[mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

kuertee
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 14:05
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). new: Waypoint fields for deployments, new: Crime has consequences

Post by kuertee » Sun, 15. Nov 20, 19:16

New mod
Waypoint fields for deployments
https://www.nexusmods.com/x4foundations/mods/585
Creates waypoints that you and your wingmen can follow to deploy equipment and weapons.

Mission activation
When a mission to deploy equipment (satellites, resource probes, navigation beacons) or weapons (laser towers, mine) is activated from the base game's gm_achievecoverage or gm_deployinplace missions, a new (secondary) mission is created.

This secondary mission will guide you and your wingmen who have the necessary equipment/weapons to each point in the field. Your wingmen will deploy the necessary equipment/weapon at each point. The density of the waypoints and the size of the field are automatically set according to the equipment's (or the weapon's) functional range and according to the requirements of the mission.

When the primary mission is ccompleted, because the required coverage is filled, for example, this secondary mission will also end. Your wingmen will retrieve any deployments that were not taken over by the primary mission.

You are free to deactivate this secondary mission. But it will re-activate when the primary mission is activated.

Manual creation
You can create waypoint fields manually:
1. Create a Guidance Mission on the map (with the right-mouse click) on either an object, for example, a station or in empty space.
2. Go to the Guidance Mission menu, and click on Create Waypoint Field.
3. Configure the field in the Waypoint Field mission menu. Choose the equipment/weapon to deploy, and the shape of the field (cube or sphere).
4. A preview of the field can be created.
5. You can also order your wingmen to stop or continue with their deployments.

kuertee
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 14:05
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). new: Waypoint fields for deployments, new: Crime has consequences

Post by kuertee » Sun, 22. Nov 20, 07:53

Waypoint fields for deployments
https://www.nexusmods.com/x4foundations/mods/585

Videos:
Achieve coverage mission: https://youtu.be/9xmunLKRgOM
Find resources mission: https://youtu.be/1dzAFZIJgE0

Update:
v1.1.0, 22 Nov 2020:
-New feature: Create a Waypoint Field directly with a right-mouse click on the map.
-New feature: The Waypoint Field panel now lists its attached mission. "Show original mission" and "Show Waypoint Field mission" toggles between the two mission panels.
-New feature: The Waypoint Field mission (e.g. mission target, progress, etc.) is now attached to your last controlled ship. Previously, it would only work if you were in direct control of the ship. In this version, you're allowed to exit the ship to do other things.
-Tweak: Wingmen defaults to deploying Fried-Foe mines when performing mining missions. Manually order them to deploy other mines. Their AI is not very good at avoiding mines they deploy.
-Tweak: Better distribution of retrieved deployments. Previously, the first wingman would retrieve as much as they can, while the others would retrieve what remaining few.
-Tweak: Missions created from the base game's rml_achievecoverage.xml, rml_deployinplace.xml and rml_find_resources.xml files now create Waypoint Field missions. These underlying files are the base missions for the gm_* files previously used.
-Tweak: Increased horizontal interval of resource probe waypoints.
-Bug-fix: Completion of a waypoint previously failed for deployments that do not set their ownership immediately after deployment - causing wingmen to deploy multiple times on the one waypoint. E.g. laser towers.
-Bug-fix: For manually created Waypoint Fields that are attached to missions, wingmen deployment would stop after the first if the sector they are deploying is different from the sector of the mission.
-Bug-fix: Re-assignment of waypoint ignored by the player.
-Bug-fix: Previously fails when the target coverage from the missions was too small for the waypoint interval set in my mod. In this version, the area determines the intervals.

kmunoz
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kmunoz » Sun, 22. Nov 20, 19:05

Having an odd issue with Extensions Options, specifically Reset Mouse but it seems to be affecting everything, not sure how to track down the cause. It seems like the Extensions Options aren't holding settings, and sometimes not letting me change settings at all. So if I switch the reset mouse option from center to top-left, it doesn't actually "take." And then eventually it does, usually after I quit and restart.

The only Extension Options mods I'm using are yours (teleport, NPC reactions, reset mouse, signal leak hunter), Better Target Monitor and Named Pipes API.

I can't seem to change any of the settings on the top level menu, and the settings I change inside the kuertee options don't stay set after I exit the menu.

kmunoz
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kmunoz » Sun, 22. Nov 20, 19:05

kmunoz wrote:
Sun, 22. Nov 20, 19:05
Having an odd issue with Extensions Options, specifically Reset Mouse but it seems to be affecting everything, not sure how to track down the cause. It seems like the Extensions Options aren't holding settings, and sometimes not letting me change settings at all. So if I switch the reset mouse option from center to top-left, it doesn't actually "take." And then eventually it does, usually after I quit and restart.

The Extension Options mods I'm using are yours (teleport, NPC reactions, reset mouse, signal leak hunter), Better Target Monitor and Named Pipes API.

I can't seem to change any of the settings on the top level menu, and the settings I change inside the kuertee options don't stay set after I exit the menu.

Mycu
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri, 28. Sep 12, 08:30
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by Mycu » Sun, 22. Nov 20, 21:18

Quick info after short testing of Waypoint fields for deployments.
Game hangs when I deploy advanced satelite through quick action menu. Tried two times, same result.
It doesn't hang when placing satelite with mission inactive.

Also noticed no difference in waypoint placement when swithing between std/adv satelites.
X3 AP 3.1 + XRM
X3 AP 3.1 + LU

kuertee
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 14:05
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kuertee » Mon, 23. Nov 20, 02:08

kmunoz wrote:
Sun, 22. Nov 20, 19:05
kmunoz wrote:
Sun, 22. Nov 20, 19:05
Having an odd issue with Extensions Options, specifically Reset Mouse but it seems to be affecting everything, not sure how to track down the cause. It seems like the Extensions Options aren't holding settings, and sometimes not letting me change settings at all. So if I switch the reset mouse option from center to top-left, it doesn't actually "take." And then eventually it does, usually after I quit and restart.

The Extension Options mods I'm using are yours (teleport, NPC reactions, reset mouse, signal leak hunter), Better Target Monitor and Named Pipes API.

I can't seem to change any of the settings on the top level menu, and the settings I change inside the kuertee options don't stay set after I exit the menu.
Is it on a new game? Save the game, then reload it.
I find that the Extensions Options breaks on newly created games, but its fixed on loaded games.
Haven't reported it to SirNukes yet. I always assume that other devs have their own bug-reports from users, and didn't another dev adding to their task list.

kuertee
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 14:05
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kuertee » Mon, 23. Nov 20, 02:13

Mycu wrote:
Sun, 22. Nov 20, 21:18
Quick info after short testing of Waypoint fields for deployments.
Game hangs when I deploy advanced satelite through quick action menu. Tried two times, same result.
It doesn't hang when placing satelite with mission inactive.

Also noticed no difference in waypoint placement when swithing between std/adv satelites.
Perfect timing. I was working on better Math for my sphere waypoints last night.
Spoiler
Show

Code: Select all

						<!-- start: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/24273990/calculating-evenly-spaced-points-on-the-perimeter-of-a-circle -->
						<!-- totalPoints = 8;
							for (var i = 1; i <= totalPoints  ; i++) {
							    drawPoint(100, i, totalPoints);
							}
							function drawPoint(r, currentPoint, totalPoints) {  
							    var theta = ((Math.PI*2) / totalPoints);
							    var angle = (theta * currentPoint);
							    electron.pivot.x = (r * Math.cos(angle));
							    electron.pivot.y = (r * Math.sin(angle));
							    return electron;
							} -->
						<!-- end: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/24273990/calculating-evenly-spaced-points-on-the-perimeter-of-a-circle -->
						<!-- length of a circle: s = 2 π r (θ/360°) -->
						<!-- https://math.stackexchange.com/questions/642176/finding-the-radius-of-a-circle-that-intersects-a-sphere -->
						<!-- sqrt (radius * radius - y * y) -->
But before I went to bed, when I was testing this (and decided to try Advanced Satellites), my game crashed.
So, there must be something there. I decided to leave looking at it today. I'll try to get a new version out with the fix along with the better math tonight after work.

kmunoz
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kmunoz » Mon, 23. Nov 20, 03:56

kuertee wrote:
Mon, 23. Nov 20, 02:08
Is it on a new game? Save the game, then reload it.
I find that the Extensions Options breaks on newly created games, but its fixed on loaded games.
Haven't reported it to SirNukes yet. I always assume that other devs have their own bug-reports from users, and didn't another dev adding to their task list.
That's probably what it is, I tend to restart a lot (I'm indecisive) so to me it feels more common.

kmunoz
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kmunoz » Mon, 23. Nov 20, 18:57

I'm asking here since this seems like it would be up your alley kuertee:

Unless it's already possible and I've never found the option... It's very annoying when I'm in the middle of a mission but I see one I want to grab for later, and then when I grab it, my current mission switches to that one so I have to go back and switch it out again. It would be really lovely if there were a way to change this behavior, even if by "brute force," so that when you select a new mission while another one is active, the original active mission stays active.

kuertee
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun, 14. Dec 03, 14:05
x4

Re: [mods] kuertee's (QOL, UI, gameplay). update v1.1.0: Waypoint Fields for deployments (videos on Nexus Mods)

Post by kuertee » Tue, 24. Nov 20, 01:39

kmunoz wrote:
Mon, 23. Nov 20, 18:57
I'm asking here since this seems like it would be up your alley kuertee:

Unless it's already possible and I've never found the option... It's very annoying when I'm in the middle of a mission but I see one I want to grab for later, and then when I grab it, my current mission switches to that one so I have to go back and switch it out again. It would be really lovely if there were a way to change this behavior, even if by "brute force," so that when you select a new mission while another one is active, the original active mission stays active.
Yup, that annoys me as well - to no end. And from my work on Waypoint Fields For Deployments (WFFD), I now know how to make this. :D

I'll work on this between others, though. I found the bug in WFFD that Mycu reported in regards to the game hanging on using Advanced Satellites.
So, I'm working on that. Also, I want to attach my Loot Mining guides to collectible asteroids to the find resources mission so that the Loot Mining guides close on that mission's completion - similar to WFFD.

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Scripts and Modding”