Page 1 of 1

[Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships - WAI, explained.

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 15:30
by Vanethian
Hello, I've got a big graphical issue with ships, in stations and not only. Practically I see them as a kind of geometric cloud with no textures, I don't know how to explain it better. Can you help?

I've got a recent i5 with 16GB of ram, Nvidia GTX 1660. I tried changing graphic setting in game but nothing solves this issue.

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 20:02
by Alan Phipps
"Can you help?" - Not really. Also did you instead mean for this to be in the Public Beta forum if it is about a new issue that only started in 3.0?

A screenshot may help you to describe the issue better.

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 21:25
by Vanethian
Ah yes, it appeared with Beta 3.0 . Here is an image:

http://vanethian.com/images/graphical-bug.jpg

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 21:44
by Meister_Lampe
These are ships getting constructed :)

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 21:49
by Alan Phipps
Correct. If there are resources available to build the ship and you continue to watch, you will see the gaps being filled in and the ship hull becoming better defined. If the picture doesn't change at all then there are missing ship-building resources and so no build progress.

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships - WAI, explained.

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 21:55
by Vanethian
ok and when this has been included in the game? because I never saw that :-)

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships - WAI, explained.

Posted: Sat, 4. Jan 20, 21:57
by Alan Phipps
Since first release.

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships - WAI, explained.

Posted: Sun, 5. Jan 20, 02:58
by Skeeter
Same if you say upgrade a gun on a ship, it will actually construct the new one as u watch if your quick enough to go see it be built after the upgrade order. Not sure why it needs to happen like that instead of a ai npc just actually remove and install a rdy built weapon on it but probs too much work for em so they do the poly by poly approach.

It would look better tho if work crews were around with tools showing construction instead of magically popping in polys appearing all over for ship building but again i guess its easier for ego and less effort for em.

Re: [Beta 3.0] Graphical Issue with Ships - WAI, explained.

Posted: Sun, 5. Jan 20, 17:58
by Rastuasi
Skeeter wrote:
Sun, 5. Jan 20, 02:58
It would look better tho if work crews were around with tools showing construction instead of magically popping in polys appearing all over for ship building but again i guess its easier for ego and less effort for em.
No need, it's called nanobots, been used in construction since X:R if not sooner. Cannot see them as they're too small in perspective to the ship.