Welcome to X2 the new SPACE COMBAT GAME

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Lucrativus
x3tc

Welcome to X2 the new SPACE COMBAT GAME

Post by Lucrativus » Wed, 21. Jul 04, 00:39

I started with X-BTF and have progressed through the different games developed by Egosoft, playing hundreds and hundreds of hours on both X-BTF and X-Tension and a lot of hours in X2 (but not as many as the others).

I am a trader at heart but I really don't mind a bit of a battle sometimes, defending my property or ships. I even enjoyed working towards and completing the big battle with the Xenon in the earlier game.

But, since the 1•4 patch, as far as I am concerned, The Trading side of the game is a joke. The fighting was bad enough with 1•3 but impossible in 1•4.

It is obvious that Egosoft have listened to all the fighter orientated players and moved the gameplay way too far towards combat. The 1•4 patch has made it impossible to stay away from heavy fighting. You are forced into pitched battles with Khaak all over the universe and now they are even harder to get rid of than before. The Khaak came into the game far too early, their entry into X space should have been triggered when you reached a certain (combat) level, not ten minutes into the game before you could even partly build your empire. I won't even mention the plot, that really was a joke.

Now, we are told, there will be a massive Xenon invasion. Judging by what has happened so far, that will be about 30 minutes into the game, although If you take into account what happened with the Khaak, I am surprised it hasn't happened yet.