, but I'd like to personalize it a bit... Is this possible without having to rebuild from scratch?

User avatar
Ketraar
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 10070
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Ketraar » Sat, 22. May 21, 00:10

You can add things to an existing map, but its tricky and requires some MD abuse. Depending on what you want it can be simple and easy or very tricky.

The most difficult thing about changing existing map is adjusting planets, moons and suns, its not possible as far as I know and if its possible its by using some SE hacks which I would not know how to do it. Adding things is rather simple though, as map files can be "patched" in, you just need to be carful that the things being added dont collide with exiting things and it should be safe.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

Hellfire_Daemon
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu, 23. Dec 10, 21:03
x3tc

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Hellfire_Daemon » Mon, 31. May 21, 10:52

Thank you, I think I'll hold off for now, I'm just not confident enough in my abilities!

dirkf
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed, 7. Jan 04, 01:34
x3tc

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by dirkf » Thu, 23. Sep 21, 15:17

Ketraar wrote:
Sat, 24. Apr 21, 17:41
No the 00749.bod is a separate file and needs to exist prior to adding sectors.
I had made a Flatt Map Bod that would include all sectors. I
Hello,

for a completely new user/modder, can you link to a tutorial that explains how to use that file, or how to add new sectors to an existing map?

I haven't found any tutorial or post that explains the how-to unfortunately.

User avatar
Ketraar
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 10070
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Ketraar » Thu, 23. Sep 21, 15:49

I'll try and create a tutorial video soon™

MFG

Ketraar
Image

Realspace
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed, 15. Nov 06, 11:21
xr

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Realspace » Fri, 12. Nov 21, 10:11

I am working on a significant modification of the map by following the vanilla approach, adding close sectors (beta, gamma etc.). Made a lot of new custom planets each specific for any cluster, enlarged the space and changed the logic of station placenent. No problem up to now but...how to make Betty say the right name after you change it in the T file?? F.i. "Herron's nebula beta" instead of "Power circle"? The name shows but Betty keeps saying the old
Am close to relasing this mod except for this issue.
Thanks

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by alexalsp » Fri, 12. Nov 21, 11:17

Realspace wrote:
Fri, 12. Nov 21, 10:11
I am working on a significant modification of the map by following the vanilla approach, adding close sectors (beta, gamma etc.). Made a lot of new custom planets each specific for any cluster, enlarged the space and changed the logic of station placenent. No problem up to now but...how to make Betty say the right name after you change it in the T file?? F.i. "Herron's nebula beta" instead of "Power circle"? The name shows but Betty keeps saying the old
Am close to relasing this mod except for this issue.
Thanks
1) Make changes to the T file.
2) Do voice acting of sectors wav format 16 or 32 bit stereo / mono.
3) Each voice-over file must be added to the general audio track at the end, the addon2 \ mov \ 00344.dat file, and the start / end / length time in milliseconds must be entered in the 00044.xml time table.

If you find a tool for this from someone, it will be great. Otherwise, you will have to do everything manually.

User avatar
Ketraar
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 10070
Joined: Fri, 21. May 04, 17:15
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Ketraar » Fri, 12. Nov 21, 11:45

Realspace wrote:
Fri, 12. Nov 21, 10:11
I am working on a significant modification of the map by following the vanilla approach, adding close sectors (beta, gamma etc.). Made a lot of new custom planets each specific for any cluster, enlarged the space and changed the logic of station placenent. No problem up to now but...how to make Betty say the right name after you change it in the T file?? F.i. "Herron's nebula beta" instead of "Power circle"? The name shows but Betty keeps saying the old
Am close to relasing this mod except for this issue.
Thanks
In the map file change the text ID for the sector name.

Code: Select all

nameid="102xxxx" descid="103xxxx"
Where they point to voiced lines in page 7 and (non voiced) 19 for the description.

MFG

Ketraar
Image

Realspace
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed, 15. Nov 06, 11:21
xr

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Realspace » Sat, 13. Nov 21, 15:56

Ok I think I got how it works. Btw looking at the 0001-L044 at the custom names to be pointed in the map, I saw these lines that are probably a typo error

Code: Select all

 <t id="1023929">{7,1020419} {12,100}(Oscean of Fanasy alpha)</t>
 <t id="1023930">{7,1020419} {12,101}(Oscean of Fanasy beta)</t>
 <t id="1023931">{7,1020419} {12,102}(Oscean of Fanasy gamma)</t>
 <t id="1023932">{7,1020419} {12,103}(Oscean of Fanasy delta)</t>
In conclusion, say I want to make a new sector called "Menelaus' Frontier beta" I make a new unique id number at the bottom, like this example:

Code: Select all

 <t id="1024093">{7,1020104} {12,101}(Menelaus' Frontier beta)</t>
where '1024093' is the next number possible after the last (Xenon hub) and '102104' the id of Menelaus' Frontier in vanilla and '101' the id for 'beta'
then in the map I use the '1024093' as custom name
Last edited by Realspace on Sat, 13. Nov 21, 16:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by alexalsp » Sat, 13. Nov 21, 16:39

<page id="7" title="Boardcomp. Sectornames" descr="Names of all sectors (spoken by Boardcomputer)" voice="yes">

Code: Select all

<t id="1020419">Ocean of Fantasy</t>

Code: Select all

<t id="1023929">{7,1020419} {12,100}(Oscean of Fanasy alpha)</t>
 <t id="1023930">{7,1020419} {12,101}(Oscean of Fanasy beta)</t>
 <t id="1023931">{7,1020419} {12,102}(Oscean of Fanasy gamma)</t>
 <t id="1023932">{7,1020419} {12,103}(Oscean of Fanasy delta)</t>
<page id="12" title="Boardcomp. greek" descr="Spoken greek letters" voice="yes">

Code: Select all

 <t id="100">alpha</t>
 <t id="101">beta</t>
 <t id="102">gamma</t>
 <t id="103">delta</t>
and displayed on the map as:

Code: Select all

 <t id="1023930">Oscean of Fanasy beta</t>
 <t id="1023931">Oscean of Fanasy gamma</t>
 <t id="1023932">Oscean of Fanasy delta</t>
There is no mistake. In this form, the name of the sector from line identifiers. Of course, if you didn't mean something else.

Code: Select all

(Oscean of Fanasy delta)
In brackets, just information, hints, etc. in the game are not visible.

Realspace
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed, 15. Nov 06, 11:21
xr

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Realspace » Sat, 13. Nov 21, 16:45

alexalsp wrote:
Sat, 13. Nov 21, 16:39
In brackets, just information, hints, etc. in the game are not visible.
right right, they are not shown, as in the example of my names, now I got it.

Is it right my example for Menelaus Frontier beta?

Sorry for the dummy question (I never edited the T file) but.. do I simply make a new 0001-L044 with the new lines and put in my mod or do I have to make a kind of patch that adds those lines?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 21231
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Re: [Discussion] Generic Galaxy Editing Questions

Post by Cycrow » Sat, 13. Nov 21, 17:12

i suggest not using the id 102XXXX.

any ID will work as long as its in page 7.

you could pick something lime 10000 (or the next free number)

The reason for this, is that normally the sector texts are 102YYXX using the sector coordinates. The original texts use those because they were added before the map was able to override the text id. Now you can manually set the id to anything, best to use a different range

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Farnham's Legacy - Scripts and Modding”