Help with first Turret Mission

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

ra
x3

Help with first Turret Mission

Post by ra » Tue, 8. Nov 05, 19:59

My problems are: first I'm trying to register my X3 but I can't, or I'm mistaked in the way I'm trying to do it.
Second, I,m trying to pass the first mission (turret defend the military transport from enemies) the missils don't work and the enemies are to fast for the power of turret, is impossible to pass this part of the game, can any one explain me what is happening?
Sorry I'm a noob, X2 was easy but this one must have some bug or other problem with this mission, the turret can't destroy all the enemies with the speed they have.

Carl Sumner
x4

Post by Carl Sumner » Tue, 8. Nov 05, 20:22

I had problems registering when I typed in all Caps like the printed code. It worked when I used lower case letters. :)

That mission is very hard if there is a lot of lag. I had to turn down all of the video options, except the screen resolution. Then I turned it back up after I got past that mission.

If a ship get past, Hit Shift-T to break the target lock and lock on one out in front.

You don't have any missiles or any steering, you are only in a turret "gun director" cockpit.

Make sure you hit K to turn on the lead-computing sight. It toggles (off-sight-autoaim). If the lead sight turns blue when you are aimed right then it is fully on.

Lead the sight a little, it is not always exactly right. Particularly if the enemy is turning. Start firing before they are quite in range, they will get there before your shots do. But, stop firing when nothing is in range. Don't forget the gun needs to re-charge.

Save before and try again, nothing ever happens the same way twice in X games. The next time might be easier. :)
Tinker