[4.10 TO+HoL] Autopilot bug or feature? - Was a bug but fix is coming!

General discussions about X Rebirth.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Stroichik
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu, 6. Jul 06, 22:07
x4

[4.10 TO+HoL] Autopilot bug or feature? - Was a bug but fix is coming!

Post by Stroichik » Mon, 8. May 17, 16:57

Hello. after 4.1 update i decided to start new game and noticed that if i fly on autopilot through yellow+blue lanes then my ship goes seemlessly from one yellow to blue lane and vice versa. Without flying through open space from blue exit to yellow entrance - it just exit from blue right into yellow, or from yellow right into blue lane. I uninstalled all mods except official DLCs, started new game and could repeat same thing 100%. Is this a feature in 4.1 or a bug? I find it somewhat immersion-breaking, actually.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 20987
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:04

If you are talking about the 'ring route' in HoL then that is intended. You need to tell us where you are and what highways and directions you are moving in to be certain of what is meant to be happening.

Moving to XR Universe (gameplay) forum for now where more players will see this and can comment.
Last edited by Alan Phipps on Mon, 8. May 17, 17:11, edited 1 time in total.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Stroichik
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu, 6. Jul 06, 22:07
x4

Post by Stroichik » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:11

No, not HoL. any highway lane in Albion actually. I deactivated all mods except official DLCs and started a new game in Albion system - 100% reoccurance if using autopilot to plot course which involves both yellow and blue lanes.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 20987
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:20

I just tested it in my vanilla 4.10 and it does indeed cut out the travel between local and super highways as you say. I guess this was to make autopilot more attractive for getting to places quickly. If you wanted to look at the sights on the way then you would probably fly the route yourself just following the guidance.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Stroichik
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu, 6. Jul 06, 22:07
x4

Post by Stroichik » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:29

So, is this a feature?

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 20987
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:30

Well it is the way it works now and it doesn't cause problems in the game, so I would say probably yes. I imagine it also solves a lot of Skunk highway exit problems that have been reported in the past.

It shows how little I use autopilot as I had never noticed this before! :wink:
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Stroichik
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu, 6. Jul 06, 22:07
x4

Post by Stroichik » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:36

I had 170 hours of play in 4.0, AP was working good for me, never had any issues. Thats why was a bit surprised by this sudden change in lane behavior. As i said, feels a bit immersion-breaking.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 20987
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 8. May 17, 17:44

I checked the 4.10 changelog and this is the only point mentioning highways or autopilot, so I have no idea why or when that change in highway AP behaviour came in:

• Fixed inability to leave a highway while a menu is open.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 38195
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56
x4

Post by CBJ » Tue, 9. May 17, 11:00

We've confirmed the described behaviour and will be looking into it soon.

exogenesis
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun, 9. Sep 07, 15:39
x4

Post by exogenesis » Tue, 9. May 17, 19:40

Noooooooooooooo

It's a very useful feature, just found out about it, please don't axe it !

DocAce
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:26
x4

Post by DocAce » Thu, 8. Jun 17, 10:37

I regret to inform you that I have identified and fixed the bug causing this behaviour. Please cherish what time you have left with it before the next patch.

exogenesis
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun, 9. Sep 07, 15:39
x4

Post by exogenesis » Thu, 8. Jun 17, 19:55

'k

ianrobo75
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon, 13. Aug 07, 11:47
x4

Post by ianrobo75 » Tue, 13. Jun 17, 10:02

What is your reasoning fixing a bug that seems to be accepted (albeit not statistically representatively in this thread) by most as a good feature?
Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit, Intel i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz. NVidia Quadro K4000M (4 GB). 16 GB ram.

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 21597
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38
x4

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Tue, 13. Jun 17, 10:23

ianrobo75 wrote:What is your reasoning fixing a bug that seems to be accepted (albeit not statistically representatively in this thread) by most as a good feature?
Well, first of all a bug is a bug. Fixing is what you do with them, when you get the chance. Secondly, there's exactly one user in this thread who considers the bug useful. While the OP, who reported the problem, considers it as immersion breaking. I'm not sure how you turned this ratio (one for / one against) into most are in favour of this bug. Besides, you stated the statistically unrepresentative nature of this thread yourself already. Thirdly, this behaviour was introduced just recently by mistake, not by a design or decision process. If it would have been present for a long time already, you could argue that players are familiar with this behaviour now and have accepted it. But as the OP confirmed, this isn't the case. (The Autopilot worked fine in 4.0.)
Die komplette X-Roman-Reihe jetzt als Kindle E-Books! (Farnhams Legende, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko, X3: Hüter der Tore, X3: Wächter der Erde)

Neuauflage der fünf X-Romane als Taschenbuch

The official X-novels Farnham's Legend and Nopileos as Kindle e-books! (NOW also available: X3: Yoshiko!)

ianrobo75
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon, 13. Aug 07, 11:47
x4

Post by ianrobo75 » Tue, 13. Jun 17, 10:33

Ok, fair enough.
Interesting how the fix was presented though, apologetically.
I shall cherish the bug for now as suggested.
Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit, Intel i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz. NVidia Quadro K4000M (4 GB). 16 GB ram.

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth Universe”