Page 2 of 3

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 00:07
by Cg089
Oh ok. Then it's just max being its normal finicky self.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 00:15
by Cg089
It's also possible that it's due to exactly how the converter produces the .dae (it may be technically correct, or technically incorrect). It may be that blender is slightly more forgiving, or does a slightly better job converting it than 3DS max does. You could try importing into blender and then exporting in some other format that 3DS Max accepts, but that may be hit or miss.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 00:23
by KrYcHokE
I tryed to create simple model and paint it on few color channels, then i export it and import back to max, second color channel gone, i try it for dae and fbx.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 01:43
by BrummBear02
as far as i know the collada plugin for 3ds max is pretty much crap. im guessing thats the issue

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:21
by Cadius
Okay i think the model is about ready.
Image
Image
Image
Image

Once exported back into .dae how do I convert it back into .xml? I've tried using a .bat with the export script BrummBear02 posted in the tutorial but it doesn't seem to work.

Code: Select all

FOR /R "..\X4Mod\extensions\xtra_shippack\" %%f IN (*.xml) do (
  XRConvertersMain.exe exportxmf "..\X4Mod" "%%f"
  )
pause
scrolling through the cmd, it seems that XRConverter isn't detecting the .dae. What am I doing wrong here?

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:44
by linolafett
A thing for you to know:
If ships are longer than 2km and docking sideways, then they will clip into each other when docked at the pier which looks like a fork.
Maybe scale your ship a little bit down to avoid this issue.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:52
by Cadius
linolafett wrote:
Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:44
A thing for you to know:
If ships are longer than 2km and docking sideways, then they will clip into each other when docked at the pier which looks like a fork.
Maybe scale your ship a little bit down to avoid this issue.
Yeah i was kinda worried about that and ai pathfinding. The ship has been adjusted to about the length/width of the colossus.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:54
by KrYcHokE
Or do the front docking.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:57
by linolafett
Front docking will not completely get rid of the issue, as the ships will at some point rotate to fly away from the dock, but thats mostly a bit further away from the station and will probably work for that ship, its not massively too big. Even larger ships will run into these issues more often.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 19:31
by BrummBear02
Cadius wrote:
Thu, 28. Feb 19, 18:21

Once exported back into .dae how do I convert it back into .xml? I've tried using a .bat with the export script BrummBear02 posted in the tutorial but it doesn't seem to work.

Code: Select all

FOR /R "..\X4Mod\extensions\xtra_shippack\" %%f IN (*.xml) do (
  XRConvertersMain.exe exportxmf "..\X4Mod" "%%f"
  )
pause


scrolling through the cmd, it seems that XRConverter isn't detecting the .dae. What am I doing wrong here?

Code: Select all

FOR /R "..\X4Mod\extensions\xtra_shippack\" %%f IN (*.dae) do (
  XRConvertersMain.exe exportxmf "..\X4Mod" "%%f"
  )
pause
u are trying to export a xmf. use this.

thats why id like people to tell me when they work with my tutorial. so i can find those small errors of mine ;)

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 19:49
by Cadius
alright it's detecting the dae now, but ran into an issue with textcoord
Image

I suspect it's because I didn't select UV Textures when exporting from blend to dae. I'm using Blender 2.8 and can't find the option though
Image

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Thu, 28. Feb 19, 22:22
by BrummBear02
you are right on whats causing the error. but im on blend stable build 2.7something so i cant help u with that. i recomend using that ;) as far as i know its not that different from 2.8 since the updates focus on rendering stuff

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Fri, 1. Mar 19, 07:42
by Cadius
well, thats throwing a wrench into my work. I've switched over to blender 2.79, the controls feel kinda awkward and it can't open the models I made in 2.8. And for some reason I can't view the model with the textures in the viewport.

Edit: nevermind, textures work fine in 2.79, I just forgot to add a light source

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Fri, 1. Mar 19, 13:39
by mr.WHO
Holy crap! It's Cadius!
Dude you made my favorite ship pack for X3. Great to see you again for X4!

That new XL battleship fits X4 Argon very well.

Re: [WIP] Custom Ship mod - Help needed!

Posted: Fri, 1. Mar 19, 17:13
by Cadius
Okay so i've successfully exported using Blender 2.79, but then hit another snag when converting the dae.
Image
what do i do?
mr.WHO wrote:
Fri, 1. Mar 19, 13:39
Holy crap! It's Cadius!
Dude you made my favorite ship pack for X3. Great to see you again for X4!

That new XL battleship fits X4 Argon very well.
Hey man, glad to hear it thanks. Yeah I feel despite its flaws, X4 has a lot of potential -reminds me of X3 Reunion at launch.