EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Well, after 8 years it finally happened
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 17013 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 25. Apr 18, 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Walk: https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=288451


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 27. Apr 18, 01:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks much! Was at the point of listening for pings when your pointer to the walkthrough came in. (Search for it turns up 0).

That last part was an OMG moment, but I think my solution I'll post on the walkthrough's thread. It was painless and fun to watch.

Got my HQ today too. Very Happy. With so many Sec Traders and UT's to set a home base for I just set it in a peaceful sector I can get to by push E 3X. And I think it's digesting Trurelight Seeker at the moment...(Burp) Wink


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DrSuperEvil





Joined: 02 Mar 2018

Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri, 27. Apr 18, 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Good for you. I personally prefer Savage Spur or Getsu Fune for PHQ construction.

Some players use dupe methods to gain more than one PHQ for mass production of ships.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Apr 18, 00:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thank's for the suggestions and help Doc.
Because somewhere I or the program screwed up.
I'd ran what I thought was a vanilla game.
It appears that I'm going to have to delete
the whole TC and reload taking out EVERYTHING
even close to mods or scripts because today I
checked my status and there at the bottom
appeared:

***modified***

Loading in past saves put be back to the very start of waiting for the HUB to start. Oh well. This time I'll keep a watch on that stat screen. And this time I know how take the udgrades to the freighters. So back to the HUB and the fervent desire to turn Bala Gi into sushi. Slowly. With a dull table knife...
Razz


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Sinxar



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 1160 on topic
Location: a dumpster
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Apr 18, 02:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sheese thats terrible. Antivirus is a common cause of mysterious modified games. But who knows, shouldn't be doing that in 2018 you would think.

Sorry to hear that because I know how tedious that plot can be.


_________________



Vanilla Friendly TC/AP visual enhancement
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Apr 18, 04:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Antivirus? Okay that's easy. And 2018? I'm running X3TC on a Linux driven VM running Win XP Pro 64 bit. So the AVAST antivirus is more to keep Windows from nagging me. I dropped from Win 7 to XP 64 when nothing else played nice with my 3D graphics software.
I was thinking that modified flag showed up about the time I had a problem and had to reload the drive from a backup copy.
Just booted up X3TC right from 2.5 and just the updates and my save file loaded up and has no modified flag.

Thanks for telling me about the antivirus. Very Happy Thumb up

Edit: After EVERY check of my stats brought up ***modified***
I did the total reload. Then even when I start a new game it says modified. No mods, but somethingthing I remebered from the posts struck me and I checked. There in the plugin manager it was in modified mode not vanilla mode. One change of that and a load of the old save at the point I'm waiting for the Hub fixed the problem. Since I didn't even start plugin manager I'm wondering what switched it and when. Confused Wasn't on my part.


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DrSuperEvil





Joined: 02 Mar 2018

Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat, 28. Apr 18, 23:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Reinstall the game?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 29. Apr 18, 12:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Reintalled the game, but the problem was the Plugin Manager. It was in modified mode because it got loaded from a backup and I'd made the backup when I was trying to put my ships in the game. Hence it was in Modified Mode. Which makes even the startup give you that modified flag. I'd crashed the HDD right around the hub missions and reloaded from backups. All after that had modified tag even if I wasn't using the mods. Switch to Vanilla Mode solved the problem.
Should have hit me sooner that the Custom item on menu was showing. When I realized it was I checked my stats and saw that modified flag. Did a new backup of everything X3 in Vanilla. Thumb up


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DrSuperEvil





Joined: 02 Mar 2018

Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun, 29. Apr 18, 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

So how much did you lose?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 29. Apr 18, 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Really it's more what I can gain. Rushed into the Hub a bit quick last time and now I'm taking my time. I'm just to the point of getting to Aldrin to find the Boron Angel with Bala Gi the mega mooch. Very Happy


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Honved





Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 1137 on topic
Location: PA, USA, Terra, Sol System
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Apr 18, 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

BTW, if you do decide to take your frustrations out on the Boron ("You're about to suffer a few small cuts and bruises"), just be aware that they're called "Calamari", not "Sushi", at the end of the process. Continue the process to the same degree as the Hub plot, and it's 'Seafood Chowder".

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Apr 18, 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Caman, they are like smaller croc's. Saw them in S. America. Now supposedly Julien's with him and if I'm any judge will probably volunteer to hold the critter down while I... (After the Hub is finished of course.) Hhhhmmm.. Caman. Roasting on a spit turned over a slow fire.... (Tastes like chicken) Very Happy


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DrSuperEvil





Joined: 02 Mar 2018

Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue, 1. May 18, 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just turn Barren Shores and unknown Terran Sector 2 into self sustaining chip complexes and you will do fine.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hank001





Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 100 on topic
Location: Carbondale, IL
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 1. May 18, 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thank's for the Barren Shores tip. Sector two was a gimme. You just HAD to figure out it and Alrin one were $Cha-Ching$ (Just have spend the effort scanning asteroids). Very Happy Thumb up


_________________
The answer to life, the universe and everything:
MIND THE GAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DrSuperEvil





Joined: 02 Mar 2018

Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue, 1. May 18, 19:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Aldrin has the ore surplus though meaning all the silicon there is best used making missiles and weapons. The Terran Unknown Sector 2 (Megnir) has a surplus of silicon compared to ore while Barren Shores is pure silicon.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 20. Jun 18, 22:39

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.07505 seconds, sql queries = 29