[4.0 HF3] SETA inconsistence

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X4: Foundations.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Oloka
x4

[4.0 HF3] SETA inconsistence

Post by Oloka » Mon, 10. May 21, 13:38

SETA does not work when one is trying to fly a ship using an autopilot - it starts and immediately disengage.
SETA is working all the time when one is just a pilot of not flying ship.

Question is why SETA is working in case I am just a pilot of a stationary ship but stops to work when I want to fly somewhere. Can someone explain, please?

I do not think a save file is needed - I believe behaviour is a common thing, if you want me to add a save file - just let me know.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Re: [4.0 HF3] SETA inconsistence

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 10. May 21, 13:54

Think of SETA as something designed for working in your personal ship to cure your boredom when waiting for things to happen. In effect it just slows down your brain and doesn't actually speed up your ship or affect global time since everything else appears to speed up by the same amount, not just your ship.

Given that, it is designed so that every time you give a ship control input it disengages as you really don't want to be steering your ship while half asleep.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Oloka
x4

Post by Oloka » Mon, 10. May 21, 14:27

Is it the official answer? Because I can still use SETA partially when I am flying a ship - all depends how often I press SETA activation keys.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 10. May 21, 16:06

The only 'official' answers are ones from Egosoft devs, but I don't quite see how your second post and additional information is related to the issue description in the opening post. More information and decription would be useful.