Nvidia Surround (Triple Monitor) Map Overlay invisible

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X4: Foundations.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
keno1999
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu, 11. Oct 18, 04:55
x4

Nvidia Surround (Triple Monitor) Map Overlay invisible

Post by keno1999 » Tue, 23. Nov 21, 22:50

Hi, I am facing an issue with triple monitor (Nvidia Surround) where the map overlay content is missing (sectors, stations, ships, etc.) but the buttons and lists in the UI are visible. I tried updating my GPU drivers to the latest (496.76) and tested all the wide resolutions. Interestingly, I actually managed to get the map to display correctly one time, immediately after updating the graphics driver to the latest version (using 5760x1080) and I thought that had fixed it, but when I switched to my preferred resolution, 11520x2160, it went back to not working again, and when I switched back to 5760x1080 it wasnt working with that anymore either. I played with a ton of GPU settings to try to figure out why the map overlay wont display, but nothing will trigger the map to work. Without the map, the game is unplayable, so I am forced to use 3840x2160, which is a shame because the game looks so good on three screens in all other respects.

Systems Specs:
Win10
I9 10900k
Z490
64 GB Ram
RTX3090
X4 Ver: 4.10 (and 4.20 beta) English, vanilla, Terran start.

The other thing I noticed is switching to encyclopedia screen causes the game to crash. This is a 100% repeatable crash for me, but I would be happy to just have the map work and never use the encyclopedia.

keno1999
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu, 11. Oct 18, 04:55
x4

Re: Nvidia Surround (Triple Monitor) Map Overlay invisible

Post by keno1999 » Wed, 24. Nov 21, 16:35

Updated original post to better align with the sticky guidelines.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 40868
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Nvidia Surround (Triple Monitor) Map Overlay invisible

Post by CBJ » Wed, 24. Nov 21, 17:11

If you've already done a file verification using the Steam or GOG client, then it's most likely either a driver issue or a GPU memory issue. Yes, I know you have a very high-end card, but if your settings (particularly AA) are high AND you're using a very large resolution, then you could actually still run out! Please try lowering a few graphics settings to see if that makes any difference.

keno1999
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu, 11. Oct 18, 04:55
x4

Re: Nvidia Surround (Triple Monitor) Map Overlay invisible

Post by keno1999 » Thu, 25. Nov 21, 05:05

Thanks, CBJ!

Yes, the local steam files validated successfully. Also, as I mentioned, I spent a lot of time messing with graphics settings in game and using the nvidia controls, and I already tried turning all the graphics settings down. I'll keep playing with it occasionally to see if I can determine why it worked that one time immediately after updating the GPU drivers.

Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Technical Support”