Empty Data Vaults

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X4: Foundations.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Fadamor
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon, 21. Jan 19, 03:31
x4

Empty Data Vaults

Post by Fadamor » Thu, 31. Jan 19, 22:17

Per another player's recommendation, I'm re-posting this from another thread:
Just ran into my first empty Data Vault. It was in the Eighteen Billion sector and had four repairable panels on the exterior and one repairable panel inside one of the closed doors, but three doors on the upper side remained closed after taking care of all the repairs. Additionally, neither the ship's nor the spacesuit scanners picked up any data static. I hope there's more than 28 Data Vaults out there or this mission will never complete.
... and a subsequent post from the same thread:
I didn't say this was my first data vault, I said this was my first EMPTY data vault. I've done six data vaults before encountering this one. As an additional note, I went back to this recalcitrant Data Vault a few hours later and I was presented with the other problem noted here on the forums:

All doors closed
All repairable boxes reset to red
Trying to repair any of them fails to do anything

This may be by design to avoid people opening a DV they already looted and complaining about an empty DV. Once looted, the DV gets locked-out.
Can anyone shed some light on this?

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 22381
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by Alan Phipps » Thu, 31. Jan 19, 22:32

Is the issue similar to these and do you have a vanilla save that demonstrates the issue?
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Fadamor
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon, 21. Jan 19, 03:31
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by Fadamor » Fri, 1. Feb 19, 00:39

Yes very similar to those, but unfortunately I don't have a vanilla save. I don't think any of my installed mods would have affected it, but I understand the need for an unmodified game save.

DaMuncha
Posts: 1255
Joined: Mon, 1. Nov 10, 11:00
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by DaMuncha » Fri, 1. Feb 19, 06:22

As a pure burst of retardedness Egosoft made it so the data leaks on data vaults can be repaired. And once they are repaired they are gone forever.

Anhk-Khaelgorn
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri, 20. Dec 13, 10:57
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by Anhk-Khaelgorn » Fri, 1. Feb 19, 12:45

If you repair the vault's leak, you'll get the reward and an information packet. Or if you scan the vault's leak.

But some of vaults are seems to be broken or buggy: you have to make Save&Load after each lock you've opened in order to open the next one. And there are no leaks in such vaults, or they're inaccessible even after all locks were opened.

At least, that's how it worked in Vanilla-1.50. Can't say about 1.60, as I don't hunt for vaults for now.
AMD FX 8320e @4000MHz, 32Gb RAM, Gigabyte RX580 8Gb (Drv: 19.2.2), Windows 8.1 x64.

fivepints
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed, 9. Nov 05, 07:05
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by fivepints » Mon, 20. Jan 20, 11:36

Hi X Universe,

Ive been having the same problems as mentioned here in the tread, data vaults and how faulty they are.... Worse yet, seems to have be around 2 years now and still its not fixed! thats inexcusable!

Ive done the usual like pressing f5 then f9 and that always seems to work when its just the locks that wont open, my issue is that there is no "data music" if there is nothing audible then so far there is nothiing to be had from the vault no matter how many time you f5/f9. I have 26 out of the 28 done. So i tried doing it again in an earlier save - guess what the two i needed worked fine and another vault failed where it once was fine.

Ive done over 700 hrs so far , bought both the steam & gog copies - just in case.. i really want to say something scathing to those who are responsible for the quality of this game as a whole, but i thnk ill reserve that for a better time.

Please egosoft, will you kndly find a fix for the issue im having?

Thanks
Cheers

fivepints

Scarletian
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri, 21. Dec 18, 11:39
x4

Re: Empty Data Vaults

Post by Scarletian » Mon, 27. Jan 20, 13:38

I have opened about 8 of these, and kind of like the way they work. One problem though. One of these Data Vaults is not working properly. All the red switches turn green, except one. It's driving me nuts. Have I opened this one before? Is that the reason behind it? Is there a way to see if you have opened a Data Vault before? Liking the timeline entries. Nice touch. Anyone know if this is a bug or just me trying to open an old one?

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Technical Support”