Staton ships behaviour

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Goloburdeaux
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue, 2. Mar 10, 01:02

Staton ships behaviour

Post by Goloburdeaux » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 16:38

A ship that I assigned to buy batteries for a station travels 3 sectors away although batteries for the same price are in just 1 sector away. And it's even in the same direction! The ship just passes that sector and travels 2 more.
Why does it happen and can it be fixed?

kohlrak
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu, 28. Dec 17, 12:47

Post by kohlrak » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 17:14

I'm no expert, but something tells me there's another difference that we're missing. Also, which game?

Goloburdeaux
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue, 2. Mar 10, 01:02

Post by Goloburdeaux » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 18:57

Original X3 Reunion version 2.5

kohlrak
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu, 28. Dec 17, 12:47

Post by kohlrak » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 19:42

I haven't got a chance to play that one. Are the sectors controlled by the same race and such? I find it really strange that the AI would be that silly.

RAVEN.myst
Posts: 2571
Joined: Mon, 20. Jun 11, 13:16

Post by RAVEN.myst » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 19:43

The standard trade commands can be a little flaky. I would suggest (if you haven't already done so) installing the Bonus Pack, and using the Commercial Agent (CAG) function for your station traders - it's a lot more powerful, and smarter.
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff

SirNukes
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44

Post by SirNukes » Fri, 5. Jan 18, 20:36

If it is not happening consistently, it could just be that the further station had cheaper energy when the ship decided to buy from there, and during the trip the prices changed. None of the traders recheck pricing while traveling, as far as I know.

lyonhaert
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue, 26. Dec 17, 16:46

Post by lyonhaert » Mon, 8. Jan 18, 19:49

Even CLS pilots will do the same thing. Only the conditions that were present when the pilot decided on an action seem to matter, even if conditions change in the meantime until the action is complete.

I've seen 3 ships leave one of my stations, one after another, to pick up a single ship's load from the same trap. Naturally, two of them will waste their time.

RAVEN.myst
Posts: 2571
Joined: Mon, 20. Jun 11, 13:16

Post by RAVEN.myst » Mon, 8. Jan 18, 22:43

lyonhaert wrote:Even CLS pilots will do the same thing. Only the conditions that were present when the pilot decided on an action seem to matter, even if conditions change in the meantime until the action is complete.

I've seen 3 ships leave one of my stations, one after another, to pick up a single ship's load from the same trap. Naturally, two of them will waste their time.
If you have multiple CLS2s running the same route, you are guaranteeing this to happen - the solution is to NOT have the same routes for multiple CLS2s, as they don't coordinate (CAGs do, after reaching a certain level, so for station traders, they're usually the optimal choice.) Instead, partition up the CLS2 route among the different ships handling that ware.
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”