Sector Planner v1.5 - NOW RELEASED (1 October 2005)

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Jethro Smiles
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue, 10. Feb 04, 15:01
x3

Post by Jethro Smiles » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 21:23

PEACHY :D
Goner But Not Forgotten

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 21:49

X-it wrote: - When adding your own stations to a sector, I suspect adding the ones of your own closed loops will give false results. So it's best to leave those out, and only add the ones actually selling to the AI?
Regards,
A closed (or open for that matter) loop shouldn't matter as long as the complete loop is implemented as you should be consuming all of the resources you are producing apart from the final product - which is correct.

In essence the resources your loop factories create are consumed by your other loop factories and therefore cancel each other out in the resource usage display - as would be expected.

It could cause a little confusion as you could produce more silicon / ore than you use but is not available to NPC's (due to trade with other races set to no), although as long as you're aware of this it shouldn't cause any problems.

HTH

LS

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 22:02

X-it wrote: - What exactly does the value of the above mentioned list indicate? Like in Kingdom End there is a -6 value of energy cells. Does it mean that there are not enough energy produced in the sector to 'fuel' 6 of the stations there?
X-it: Sorry I missed this point in the first response....

A negative value indicates demand and a positive value indicates oversupply.
Brodie wrote:You might wanna include a help guide for the younger players and the stupid ones like me!
I will try to put something brief together on the websites in the next few days, along with adding to the FAQ, however I would like to get some more questions etc to locate the areas where things need more detailed explanation.

If anyone has any issues or thinks the user interface could be improved in certains areas (I know of a couple of places already!) or even has feature requests please let me know as I would like SectorPlanner to be as useful as it possibly can be!

Cheers

LS

sq_paradox
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat, 13. Mar 04, 07:09
x4

Post by sq_paradox » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 22:05

Would it be possible for you to add the ability to add NPC Pirate Bases to sectors in the next version?

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 22:19

sq_paradox wrote:Would it be possible for you to add the ability to add NPC Pirate Bases to sectors in the next version?
Paradox, yeah I was looking into it yesterday (well early hours of this morning actually!). I can add the functionality, the only problem is that the products stocked by pirate bases varies. However I could make it so that you can add a "standard" pirate base and then you might have to add or remove one to two products to make it fit the new one in your game.

If someone knows differently (i.e. all respawned pirate bases have the same products) then please let me know!

Cheers

LS

PS I'll put this on the todo list for the next release.

sq_paradox
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat, 13. Mar 04, 07:09
x4

Post by sq_paradox » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 22:52

Thanks, and I'll take a look at whether my respawned bases have the same products... although they may not be representative of all respawned bases (only have 2 that respawned).

And once again, nice work.

Edit: My respawned pirated bases do not have the same products.

Titaniumplanck
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed, 17. Mar 04, 18:49
x3ap

Post by Titaniumplanck » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 23:14

This Thing has proved itself as valuable resource in my search for fortune... Basically WELL DONE!!! :P :P :P :P

Shingen
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun, 29. Feb 04, 03:30
x2

Post by Shingen » Sat, 24. Apr 04, 23:52

A negative value indicates demand and a positive value indicates oversupply.
Really great work, but what exactly do the numbers represent? Say there is a -2.33 demand for stott spices in Argon Prime, does that mean stations, units, or percentage or what?

Also, does the program read my current game universe ( changed through game-play over time ), or does it read a default, generic game state as in the universe in a new game?

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 00:15

Shingen wrote:
A negative value indicates demand and a positive value indicates oversupply.
Really great work, but what exactly do the numbers represent? Say there is a -2.33 demand for stott spices in Argon Prime, does that mean stations, units, or percentage or what?

Also, does the program read my current game universe ( changed through game-play over time ), or does it read a default, generic game state as in the universe in a new game?
The numbers are standard factory units, basically 1 resprents the output or input of one factory. The frational units (generally 1/3 or multiples thereof) are due to either secondary resource (1/3 of a unit) or a mine with a yield that is not a multiple of 25. There is a bit more information in the FAQ at http://www.lagerchurch.com/lordsuch/faq.asp

Unfortunately the program does not read anything about your current save games, you have to enter the factory locations etc. manually.

HTH

Cheers

LS
Last edited by LordSuch on Sun, 2. Oct 05, 21:03, edited 1 time in total.

X-it
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3

Post by X-it » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 04:52

LordSuch wrote:A closed (or open for that matter) loop shouldn't matter as long as the complete loop is implemented as you should be consuming all of the resources you are producing apart from the final product - which is correct.
Thank you. Seems my logic was not quite Vulcan there... :roll:

And thanks again for this great tool. I hope this becomes a sticky, or at least included in the Ultimate Guide sticky already there.
ASUS A8R32-MVP DELUXE
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.2 Ghz
OCZ 2048MB Dual Channel Platinum Edition RAM
WD Raptor X 150GB SATA 16MB 10000RPM
Radeon X1900XTX 512MB PCIe 16x
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Lian Li Miditower PC6070BSCAND w/Hiper R580W PSU
Win XP Pro SP2 w/MS dual-core CPU hotfix

Grey Mark
Posts: 414
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 11:49
x3

Post by Grey Mark » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 08:56

LS wrote
If anyone has any issues or thinks the user interface could be improved in certains areas (I know of a couple of places already!) or even has feature requests please let me know as I would like SectorPlanner to be as useful as it possibly can be!
One feature I would like to see in this fine utility is the ability to print off some or all of the data for a system.

Even without the ability to print the data, it is very usefull.

Brodie wrote
Great stuff, if there are any Moderators listening, THIS NEEDS TO BE STICKIED!!!!!!!
x-it wrote
And thanks again for this great tool. I hope this becomes a sticky, or at least included in the Ultimate Guide sticky already there.
I second or third those requests!

Mark

Orillion
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun, 30. Nov 03, 17:07
x4

Post by Orillion » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 10:18

First thing, nice program

i saw that you wrote : program does not read anything about your current save games.

Wold it be possible to pull the data from the savegame about factori locations and such from the save game ???

And the next thing, would it be possible to port the application to the Symbian OS ( version 7.0 ) its used by mobiles ( Motorola A920/A925, P800 and such ) Could be cool to have the info by the hand :)
Processor: AMD AM4 Ryzen 5 2600 @ 3.7 Ghz
Motherboard: MSI X470 GAMING PLUS
Ram: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200Mhz
GFX: Inno3D GeForce GTX 1070 iChill X3 8GB
Harddrive(s): Samsung Evo 970 250GB - Samsung Evo 960 500 GB - Western Digital Blue 1 TB

b-b-q
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat, 13. Mar 04, 02:08
x2

Post by b-b-q » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 10:42

I'm not easily impressed. This thing impresses me. Thanks and great job.

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 11:43

Orillion wrote:First thing, nice program
Wold it be possible to pull the data from the savegame about factori locations and such from the save game ???

And the next thing, would it be possible to port the application to the Symbian OS ( version 7.0 ) its used by mobiles ( Motorola A920/A925, P800 and such ) Could be cool to have the info by the hand :)
If someone has some documentation of the X2 save game file format I might consider reading the factories from the save file, however I've got a feeling that egosoft have changed the save game format in every patch they've released - and the idea of having to write and test a significant piece of code like that every time egosoft releases a patch fills me with dread :P

A port to Windows CE may be possible (I don't know if the compact .NET framework supports all of the API's I used) however it cannot be ported to Symbian unless someone releases a .NET framework for it (well without completely rewriting the application).

*thinks* I might think about that save game exporter if I can find some docs on the save game format.....

Edit: A custom universe save game could really screw that save game importer up....

Cheers

LS
Last edited by LordSuch on Sun, 25. Apr 04, 12:02, edited 1 time in total.

LordSuch
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue, 22. Apr 03, 16:08
x3

Post by LordSuch » Sun, 25. Apr 04, 11:49

Grey Mark wrote:LS wrote
One feature I would like to see in this fine utility is the ability to print off some or all of the data for a system.
Mark, what data in particular would you like to see printed?

Let me know and I'll look into it.

Cheers


LS

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”