Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

This forum is the ideal place for all discussion relating to X4. You will also find additional information from developers here.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 20:29

Edited: I found out how now. We can add it in the config file: "C:\Users\*****\Documents\Egosoft\X4\***********\config.xml"

Like this if adding the seed 3044564136

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<root>
<seed>3044564136</seed>
<fullscreen>true</fullscreen>
<borderless>false</borderless>
Last edited by PhotonPulse on Sun, 25. Sep 22, 02:39, edited 1 time in total.
Credence follows stars.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 41828
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by CBJ » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23

You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:37

CBJ wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23
You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.
Thank you for the information bit, it will be very helpful. Hopefully it makes it into the next X game as a feature too.
Credence follows stars.

flywlyx
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat, 15. May 21, 03:45
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by flywlyx » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 22:46

CBJ wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23
You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.
Is there a suggestion seed list like Crazy Xenon or Safe paradise?

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 22:57

flywlyx wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 22:46
CBJ wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23
You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.
Is there a suggestion seed list like Crazy Xenon or Safe paradise?
We should make one, and to do that we need to know when the seeds change.
Credence follows stars.

flywlyx
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat, 15. May 21, 03:45
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by flywlyx » Thu, 22. Sep 22, 23:06

PhotonPulse wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 22:57
We should make one, and to do that we need to know when the seeds change.
The seed is in the save file.
The hard part for players to work this out is that we don't leave the universe running for days without any intervention, players always support AI factions more or less.

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 00:01

flywlyx wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 23:06
PhotonPulse wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 22:57
We should make one, and to do that we need to know when the seeds change.
The seed is in the save file.
The hard part for players to work this out is that we don't leave the universe running for days without any intervention, players always support AI factions more or less.
What i meant is if the seeds changed based on game version. For example, the same seed being different on different versions.
Credence follows stars.

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 00:09

CBJ wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23
You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.
This isnt working for me, i guess i didnt understand how to do this.
What i tried is adding it in steams launch options for X4.
I also tried making a shortcut and adding it in there.
Neither had the seed be what i wrote.
Credence follows stars.

-=SiR KiLLaLoT=-
Posts: 2180
Joined: Sat, 3. Mar 12, 20:58
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by -=SiR KiLLaLoT=- » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 00:33

CBJ wrote:
Thu, 22. Sep 22, 21:23
You can already, but it's a bit of a manual process. Just add "-seed seedvalue", where seedvalue can be anything you like, to the command line parameters for the game.
Why have you never written this fabulous option anywhere? :o :o

:lol:
HW Spec:
CPU: Core i9 9900k @ 5.0Ghz - MOBO: MSI Z390-A PRO - RAM: 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix MAX DDR4 4400Mhz CL19 - GPU: nVidia RTX 3070 FE - M.2: Samsung 980 512GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Sandisk Plus 240GB – HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB – WD Caviar Blue 1TB – WD Caviar Black 2TB - PSU: Enermax Liberty 82+ PRO 620w - CASE: iTek Iron Soldier - MONITOR: 27” Acer ED270UP - Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit - KEYBOARD: Excelvan – MOUSE: Red Dragon Perdition
My X4 Steam screenshots.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 41828
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by CBJ » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 00:35

Yes, the seed goes in the command line options or Steam launch options. I should have been a little clearer, though. If you put a number as your seedvalue, it will be used as the seed directly; if you put any other text there (no spaces allowed), it will be converted to a numerical hash value, and that's the seed that the game will use and store in the savegame. The text option is just there to make it a bit easier to remember the seed values you try.

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 01:43

CBJ wrote:
Fri, 23. Sep 22, 00:35
Yes, the seed goes in the command line options or Steam launch options. I should have been a little clearer, though. If you put a number as your seedvalue, it will be used as the seed directly; if you put any other text there (no spaces allowed), it will be converted to a numerical hash value, and that's the seed that the game will use and store in the savegame. The text option is just there to make it a bit easier to remember the seed values you try.
I wrote
-seed 3044564136
In the steam launch options
3044564136 is the seed I want to try more that I feel is a good seed for me. And I want to test what remains the same in a seed.
However, when i started a new game and saved it, then checked the seed in the save game it wasn't the same number.
Credence follows stars.

-=SiR KiLLaLoT=-
Posts: 2180
Joined: Sat, 3. Mar 12, 20:58
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by -=SiR KiLLaLoT=- » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 15:55

So, I did several tests to start the game with the custom seed, but I got some strange behaviors.

I started the game using the string "X4_nonsteam.exe -seed 6874134549 -nosoundthrottle -skipintro", the seed is a random number.
So I did several starts, young gun, inexperienced explorer, etc. I immediately saved and checked the seed inside the file...
In all saves the seed number was different.
I tried again starting the custom start budget without changing any options. Same result.
I then started the game using the custom start creative, where I manually entered the number chosen in the box dedicated to the generation of the seed and also in this case the number was different in the save...

Where is the mistake? :mrgreen:
HW Spec:
CPU: Core i9 9900k @ 5.0Ghz - MOBO: MSI Z390-A PRO - RAM: 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix MAX DDR4 4400Mhz CL19 - GPU: nVidia RTX 3070 FE - M.2: Samsung 980 512GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Sandisk Plus 240GB – HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB – WD Caviar Blue 1TB – WD Caviar Black 2TB - PSU: Enermax Liberty 82+ PRO 620w - CASE: iTek Iron Soldier - MONITOR: 27” Acer ED270UP - Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit - KEYBOARD: Excelvan – MOUSE: Red Dragon Perdition
My X4 Steam screenshots.

User avatar
PhotonPulse
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue, 17. Nov 20, 14:42
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by PhotonPulse » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 16:53

-=SiR KiLLaLoT=- wrote:
Fri, 23. Sep 22, 15:55
So, I did several tests to start the game with the custom seed, but I got some strange behaviors.

I started the game using the string "X4_nonsteam.exe -seed 6874134549 -nosoundthrottle -skipintro", the seed is a random number.
So I did several starts, young gun, inexperienced explorer, etc. I immediately saved and checked the seed inside the file...
In all saves the seed number was different.
I tried again starting the custom start budget without changing any options. Same result.
I then started the game using the custom start creative, where I manually entered the number chosen in the box dedicated to the generation of the seed and also in this case the number was different in the save...

Where is the mistake? :mrgreen:
What does -nosoundthrottle do?
Credence follows stars.

-=SiR KiLLaLoT=-
Posts: 2180
Joined: Sat, 3. Mar 12, 20:58
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by -=SiR KiLLaLoT=- » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 17:12

PhotonPulse wrote:
Fri, 23. Sep 22, 16:53
What does -nosoundthrottle do?
It allows you to hear game audio even if it's not in the foreground. It is useful when you are waiting and in the meantime you want to do something else with your PC.
There is also a -nocputhrottle command that allows you to always use the CPU. This is often used for streaming because it allows you to avoid FPS drops when the game is in the background ;)
HW Spec:
CPU: Core i9 9900k @ 5.0Ghz - MOBO: MSI Z390-A PRO - RAM: 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix MAX DDR4 4400Mhz CL19 - GPU: nVidia RTX 3070 FE - M.2: Samsung 980 512GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Sandisk Plus 240GB – HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB – WD Caviar Blue 1TB – WD Caviar Black 2TB - PSU: Enermax Liberty 82+ PRO 620w - CASE: iTek Iron Soldier - MONITOR: 27” Acer ED270UP - Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit - KEYBOARD: Excelvan – MOUSE: Red Dragon Perdition
My X4 Steam screenshots.

dtpsprt
Posts: 2286
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x4

Re: Request: Being able to choose seed for the standard gamestarts.

Post by dtpsprt » Fri, 23. Sep 22, 17:48

-=SiR KiLLaLoT=- wrote:
Fri, 23. Sep 22, 15:55
...........................
I started the game using the string "X4_nonsteam.exe -seed 6874134549 -nosoundthrottle -skipintro", the seed is a random number.
...........................
Where is the mistake? :mrgreen:
What is so special about this seed? To me it is most certainly not a seed number. The, typical for Egosoft, lack of any documentatikon leaves this as a very likely outcome.

Personally I have tried using specific seeds in my (Creative) Gamesstarts, especially the ones that I start with only a spacesuit and it is crucial for some things (Stations/ships) to be in a certain reachable distance. I did this by generating start after start untill I randomly was in a "favourable" one, noted down the number from the save file and insert it in the gamestart.

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations”