Autonomous pilots query - how to move mk3 pilots and other questions?

General discussion about X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Moderators for the X3:FL Forums

Snafu_X3
x3tc

Autonomous pilots query - how to move mk3 pilots and other questions?

Post by Snafu_X3 » Sat, 8. May 21, 02:03

OK, I've picked up a reasonable (L15) potential pilot (by buying his ship in space) & want to transfer him to my fully-kitted Mercury to start some sector trading

This is my first time using the FL version of Mk3 trading (done it many times in R & TC), so forgive my stumbles :)
  • Do I need to hire him prior to transferring him to the correct ship, or do I need to transfer him first and then hire him?
  • Do I need CLS (cargo life support) on his trading ship in order to successfully transfer him over (prior to hiring)? If later I wish to transfer him to another (third) ship, will <destination>ship need CLS too?
  • Do I need to retain that CLS module on his ship once he's hired?
  • Presumably he'll pay his own wages from the trading profits he makes, but if there's a shortfall due to my mismanagement of his trading area, he'll make that up from my personal account (if not homebased, when he'll use that station's account)?
  • How will he follow direct orders, esp if (partially) full of wares? Eg if I change his trade location from Kingdom End to The Void, will he (intelligently) sell all necessary cargo locally to make space for the Ecells necessary to make that initial huge jump, or will he slowboat his way across all sectors in between, ignoring potential threats?
  • WRT starting eqpt, is it still necessary to have Nav1, Trade1 installed on their ship before Trade3 can be used? Encyclopaedia is unclear on this..
  • Will a ST promoted to UT still go off & buy/receive a JD automatically?
  • Possibly more queries to follow as I experiment..
Last edited by X2-Illuminatus on Sat, 8. May 21, 19:12, edited 1 time in total.