D-PAD Not Working Correctly

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict or X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

D-PAD Not Working Correctly

Post by r0ughn3cks » Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:41

Hi.

Whenever I open the sidebar with "Y" on my controller and try to navigate menus with D-PAD (up/down, left/right) it's like the game doesn't acknowledge I'm in the menu... so if I press "right" it tries to open comms, if I press "left" it activates auto-pilot etc..

How can I fix that?
Thanks

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36045
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Mon, 5. Feb 18, 18:00

Could you start by giving us some information to work with? Which game are you playing, and which version? Is it modified in any way? And could you provide a [url=http://www.egosoft.com/support/faq/faq_answer_en.php?answer=610&version=8][b]DX[/b][b]D[/b]iag[/url] report as requested at the top of the forum?

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Mon, 5. Feb 18, 18:23

I'm playing Terrain Conflict on Steam, without any mod or DLC.
Using a XBOX 360 Controller.

Here's my dxdiag.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 13:01

Not even a clue?

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 18342
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21

Post by Alan Phipps » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 14:27

Please don't bump threads here. Help will arrive when it can.

Have you changed any keybindings within a custom control profile that are relevant to the controls you are attempting? Are you using any external game profiler or control adaption/emulation application?

Have you verified the Steam X3TC gamefiles cache?

Your graphics driver is a bit outdated and may not be WHQL approved for current Win10 x64 if you have set checking for WHQL in DxDiags.

You didn't post the Windows Error Reporting final part of your DxDiag so we cannot check that for you.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 15:01

I changed some keybindings, but nothing relative to d-pad. Only tool I'm using, other than in-game settings, is Steam Controller Configuration Support.

Game files cache is OK.

What's the problem with my graphic drivers? They're not WHQL, yeah. They're latest Crimson driver available (beta) for my HD5550, but it just works fine with every game that it can run - and I play a lot of different games.

I didn't post the last DXDIAG part because there's nothing relevant in there; some app crash which have nothing to do with X3.

To me it seems that only the first question is really relevant to my issue and to be more accurate I can tell you that I played X3 in the past and always had controller config issues, that's why I resorted to using Steam's Controller Configuration Support in first place. Whenever I inverted pitch and left/right sticks, config worked fine until I saved it to a new profile: then everything broke and I had to reload default config. This is what I'm talking about: https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 9887A01BB/

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 18342
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21

Post by Alan Phipps » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 15:46

Xbox controller support was first fully integrated for X3AP long before elements of that were back-ported to X3TC v3.3 in Feb 2017. I don't know if this may have helped with your much earlier controller issues, but it seems that what you are attempting now should be working without any external controller application.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 16:40

Are (controller) settings saved to Steam Cloud along game saves?
If yes, is there a way to clean them up without disabling Steam Cloud?

If not, what's the recommended way to start from scratch?

Thanks

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 18342
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21

Post by Alan Phipps » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 17:35

For information only, the custom profile control settings are saved in your in-game profile which is in a profiles folder next to your saves and screenshots folders in Your Documents. Something like: C:\Users\Your Name\Documents\Egosoft\X3TC\ ..

Once in-game, you can go to Options/Controls and select 'Use default profile'. You can start rebuilding your own custom profile from there.

Further, when you start the game you can select the 'Input Device' button in the small initial splash screen and then tick 'Show Controller Layout' should that help at all.

I think the main thing though is that you probably should not need Steam's Controller Configuration Support running at all while playing but just use the available in-game settings and control/key-binding options.

Just to be clear, I am no controller expert. I don't even have one! :wink: X2-Illuminatus may be your best source for further (non-dev) controller advice.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 17:46

I see.

One last question: What does the "Configure as Joypad" and "Display Controller Layout" do? The former isn't checked, the latter is.

Maybe "Display Controller Layout" is just that loading screen with controller buttons?

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 18342
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21

Post by Alan Phipps » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 17:54

Yes to the latter. I guess the former means emulating the differences between absolute and relative modes used by different makes of controllers.

You really need a controller user/expert now.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 17:57

Well, I'll check it out by myself, for starters.

You've been helpful, so thanks again. Maybe I'll report back once I tested it again.

Cheers :)

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 19:06

I got news.

I enabled "Configure as Joypad" and then set default config for controller in-game.

Started doing my usual modifications for pitch and what not and d-pad wasn't still working; then I noticed the "interface" tab in controls and the menu section. Keybindings for those were set to:

1) Keyboard arrows
2) Controller d-pad
3) Some other Joystick buttons I don't know about (like button 15 etc..)

Then I removed bindings and only added Keyboards arrows and d-pad back.
It worked!

Next thing I did was quitting and loaded the game once again: it won't work anymore. No matter what I tried, switching profile from default to custom, back and forth, it didn't help.

Then I noticed this red warning, which is exactly my issue:
https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.net/ ... C00FAE4D6/

("Freccia giù" is keyboard down arrow)

Really hope you can help.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 18342
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21

Post by Alan Phipps » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 20:43

I would initially say to find the 'dock with target' control and remove the conflict by changing any duplication and/or giving it a different binding. I suspect that it may not be just as simple as that though ...

What I do not really understand is why it only clashes after a quit and reload - unless your game launcher (or Steam overlay/profiler) is set up to load an old version control profile, or perhaps is pulling an old one out from the cloud or from an OS virtual cache.

I think perhaps you need to clear old versions, caches and cloud backups of profiles before you set up a new profile as you want it. That said, I have never seen such an issue before but then I don't use a controller or the cloud etc.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

r0ughn3cks
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 5. Feb 18, 14:37

Post by r0ughn3cks » Tue, 6. Feb 18, 21:06

:cry:

Disabled Steam Cloud, deleted my controller profiles in Egosoft folder, under my docs.

Started game, my default config looks like this:
https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 4B5AE6824/

When I click on "Set default Controller Profile" it changes to this:
https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 220038AB2/

And it's actually working, BUT... As soon as I do any modification and save it to a custom profile, d-pad breaks again and that red warning (previous shot) shows up again.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Technical Support”