Linux Support (Beta)

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X4: Foundations.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

GalCiv
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 28. Aug 22, 21:53

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by GalCiv » Sun, 28. Aug 22, 21:57

I was doing a bit of RE to figure out why I had no sound in the linux version and found that in X4 code you have:

Code: Select all

    if (alcIsExtensionPresent(NULL, "ALC_enumeration_EXT"))
    {
        if (alcIsExtensionPresent(NULL, "ALC_enumerate_all_EXT"))
Those need to be in full caps ( ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT and ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT ). Once this is done it let me choose the output device and I was able to have sound working in the game.
I'm not too sure why default device doesn't work in X4, in simple openAL sample I made it works so I assume it's another bug.

fallenwizard
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 10, 20:03
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by fallenwizard » Thu, 8. Sep 22, 12:43

It seems like hardware cursors in wlroots based Wayland compositors make the cursor in the game extremely dark. ( I tried it with Sway and Hyprland )
So dark that it's barely visible on the map and it makes the game near unplayable.

Graphics card: 6700xt (via radv)
Distro: NixOS
Sway version: 1.8 git but it also happens with 1.7.
X4 version: 5.10 but I tried all kinds of old versions with the same symptoms.

I apologize in advance. I had to record those with my phone camera because the screenshot tool I am using sets the cursors to software to take the screenshots.
Dark cursor: https://i.imgur.com/ijY3GgA.jpg
Bright cursor: https://i.imgur.com/Hs9Db1G.jpg


I haven't had any other game with the dark cursor issue, so I am not sure if the culprit is Sway, xwayland or the game itself.
Last edited by fallenwizard on Wed, 12. Oct 22, 15:21, edited 1 time in total.

steve_v
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun, 12. Jun 16, 08:39
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by steve_v » Tue, 11. Oct 22, 10:02

fallenwizard wrote:
Thu, 8. Sep 22, 12:43
It seems like hardware cursors in wlroots based Wayland compositors make the cursor in the game extremely dark.
Not convinced this is a wayland / compositor thing TBH, I'm running on X11 and I have the same problem.
fallenwizard wrote:
Thu, 8. Sep 22, 12:43
So dark that it's barely visible on the map and it makes the game near unplayable.
Yeah, it's horrible. Not just the map either, the mouse cursor is pretty much invisible eveywhere.

fallenwizard
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 10, 20:03
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by fallenwizard » Wed, 12. Oct 22, 08:52

steve_v wrote:
Tue, 11. Oct 22, 10:02
Not convinced this is a wayland / compositor thing TBH, I'm running on X11 and I have the same problem.
I managed to work around this using gamescope for now. (I assume it's because it doesn't support hardware cursors?).

I appreciate it if Egosoft can take a look at it because it seriously hampers my enjoyment of the game.

Infector
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu, 30. Dec 04, 15:26
xr

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Infector » Tue, 15. Nov 22, 21:33

Edit: It is fixed, something in the vulkan version i used was broken.

I wonder what happened but my X4 suddenly stopped working. I can't launch it and the debug log doesn't show anything. It's the only game showing this behavior, despite me running games via Proton. X4 doesn't announce and incompatible Vulkan instance or anything and just doesn't create any instance.

Kernel Info
Linux PCName 5.10.9-051009-generic #202101191835 SMP x86_64 GNU/Linux
Windowmanager is xfce 4.14
Vulkaninfo
https://pastebin.com/3zXFYJGA
Debug.txt
https://pastebin.com/hBszYhqS
AMD gpu info via "lshw -c video"
*-display
Beschreibung: VGA compatible controller
Produkt: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]
Hersteller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
Physische ID: 0
Bus-Informationen: pci@0000:27:00.0
Version: e7
Breite: 64 bits
Takt: 33MHz
Fähigkeiten: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
Konfiguration: driver=amdgpu latency=0
Ressourcen: irq:109 memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:f000(Größe=256) memory:fe800000-fe83ffff memory:c0000-dffff

bufi
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 23:49
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by bufi » Thu, 29. Dec 22, 22:37

Hello there!

thx DEVs for linux version of X4. Its looking great and working nice.
My first 100hrs in X4 played just only on i5‑1155G7 builtin graphics card, 32GB RAM and Linux Fedora on 6.x kernel.
I have absolutely no tech issues on that configuration. I had a very good time while playing.
Yea, on empty space ~20fps, on deck or on station ~10-12fps(!!) 8)

Now im changed a hardware to i7-1165G7, RTX2060 and 64GB RAM (3200) and have 60-90 fps on high settings(except volumetric fog to low). have no issues, game runs smooth and stable.

Thanks again and Happy New year.

Waiting for Borons :)

Aradayn
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri, 2. Jan 04, 03:10
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Aradayn » Fri, 20. Jan 23, 19:29

Love the Linux version! Too bad you're not releasing the beta for Linux on GoG, but I understand. Unfortunately I won't be able to help test since I don't own the Steam version.

Will we still see the 6.0 update on GoG once it gets out of beta?

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 51740
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by CBJ » Fri, 20. Jan 23, 19:33

Of course. :)

Reinis
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon, 2. May 11, 12:49
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Reinis » Sun, 22. Jan 23, 14:48

I wonder how is the experience of the new 6.0 beta on Linux? I own the game on GOG, but am tempted to buy on Steam, just to play with the new beta (and have faster updates, as GOG frequently takes days or even weeks to release Linux version updates).

Rastuasi
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon, 1. Oct 18, 16:28
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Rastuasi » Sun, 22. Jan 23, 23:56

Reinis wrote:
Sun, 22. Jan 23, 14:48
I wonder how is the experience of the new 6.0 beta on Linux? I own the game on GOG, but am tempted to buy on Steam, just to play with the new beta (and have faster updates, as GOG frequently takes days or even weeks to release Linux version updates).
Broken, there's a large known bug for non-windows that prevents buying ships. More it eats your money, but doesn't give you the ship.

EDIT: The above is now fixed, so long as you have Beta 2 that was released today! Per beta patchnotes:
[Beta 2] Fixed player being unable to buy ships (Linux only, problem introduced in 6.00).

sirprosik
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri, 22. May 09, 13:58
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by sirprosik » Thu, 9. Feb 23, 21:47

Save game location?!?

I quick saved prior to exiting the game to update to beta 3. Was going to backup the save prior to loading.
My quicksave in ./config/egosoft/x4/<number>/save/quicksave.xml.gz is dated 12/14/2022 not 02/09/2023

So where exactly is my save and how do I make a backup?!?

Update: In thunar for some reason I did not have write access to the save folder so I did not see them in file manager.
When I opened a terminal window I was able to see the files and updates. Very frustrating :(
Last edited by sirprosik on Fri, 10. Feb 23, 00:07, edited 1 time in total.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 30368
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Alan Phipps » Thu, 9. Feb 23, 21:55

@ sirprosik: Are you perhaps doing your beta testing on a different gaming account, in which case the <number> bit may be different? Otherwise check the path(s) for copied branches to differentiate between backed-up release gameplay and current beta testing play.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

ASCI Blue
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun, 26. Apr 20, 05:01

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ASCI Blue » Wed, 15. Feb 23, 06:59

Hello Devs!

I am continuing to run into an issue as seen here: viewtopic.php?f=180&t=449461

The mouse option I tried didn't work. I'm running Garuda with kernel 6.1.8 Zen, KDE Plasma or Cinnamon 5.6.7, on a Ryzen 5600x, RTX 3070 with proprietary drivers. A Virpil MT50 1st generation base with Constellation Alpha grip and a VKB Gladiator K. GOG version of X4, latest non-beta patch.

Game receives phantom inputs almost like having an oversensitive mouse in KDE and Cinnamon. If I keep my paws off the mouse everything works fine and the UI doesn't receive the inputs. Also X4 has started detecting an Xbox controller that I don't have. I sometimes have a PS5 controller connected but it currently isn't.

Game is hand modified to give myself some cash.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 30368
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Alan Phipps » Wed, 15. Feb 23, 12:59

@ ASCI Blue: Make sure that your mouse analogue outputs are not bound to multiple functions nor bound to the games digital inputs as that might give the 'either off or else full on' behaviour that you describe.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

ASCI Blue
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun, 26. Apr 20, 05:01

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ASCI Blue » Wed, 15. Feb 23, 18:14

If I understood your comment correctly, Alan, thanks for the help too, I removed all mouse references from everything aside the mouse section of X4's Settings. Strangely, and my mistake for not mentioning this before, it doesn't happen in Windows. Additionally if I turn off the Virpil stick at it's hub, then the problem also goes away and X4 uses the mouse.

I confirmed a few hours ago 15 Feb that it's the Virpil stick causing the problem. When I remove it from X4 at the hub or in game everything works as it should. It seems it is overly sensitive and the deadzone in game doesn't work I tried maxing it out with no effect.

Also confirmed that X4 deadzones do work, I ramped it up to 100% and the stick stopped responding. I put a deadzone on the stick itself via it's firmware updater with no change in results.

Rompetroll
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue, 29. Jan 13, 21:32

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Rompetroll » Thu, 9. Mar 23, 20:28

First, i'll Apologize for not providing much detail here. Reason is i encountered an issue in beta 5 wich i'm unsure of. What happend is I undocked my nova from my cerberus and it would only go max speed 49m/s, i tried docking, undocking jumpgates and highways etc. nothing heped. so I made a save thinking to post here, but after reload the issue was gone and stupid me didn't do a screenshot :s

However i think I just want to mention this anyways in case somebody else sees this behavior best decribed as 'Ship max speed locked to docking bay speed limits outside docking bay'.

Games looking great now and I'm so exited for Kindoms End release, keep up the good work :D
tux4ever

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 51740
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by CBJ » Thu, 9. Mar 23, 20:49

Please use the Public Beta Feedback forum for reports about the public beta version. Make sure you read the the rules at the top of that forum before posting, and also take a look to see whether there is already an obvious existing thread about your issue rather than immediately creating a new one. In your case I'm pretty sure there is one. :)

Imuniser
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat, 9. Jun 12, 09:30
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Imuniser » Fri, 10. Mar 23, 21:57

Rompetroll wrote:
Thu, 9. Mar 23, 20:28
First, i'll Apologize for not providing much detail here. Reason is i encountered an issue in beta 5 wich i'm unsure of. What happend is I undocked my nova from my cerberus and it would only go max speed 49m/s, i tried docking, undocking jumpgates and highways etc. nothing heped. so I made a save thinking to post here, but after reload the issue was gone and stupid me didn't do a screenshot :s

However i think I just want to mention this anyways in case somebody else sees this behavior best decribed as 'Ship max speed locked to docking bay speed limits outside docking bay'.

Games looking great now and I'm so exited for Kindoms End release, keep up the good work :D
If it is V6 beta 5 you're referring to: viewtopic.php?f=146&p=5162938

Rompetroll
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue, 29. Jan 13, 21:32

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Rompetroll » Tue, 14. Mar 23, 17:58

Imuniser wrote:
Fri, 10. Mar 23, 21:57
Rompetroll wrote:
Thu, 9. Mar 23, 20:28
First, i'll Apologize for not providing much detail here. Reason is i encountered an issue in beta 5 wich i'm unsure of. What happend is I undocked my nova from my cerberus and it would only go max speed 49m/s, i tried docking, undocking jumpgates and highways etc. nothing heped. so I made a save thinking to post here, but after reload the issue was gone and stupid me didn't do a screenshot :s

However i think I just want to mention this anyways in case somebody else sees this behavior best decribed as 'Ship max speed locked to docking bay speed limits outside docking bay'.

Games looking great now and I'm so exited for Kindoms End release, keep up the good work :D
If it is V6 beta 5 you're referring to: viewtopic.php?f=146&p=5162938
Thanks, i did find the right thread to place this. added my voice there.
correct bug thread should be this one.

viewtopic.php?f=192&t=451289&p=5166425#p5166425
tux4ever

sirprosik
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri, 22. May 09, 13:58
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by sirprosik » Sat, 18. Mar 23, 04:15

Anyone here know of a way on Linux to permanently disable steam cloud? Every time steam updates on this Linux box steam re-enables it for some reason.

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Technical Support”