[Official Mod Development Bug Reports] A Thread for Mod Creators

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Sat, 6. May 17, 19:47

sorry for late reply, didnt get to look into it when i wanted and (almost) forgot it.

i looked through your 02.dat and i think these lines should be changed to complete lower case (and the related files also):

<property type="BitMap" name="diffuse_map" value="extensions\lostsectors\assets\fx\textures\lostsect\Goner"></property>
<property type="BitMap" name="diffuse_map" value="extensions\lostsectors\assets\fx\textures\lostsect\Searchlight"></property>
<property type="BitMap" name="diffuse_map" value="extensions\lostsectors\assets\textures\environments\Brown_Dwarf_diff"></property>
<property type="BitMap" name="color_glow_map" value="assets\textures\Argon\ar_masstraffic_01_glow"></property>
<property type="BitMap" name="normal_map" value="assets\textures\
Argon\ar_masstraffic_01_bump"></property>

also probably a lot more, i have stopped looking after the last one.. maybe change the Backgrounds first and see if it helps. if yes also fix the others if not the error is somewhere else..
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
KrYcHokE
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed, 2. Dec 15, 13:15
x4

Post by KrYcHokE » Wed, 10. May 17, 00:21

Thanks, i fix it, but problem will in not exist in linux version fog macros

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Mon, 5. Jun 17, 21:59

ok, this is driving me nuts now... i am currently working on a more flexible assignment System for Employees, but except for pilots/Captains there is no useable* way for me to un-assign npcs as controlentites.

Specifically
<dismiss_control_entity object="this.container" actor="this"/>
does not seem to work at all. I checked via Log output that is is called before i attempt to put another Employee in the same position, but the original employee remains as eg engineer or DO. does not matter if he is assigned with <assign_control_entity/> or <assign_engineer/> or <addign_defence_manager/>, and is basically impossible to un-assign (and otherwise dont affect him)

*yes, i know that i could use <start_actor_transport/> which should remove entities properly from their post but that one also kills all Scripts in the Stack and replaces them with drone.transport plus it removes them from their current platform, both of which are undesired by me..



EDIT: ok, on the way to work i got an idea which might solve this for me: i change the entity type before dismissing the controlentity (since the command wanted an entity itself and not an entitytype on an object), but when at home i will switch the order of those and i think it may work..


EDIT2: this fixes it. i guess the command looks up the Entity Type internally and then removes the entity of that type on the object from his control position...
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Fri, 9. Jun 17, 15:29

and me again :D

i just managed to Crash the Game by using an invalid aiscript command (i think).
Game Crashed when using this Command:
<create_build_plan macro="$macro" buildplan="$Buildplan" buildplanlist="[[a,0]]" upgradeplanlist="$upgradeplan" />
(the mistake is that a is not in '' to indicate its a String)

Link to related dmp file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/n7goi6mh57p2s ... 8.dmp?dl=0
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
Marvin Martian
Posts: 3545
Joined: Sun, 8. Apr 12, 09:40
x4

Post by Marvin Martian » Fri, 9. Jun 17, 15:56

have you tried [[a,1]], in think to rember Station-Info-UI also can't handle stations without any sort of upgrade-path, maybe something related

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Fri, 9. Jun 17, 17:37

Marvin Martian wrote:have you tried [[a,1]], in think to rember Station-Info-UI also can't handle stations without any sort of upgrade-path, maybe something related
nah, the problem was really only the missing '' - Game cannt handle a buildplanlist containing [[ null , 0 ]] and Crashes to Desktop (which should never happen from within a Scriipting Language, thats why i am reporting it ;) i fixed this mistake in my Script already and not it works)

btw [ 'a' , 0 ] usually refers to the basic Station (at least thats what my logging of the Vanilla Build Process indicated)
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Thu, 22. Jun 17, 17:24

next issue:

regarding the Commands
<connect_to_trade_location ship="this.ship" tradedock="if true then $parkslot else 'Unark Signal 1'" result="$success" />
and
<disconnect_from_trade_location ship="this.ship" />

i have the impression that the blocking mechanism included in them does not work properly, at least on CVs which have the oddity that multiple Parking Slots ( from <find_tradeoffer_parking_slot/> ) refer to the same park position. i already tried to force docking Ships to only use one of them, but to no avail, after several hours of leaving it running multiple Ships attempt to Dock simultaneously.at the same Parking Place.... (and yes, before attempting parking i always check the result of <connect_to_trade_location/> )
When i checked the current parking Scripts i noticed that they now include a proper queue. iirc when i wrote my own Docking Scripts (which started more than a year ago) this was not yet the case, and ships polled for free parking Slots until they got one, so i assumed this result was reliable enough to prevent this..
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
Charon_A
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31

Post by Charon_A » Sun, 13. Aug 17, 17:13

Found a mod "Silent skunk" that turns off sound of engine and boost but it does not work for me, v4.10
It updates libraries/sound_library.xml

Code: Select all

<remove sel="//sound[@id='engine_booster']/sample" /> 
<add sel="//sound[@id='engine_booster']"> 
<sample start="sfx\dummysilence" /> </add>
Tried to change it to use replace instead, but it did not help. Anyone has a clue how to make this code work? Thanks!

Code: Select all

<replace sel="//sound[@id='engine_booster']/sample" > 
<sample start="sfx\dummysilence" /> </replace>
Last edited by Charon_A on Sun, 13. Aug 17, 17:38, edited 1 time in total.
Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
---Mark Twain---

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Sun, 13. Aug 17, 17:32

Log Snippet from Startup please... makes it easier to track down what goes wrong with the mod, especially if its an incompatibility with your other mods unique to you. (also i am not the type to install and test mods for others to fix them - causes too much clutter in my extensions directory..
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

w.evans
Posts: 2963
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 16:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Sun, 13. Aug 17, 17:47

Charon_A wrote:Found a mod "Silent skunk" that turns off sound of engine and boost
both snippets should work, except there's a typo in the first snippet (should be "start" rather than "tart", but looks like you spotted that already.)

Not very familiar with the sound effects, but it looks like this will only remove one of the boost sounds. There appears to be more sounds defined for the player ship's engine in sound_library.

User avatar
Charon_A
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31

Post by Charon_A » Sun, 13. Aug 17, 17:53

Thanks guys, that's what I needed :!:
Did not know that game writes "Log Snippet from Startup" :P
Log pointed me to the issue - apparently I messed the mod up by directly editing packed dat file. Ignore me, mod works fine. Thanks for quick replies!
Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
---Mark Twain---

User avatar
Charon_A
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31

Post by Charon_A » Sun, 13. Aug 17, 19:34

While you're so kind to me, cannot pass up on the opportunity to ask :wink:
When I kill random enemies near the stations I get 2 comm events: one saying thanks for taking care of enemies and another about paying me creditsss.
Could you point me in the direction of a file where this comm channels are being generated? I can live with notifications but would very much like to get rid of animated comms that block access to the menu.
Or maybe there's already a mod around that solve this problem? Any insight will be much appreciated!
Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
---Mark Twain---

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Mon, 14. Aug 17, 06:04

iirc this is done in the md/notifications.xml
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
Charon_A
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31

Post by Charon_A » Mon, 14. Aug 17, 10:25

Thanks, UniTrader!
Found the little bugger. So much better now :)
In case anyone needs to remove these annoying reward comms after killing enemies:

Code: Select all

<diff> 
<remove sel="//cue[@name='ReputationTrigger']/actions/do_if/do_if/start_conversation" />  
</diff>  
Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
---Mark Twain---

donzi
Posts: 879
Joined: Mon, 12. Feb 07, 14:29
x4

minor kink with enable/disable due to certain content.xml

Post by donzi » Sat, 2. Jun 18, 12:07

I've been working on a few small mods and have been using a boilerplate content.xml ( re: Steam Workshop for X Rebirth ) for each of them, just adjusting name and description.

id="totally_unimportant" is apparently not quite so in all contexts. It leads to the side effect of not being able to enable/disable the extensions as expected when this is assigned the same string across multiple extensions.

Unique or empty id are fine.

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Re: minor kink with enable/disable due to certain content.xml

Post by UniTrader » Sat, 2. Jun 18, 14:58

donzi wrote:id="totally_unimportant" is apparently not quite so in all contexts. It leads to the side effect of not being able to enable/disable the extensions as expected when this is assigned the same string across multiple extensions.
from where did you get that the mod id was unimportant? i think every docrelated to it should point out that this is an unique identifier for each mod to differ between them.. if left out or empty the extension folder name is instead used as id btw. The only exception i could imagine is when uploading to the steam workshop because in this case the id will be changed...
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 24949
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38
x4

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Sat, 2. Jun 18, 17:21

UniTrader wrote:from where did you get that the mod id was unimportant?
From the example code in the linked tutorial for uploading mods to the Steam Workshop for X Rebirth.
Example for a content.xml to publish a new extension:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<!-- My Test Extension v0.10 -->
<content id="totally_unimportant" name="My Test Extension" description="This is just an example." version="10">
  <!-- Requires Workshop item 12345, minimum version 1.00 -->
  <dependency id="ws_12345" version="100" />
  <!-- Requires minimum game version 1.50 -->
  <dependency version="150" />
  <!-- Optional localisation (NOTE: not visible in Steam Workshop, cannot be updated from Workshop website) -->
  <!-- German: -->
  <text language="49" name="Meine Test-Erweiterung" description="Dies ist nur ein Beispiel." />
</content>
Minimalistic example:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<content id="" name="Foo" description="Test" version="100">
</content>
Nun verfügbar! X3: Farnham's Legacy - Ein neues Kapitel für einen alten Favoriten

Die komplette X-Roman-Reihe jetzt als Kindle E-Books! (Farnhams Legende, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko, X3: Hüter der Tore, X3: Wächter der Erde)

Neuauflage der fünf X-Romane als Taschenbuch

The official X-novels Farnham's Legend, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko as Kindle e-books!

donzi
Posts: 879
Joined: Mon, 12. Feb 07, 14:29
x4

Re: minor kink with enable/disable due to certain content.xml

Post by donzi » Wed, 6. Jun 18, 00:33

UniTrader wrote:from where did you get that the mod id was unimportant?
The link in my message up there :D -- ( re: Steam Workshop for X Rebirth )

I thought that I'd pass over that since X2-Illuminatus poked you already, but since you're a moderator.. :lol:

bioscmos303
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue, 27. May 14, 00:12
x4

Re: [Official Mod Development Bug Reports] A Thread for Mod Creators

Post by bioscmos303 » Sun, 29. Aug 21, 19:09

[Mod/Script] - FIX - FIX - FIX - :lol:
UI Detail screen and Side menu' FIX - No More legendary buged UI and none mouse click at any FOV settings
viewtopic.php?f=129&t=441687&p=5076891#p5076891

AND Extra clean tweaks:

Fov 133.4 - Field of View without editing config.xml but As patch\Mode - Guide 1o1
viewtopic.php?f=129&t=441629

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”