[Feedback] My honest opinion on X4 and why i'm quitting it

This forum is the ideal place for all discussion relating to X4. You will also find additional information from developers here.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Hijack_Hornet

[Feedback] My honest opinion on X4 and why i'm quitting it

Post by Hijack_Hornet » Mon, 12. Jul 21, 11:48

Before going into the details of why I decided to stop modding X4 and playing it AGAIN, let's have a quick overview of who I am.
I'm a 25yo computer science engineer with a strong passion for game design. I went and studied game design during an exchange program in Ireland, and studied it by myself as well with references such as Designing games by Tynan Sylvester.
I'm also a modder for multiple games and made my own mini games over the 7 years I've learned to use Unity, blender, Substance painter, Photoshop and Marvellous designer.
Finally, I'm a big fan of sci-fi, and space opera / management games.

Why do I like X4 and what makes it unique ?
One of the main reason X4 is interesting is that it features an open world sandbox universe that seems to be living on its own. Though the player has enough power to be a decisive balance on the world direction, making the player feel like he is playing a big part of a universe that looks bigger than him.
The scale in the X universe plays a lot in its aesthetic. Being able to drive small or gigantic ships, switching from the human scale, to an XL monster is incredible.
The lore (though hard to grab in X4) is also very developed and believable. The storytelling isn’t just recycling old clichés and that is for the best as it provides a substantial lore for players to remember and cherish.
Ships designs are great and different from each other, though we could also appreciate some more wild-looking ones.