My Resource Factory Is Completed!

General discussion about X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Moderators for the X3:FL Forums

Post Reply
Iwantyoursmiles
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 4. Sep 21, 20:37
xr

My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Iwantyoursmiles » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 03:05

The Build Image

Stats Image

In Space https://i.imgur.com/pjXWUS6.png

Map View https://i.imgur.com/F2ilb6j.png

This was built with manual placement and asteroid hauling. Production is scaled proportionately for Trans Orbitals Accelerator Construction Kits.

Mistakes I made:
  • In my haste to make the most out of upgrade kits I started designing the complex with a single XXL Quantum Tube Fab and scaled the rest of the complex based on its production. What I should have done instead is consider how long it takes to actually craft a TOAck and meet that demand. As a result this factory produces goods faster than the HQ can even consume them (1.74x too much)
  • When calculating whether or not to use upgrade kits I forgot to include the cost of Complex Extension Kits (Dang that's a lot of BoFu/BoGas fabs!)
  • I assumed 11 XXL silicon asteroids would get the job done. I came up short. Oh well, nothing a few assigned dedicated miners can't fix!
The complex planner is awesome and I've gotten a lot of use out of it. With that said, I do have some complaints:
  • Adding asteroids is clunky. It requires that asteroids be in the sector you selected and scanned. I should be allowed to simply add theoretical asteroids. To get around this I started by building the complex consisting of only the 11 silicon mines and then loaded that pre existing complex into the planner and saved it which led to my next 2 gripes
  • When you load a pre existing complex into the planner it cannot be edited. You can add new stations but cannot edit what's already there.
  • The complex planner changed its cycle time to 01:20:00 because of the quantum tube fab but the cycle time for my silicon asteroid complex in the planner was at 01:00:00. So to compare how much silicon I was producing to how much I was consuming I had to math it out. It would be really nice if the cycle time could be manually adjusted. This would have made things even easier as I could adjust the cycle time to the crafting time of TOAck [04:24:16]
  • It is not always prudent to have exactly the same amount of stations upgraded to the same level. Maybe I need 10 XXL solar plants and a single L. The planner does not allow this (Unless you mix races)
Last edited by Terre on Tue, 14. Sep 21, 08:43, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Images posted directly to the forums should not be greater than 640x480 or 100kb, oversize image now linked

Jimmy C
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue, 17. Jul 12, 02:50
x3tc

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Jimmy C » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 04:23

Another way to do it is to choose a different start size, that forces the Planner to add the station as a different entry. For example, 10 XL to XXL stations, and one L to XL station. That should have worked for your case.

Sovereign01
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed, 25. May 05, 14:38
x4

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Sovereign01 » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 04:51

How many credits did that cost to build in the end?
In The Threat, the Odysseus was the ship of choice.

In Terran Conflict, it was my Skirnirs that brought the destruction.

In AP, it was my fleet that greeted the Xenon!

Iwantyoursmiles
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 4. Sep 21, 20:37
xr

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Iwantyoursmiles » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 05:41

Sovereign01 wrote:
Tue, 14. Sep 21, 04:51
How many credits did that cost to build in the end?
The planner says something like 411 million for everything without the silicon mines but I used a mix of buying things from shipyards and stealing blueprints and crafting things myself at HQ.
The planner also doesn't account for the cost of upgrade kits.

Image

Agimar
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed, 22. Dec 04, 12:38
x3ap

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Agimar » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 09:11

Holy shit! :D

I'll go on with recycling of capital ships for buldiung TOA.

Deathifier
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
xr

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Deathifier » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 09:50

Very nice, though I am wondering why you didn't upgrade some of those L and XL stations to XXL to cut the total number down somewhat?

Iwantyoursmiles
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 4. Sep 21, 20:37
xr

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Iwantyoursmiles » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 15:13

Deathifier wrote:
Tue, 14. Sep 21, 09:50
Very nice, though I am wondering why you didn't upgrade some of those L and XL stations to XXL to cut the total number down somewhat?
Yeah I really goofed there. I forgot to account for the cost of Extension kits when designing the factory.

Sovereign01
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed, 25. May 05, 14:38
x4

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Sovereign01 » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 18:29

Welp, looks like I need to sell some more nividium to raise the credits. What I've sold so far will only get me halfway there! :lol:
In The Threat, the Odysseus was the ship of choice.

In Terran Conflict, it was my Skirnirs that brought the destruction.

In AP, it was my fleet that greeted the Xenon!

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 21089
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Cycrow » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 19:42

Iwantyoursmiles wrote:
Tue, 14. Sep 21, 05:41
Sovereign01 wrote:
Tue, 14. Sep 21, 04:51
How many credits did that cost to build in the end?
The planner says something like 411 million for everything without the silicon mines but I used a mix of buying things from shipyards and stealing blueprints and crafting things myself at HQ.
The planner also doesn't account for the cost of upgrade kits.

Image
it includes the cost of the upgrade kits, complex hub and extension kits in the Deployment menu

Iwantyoursmiles
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 4. Sep 21, 20:37
xr

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Iwantyoursmiles » Tue, 14. Sep 21, 21:12

This is without the silicon mines https://i.imgur.com/EoR0Iiu.png

11 Silicon mines fully upgraded would cost 271561092

So 949528724 total complex cost.
Last edited by Terre on Wed, 15. Sep 21, 07:42, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Images posted directly to the forums should not be greater than 640x480 or 100kb, oversize image now linked

Sovereign01
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed, 25. May 05, 14:38
x4

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Sovereign01 » Wed, 15. Sep 21, 05:13

So, nearly a billion credits? I'm definitely going to have to capture and sell some capships. Now that my OTAS rep is high enough I can finally buy my Sirokos so when my marines finish training they'll have a launch platform at last.
In The Threat, the Odysseus was the ship of choice.

In Terran Conflict, it was my Skirnirs that brought the destruction.

In AP, it was my fleet that greeted the Xenon!

Iwantyoursmiles
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 4. Sep 21, 20:37
xr

Re: My Resource Factory Is Completed!

Post by Iwantyoursmiles » Wed, 15. Sep 21, 06:57

What I did was steal most of the blueprints needed for this station from the boron. With a police license you get a bounty hunter bonus for killing enemies in their sectors. That stacks with any other bonuses you have for friendly relations / passivism which resulted in a full 100% discount. So long as I had agent tasks to burn I was firing them non stop at the boron for station blueprints.

I also built a much smaller scale resource factory. My HQ was getting all the ingredients it needed, just slowly.

I queued up the entire complex in the HQ and then left my game on SETA 10x overnight. The next morning I had the whole 1 billion dollar complex sitting in my HQ ready for deployment.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Farnham's Legacy”