[TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

This forum provides information on obtaining access to Public Beta versions of X4: Foundations allowing people running those versions to provide feedback on their experiences.

Moderator: DevNet Public Moderators

adeine
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu, 31. Aug 17, 17:34
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by adeine » Thu, 29. Jul 21, 23:08

Fazmaster wrote:
Thu, 29. Jul 21, 21:04
Zloth2 wrote:
Thu, 29. Jul 21, 18:38
Fazmaster wrote:
Thu, 29. Jul 21, 12:25
1.) I'd often like to rotate modules by 45°, especially cross-connection joints. I think 22.5° instead of 30° might be a better fixed snap angle
What is at a 45 degree angle? The Split/Paranid tri-things would be better with 60 and the right angles need 90, so 30 seems good for both.
22.5° x 4 is 90°, but still a good point with the tri-like shapes. 15° might be a compromise. I think we could go that low as long as single steps are clearly distinguisable from each other (i.e. you see it's 30° and not 30° +/- 1 step).

Not having the increments fixed like @adeine suggested might also be a solution but might also be irritating?
I don't think it would be irritating if it gives you quick access to all the useful angles of rotation to properly connect things. It's not like this applies to free rotation; once you get used to whatever steps it offers it just saves time.

User avatar
steph_m37
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed, 25. Mar 20, 18:12
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by steph_m37 » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 06:25

Hi !

Small video to align another module to a dock.
(This is a new save game (split departure) that I started for the tests of the Beta since its launch.)

attempting to align

Steph
- ROG STRIX Z390 I9-9900k- ROG STRIX White OC 24 GB RTX 3090 - 64 GB DDR 3600  -  SSD Nvme  1to, SSD EVOplus NVme 2T, DD 3To - SoundBlaster AE-9 -- Monitor ACER Predator XB281HK  - AIO COOLER MASTER ML240R  -  Playing X4 HOTFIX 3 legacy SPLIT & TERRAN -

Imuniser
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat, 9. Jun 12, 09:30
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by Imuniser » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 06:41

I like the fact that, if you hold down the right mouse button, you can basically "fly" your view into any position you want using the keyboard. Nice!

I have noticed that, if you enter the loadout screen, the camera resets back to a default position upon exiting this screen. It would be best if the camera position is remembered. Having it reset to a default position, far away from the station thus having to move back into position can get tiresome.

Regarding the 3-axes modules rotation, I believe it would be helpful if the editor would remember the position and angle of the previous module.

BigGreenThugs
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu, 26. Mar 20, 17:50
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by BigGreenThugs » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 06:42

I don't know if this is new in beta 5 but wow! Being able to place a module outside of my build boundaries and then rotate it how I want it and then snap it to the station is GREAT! As someone who likes to build in an extremely small footprint as much as possible, This is just what I needed.

DocAce
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:26
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by DocAce » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 10:30

Fazmaster wrote:
Thu, 29. Jul 21, 12:25
2.) When rotating a module it should rotate along it's junction to an attached module, not around it's center like the teladium gießerei does
This is supposed to happen already, though only for the "predecessor" connection. Any modules that have this one as a predecessor should rotate as a sequence, the same as when you move them. If it doesn't do this then that's a bug.

DocAce
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:26
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by DocAce » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 10:32

Imuniser wrote:
Fri, 30. Jul 21, 06:41
Regarding the 3-axes modules rotation, I believe it would be helpful if the editor would remember the position and angle of the previous module.
Do you mean that, after rotating a module, a new module you select from the menu should default to that previous orientation?

DocAce
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:26
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by DocAce » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 10:33

Big thanks to all the testers, some really good feedback here!

Imuniser
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat, 9. Jun 12, 09:30
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by Imuniser » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 14:05

DocAce wrote:
Fri, 30. Jul 21, 10:32
Do you mean that, after rotating a module, a new module you select from the menu should default to that previous orientation?
Yes, so that it will easily snap to connectors without having to reposition the camera for special axis rotations. Usually one builds more than one module in a row and would speed up the process if you rotate one and then have the subsequent one keeping the same rotation.

Now that I thing of it, I have also noticed that right after you place a module and right click on it directly it will automatically rotate it instead of presenting the right click menu, one having to select (left click) something else first and then right click the newly placed module to prevent the rotation if the right click menu is desired. I would:
- have a cancel rotation option (reset the module to the default plane; default being the initial module position on the 3 axes)
- have an option to only allow right click rotation if combined with a key (e.g. holding down alt, ctrl, etc plus right click); this option should be defined in the game menu just like any other key binding actions we already have

I would also have the zoom in/out possible using the mouse scroll wheel additional to the current Z/X keys.

The above are ideas; improvements are always welcome.

Thanks @DocAce for listening to our ideas. Great work!

G315t
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun, 16. Jun 19, 17:43
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by G315t » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 15:01

Seems the sector view is not loaded correctly here.

Image

G315t
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun, 16. Jun 19, 17:43
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by G315t » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 15:17

And some small feedback for the new camera movement. I like it, I just would change the acceleration speed curve and start a bit faster, and give a faster maximum movement speed.

DocAce
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:26
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by DocAce » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 15:19

Imuniser wrote:
Fri, 30. Jul 21, 14:05
Yes, so that it will easily snap to connectors without having to reposition the camera for special axis rotations. Usually one builds more than one module in a row and would speed up the process if you rotate one and then have the subsequent one keeping the same rotation.
If you're placing multiple of the same module you should use the copy function from the right-click menu. That makes a copy with an identical orientation.

Imuniser
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat, 9. Jun 12, 09:30
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by Imuniser » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 16:44

DocAce wrote:
Fri, 30. Jul 21, 15:19
If you're placing multiple of the same module you should use the copy function from the right-click menu. That makes a copy with an identical orientation.
Indeed, however I was thinking more along the line of module-connector-module process.

Eyeklops
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue, 23. Mar 21, 18:58
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by Eyeklops » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 16:49

So having spent a few hours in the new station editor here is my feedback:

1. I liked the way the legacy (4.10 beta 4 & earlier) camera rotated around a point in front of the camera better than the camera being the rotation point. What the original lacked was the ability for the rotation center to be freely moved up/down. Adding the WASDZX movement to the legacy camera rotation point is what I am asking for.

2. I'd prefer the movement speed of the camera to be linear instead of ramping up. An option to change the movement speed via a menu slider or faster/slower keybinds would be nice.

3. I miss being able to zoom in and out with my mouse-wheel. Maybe I don't have something set correctly because it doesn't work anymore. That said, the legacy camera zoom scrolling wasn't perfect either and sometimes had much larger "steps" that expected. Frequently one step of the mousewheel would zoom past the object I wanted to get a closer look at.

4. The legacy camera had a bug (quirk?) that is not present in the new camera (Yey!). Selecting a module from the right information panel with the legacy camera snapped the rotation point to that module. If an attempt was made to move that module the camera rotation point would quickly snap back to the original origin point. Typically this would end up with the module being dragged well away from where I was working in the editor forcing me to start over. I would think the camera origin point should have remained static in this scenario.

I think I just want the legacy camera with the ability to freely move the rotation center (especially up/down) and a more refined mouse wheel zoom. It could very well be that I am not using the new camera correctly.

User avatar
steph_m37
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed, 25. Mar 20, 18:12
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by steph_m37 » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 16:51

hi!

I just try again so you must align the view in the axis of rotation of the module to turn? (I'm right!)

If you watch my video, I place the module in front of the dock so to perform my rotation (as indicated in the video), I should have oriented the view to the top

it's just my opinion but why touch the view to perform a rotation, while keeping the view
And by having the possibility to choose the axes (nodes of the module) by choosing them by with two keys of the keyboard
The axis selected in progress would be highlighted and active and here we turn around the chosen axis.
This is my opinion, but the view of the station should not interfere with the placement of the modules.

(someone can make a clear explainer video with the actual beta thk!)

Steph
- ROG STRIX Z390 I9-9900k- ROG STRIX White OC 24 GB RTX 3090 - 64 GB DDR 3600  -  SSD Nvme  1to, SSD EVOplus NVme 2T, DD 3To - SoundBlaster AE-9 -- Monitor ACER Predator XB281HK  - AIO COOLER MASTER ML240R  -  Playing X4 HOTFIX 3 legacy SPLIT & TERRAN -

Eyeklops
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue, 23. Mar 21, 18:58
x4

Re: [TESTREQUEST] Station Editor

Post by Eyeklops » Fri, 30. Jul 21, 17:25

I forgot to mention I do design for a living and spend many hours a day rotating 3D models in CAD. I've used a few different CAD packages and probably the most intuitive interface I've used selects a point on the first surface under the mouse pointer and rotates the model at that point. If there is no surface under the mouse pointer rotate the model at the geometry bounding box center. I understand there is a fundamental difference between rotating the camera around a point and rotating the model (station) around a point and that the engine X4 is built on may not easily handle this.

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Public Beta Feedback”