Linux version?

General discussion about X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Moderators for the X3:FL Forums

gnu.beef
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon, 12. Aug 19, 17:51
x3tc

Linux version?

Post by gnu.beef » Tue, 6. Apr 21, 17:41

Will I be able to play Farham's Legacy on my linux version of X3AP 3.3 from steam?
X3TC (vanilla+bp): X-TREME/X-TREME 2019-08-31
X3AP (vanilla+bp): Opportunist/Harmless

eagledelta
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu, 18. Jun 20, 17:34
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by eagledelta » Tue, 6. Apr 21, 19:54

This! I play all my X games on Linux and would rather NOT have to install a second copy of X3 via WINE to plat Farnham's Legacy

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 40942
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by CBJ » Tue, 6. Apr 21, 19:58

Maybe. We can't promise anything as our resources for this are limited and are not available at all in the short term, but we will try.

eagledelta
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu, 18. Jun 20, 17:34
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by eagledelta » Tue, 6. Apr 21, 20:08

Is there a lot that is needed for a Linux version to run? I mean, all the core is there. Is this just some cat/dat files that could run with the main binary?

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 40942
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by CBJ » Tue, 6. Apr 21, 20:53

No, it's not a huge amount of work, but it's work nonetheless, and from someone who is extremely busy at the moment.

Otas Elite
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed, 24. Sep 08, 19:29
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by Otas Elite » Thu, 8. Apr 21, 12:37

Are there any changes that would prevent someone capable of modding x3 to get it to run under linux?

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 40942
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by CBJ » Thu, 8. Apr 21, 12:40

Unless I've missed a really major development in the world of modding, I don't think modding works how you think it does! A Linux version requires us to create a Linux executable. Modding generally involves changing anything except the executable. :)

Otas Elite
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed, 24. Sep 08, 19:29
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by Otas Elite » Thu, 8. Apr 21, 12:41

Ah didn´t realize there would be a new executable.

EUS
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 13. Nov 18, 21:56

Re: Linux version?

Post by EUS » Thu, 15. Apr 21, 14:42

I'd love to see this too, as I don't run MS.

Otas Elite
Posts: 969
Joined: Wed, 24. Sep 08, 19:29
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by Otas Elite » Thu, 22. Apr 21, 22:50

With a bit of luck we could get it to run under proton. I tried the old X3 AP with proton GE 6.5-GE-2. Unfortunately it just completly hangs a few seconds after starting a new game. Renders fine, Sounds fine but then just dies.

Prosik
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri, 22. Aug 08, 23:44
x3tc

Re: Linux version?

Post by Prosik » Mon, 26. Apr 21, 01:33

Please also consider an intel Mac version.
I can understand not having the M1 mac version but the intel Mac version should be similar enough to the Linux version.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 40942
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by CBJ » Mon, 26. Apr 21, 09:09

Sorry, but there won't be a Mac version. Even if we do manage to produce a Linux version at some point, just being "similar" to Linux doesn't really reduce the significant additional overheads associated with adapting, testing and getting a game approved for the Mac, and we simply can't afford to do that that for a free game.

Turmfalke2
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun, 16. Dec 12, 22:15

Re: Linux version?

Post by Turmfalke2 » Sat, 1. May 21, 00:45

Yes, please try to build it for linux. When I first read about Farnham's Legacy I wasn't even aware that there might not be a linux build.

eagledelta
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu, 18. Jun 20, 17:34
x4

Re: Linux version?

Post by eagledelta » Tue, 4. May 21, 17:49

Prosik wrote:
Mon, 26. Apr 21, 01:33
Please also consider an intel Mac version.
I can understand not having the M1 mac version but the intel Mac version should be similar enough to the Linux version.
Last I saw, X3 is a 32-bit game and won't work on Mac OS Catalina or newer since 32-bit libraries were removed. I'm not even sure a Mac Port is possible

Prosik
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri, 22. Aug 08, 23:44
x3tc

Re: Linux version?

Post by Prosik » Tue, 4. May 21, 18:07

I am permanently stuck on 10.13.6 High Sierra anyway as I have nvidia graphics.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Farnham's Legacy”